R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-20-2009, 02:35 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
trimble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 475
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Orion 10 amp regulator?

I have been running the Orion 10amp regulator for about three weeks know and ever since I switched to lipo(using this regulator), I have been having nothing, but problems. My truck just shuts down in the middle of the track. It will run fine for about 5 laps and then thats when it starts. It seems as if the regutator is sutting down. I lose all power to the truck and the receiver goes into fail-safe. I run the DX3R if anyone has any question about what radio system I use. I thought that I may have ruined my lipo pack but I let my buddy run the pack and he had no problems. I even took my sons mx3 and put it in my truck and it did the same thing, but instead it would try and take off until the oring i use as a throttle return would stop it. I guess my question is does any of you guys have any experiecne with this particular regulator, or have you had similar or the same problems with it?
__________________
Mugen MBX7: Maxy's Cinco 5BT Tuned w/9901
Futaba 4pks
Savox HV's
Boca Bearings-VP Pro USA
trimble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 02:52 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
2fst2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Martin, MI
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

I run 3 of them. 2 in my buggies and 1 in the truggy. Do you have the voltage set right on the regulator? It should flash atleast 5 times when it's powered up. 5 flashes is 6 volts and it goes up from there. The only problem I've had with one of them is a leg broke on the IC inside. It took me a minute to find it. But if you power the car up and then move the blue heatsink around a bit and see if it cuts out. I took mine apart and put some solder of the cracked leg and stuck another piece of thin foam servo tape on the bottom of the heatsink and put it back together. Been fine since. Hope this helps. Also, just to be sure, make sure your lipo is fully charged just to make sure it's the regulator.
2fst2c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 03:09 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
trimble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 475
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Yes, my reg. is set correctly 5 flashes... sometimes I do notice that I will lose power very briefly if I fiddle around my radio box, but this happens inconsistently so I cant really pin-point why or what causes it.
__________________
Mugen MBX7: Maxy's Cinco 5BT Tuned w/9901
Futaba 4pks
Savox HV's
Boca Bearings-VP Pro USA
trimble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 03:13 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
2fst2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Martin, MI
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Is your regulator in the box? If so, take it out and move the blue heatsink around and see if it acts up. Also check the plug connections to make sure a wire isn't broke inside the insulation or something odd like that.
2fst2c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 10:32 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
trimble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 475
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Will do, I was so hesitant to make the switch to lipo. This really make me just want to give up and stick with NiMh.
__________________
Mugen MBX7: Maxy's Cinco 5BT Tuned w/9901
Futaba 4pks
Savox HV's
Boca Bearings-VP Pro USA
trimble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 02:29 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
OfnaJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bristol Va
Posts: 1,570
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

I got one, it's set at 6.4 volts and have not had any problems with it.
Hope you get yours took care of, call Orion and see what they say!
__________________
Mugen Seiki \\ Dialed RC \\ Tekin \\ SMC \\ AVID\\ AKA \\ Futaba
OfnaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 02:32 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
mudboger07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 939
Default

Is this regulator the same as using a castle bec, its also adjustable with the voltage output.
__________________
Proud Sponsor of a 10 year old.....
losi 8ightB 2.0/DX3S/VSpec* Revo-3.3*mod slash*blade-mcx*axial GC2
Team Nitro** F-14*Team Terribles/Answer-RC

Ken
mudboger07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 02:38 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
2fst2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Martin, MI
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trimble View Post
Will do, I was so hesitant to make the switch to lipo. This really make me just want to give up and stick with NiMh.
I wouldn't give up yet. This has been a great regulator for me. I tried one of the Novak bec/regulators and smoked it. It was rated at 5amps and didn't last too long running 2 digital servos and my P/T. It is nice having the extra run time and power with the lipos. Have you tried it in another vehicle if you have one? If all else fails and you take it out, let me know. I'd be happy to open it up and look at it.
2fst2c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 11:37 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudboger07 View Post
Is this regulator the same as using a castle bec, its also adjustable with the voltage output.
According to Castle's site, it performs the same task.
__________________
Losi 8ight-Novarossi N21R-Hitec Servos-AKA-M11 Spektrum
*TEAM TERRIBLES*
Cory Kerber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 11:08 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
mudboger07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cory Kerber View Post
According to Castle's site, it performs the same task.

Cool i have three of them i can use............
__________________
Proud Sponsor of a 10 year old.....
losi 8ightB 2.0/DX3S/VSpec* Revo-3.3*mod slash*blade-mcx*axial GC2
Team Nitro** F-14*Team Terribles/Answer-RC

Ken
mudboger07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 11:56 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I emailed Castle and they said that was one of the BEC's main functions. But i'm concerned whether or not i should mount it inside my receiver box, which may cause overheating.
__________________
Losi 8ight-Novarossi N21R-Hitec Servos-AKA-M11 Spektrum
*TEAM TERRIBLES*
Cory Kerber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 12:15 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
mudboger07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cory Kerber View Post
I emailed Castle and they said that was one of the BEC's main functions. But i'm concerned whether or not i should mount it inside my receiver box, which may cause overheating.
That was my worry also, but in the times i have ran the cc bec on 3 cell lipo it has never gotten hot so im not sure if there will be a problem with it getting hot in the battery box....
__________________
Proud Sponsor of a 10 year old.....
losi 8ightB 2.0/DX3S/VSpec* Revo-3.3*mod slash*blade-mcx*axial GC2
Team Nitro** F-14*Team Terribles/Answer-RC

Ken
mudboger07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOR SALE - all for sale posts here Sil80 Australian Racing 10483 12-29-2005 03:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:29 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net