R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-18-2009, 09:05 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Broiken on the third tank!

Guys im shattered, Just got back from the local school and my buggy is broken. I ran two tank yeasterday and it was running so nice, I was so happy. It was idling nice and seemed very responsive even though im running it rich to break it in.

So I though I would take it to school and run another tank, so started it and it was all going sweet. Wasnt getting hot, when i was turning around, buggy wasnt 2 feet away from me when it took off and went right lock with steering, i hit the brakes and tried to straighten the wheel and it wouldnt respond. Hit a curb at full pelt and flipped it, broke the steering servo and it was screeming, I ran over to it and pinched the fuel line. It stopped shortly but i am worried about it revving so hard while I am trying to break it in, i havent even hit second gear yet!

What could have caused this? I turned the servo back on when I got home and it was jerky, like its having a seizure or something, but now seems to be ok, I started it to get all the fuel out of the tank ad to make sure those high revs didnt do any damage and its idling fine.

Please anyone what could have caused this and how do I stop it happening again?
sperera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:07 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
DiaRh34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Milan, Tennessee
Posts: 564
Send a message via AIM to DiaRh34
Default

Get a better servo.
__________________
Taco
Bullet Town raceway Milan, Tn
TLR 8b - Tekin - SMC
DiaRh34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:10 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I should replace them both shouldnt I?
sperera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 10:08 PM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
crotty777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: P-town, NV
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sperera View Post
I should replace them both shouldnt I?
if you lost response from both servos at the same time its prob. not the servos I would check your batteries(car and transmiter) make sure your switch didnt get bumped to the off position. And i would get a failsafe and a rubber band for your throttle.
__________________
*Dialed RC Hobbies, Windwater RC, Kustom Kolors, HRP, Sweep Racing,
RC Concept*
crotty777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 05:32 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crotty777 View Post
if you lost response from both servos at the same time its prob. not the servos I would check your batteries(car and transmiter) make sure your switch didnt get bumped to the off position. And i would get a failsafe and a rubber band for your throttle.
+1 Engine should be ok as long as it wasn't screaming for a long time.
adam lancia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 05:38 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,041
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, it sounds like the radio lost connection with the car, so I wouldn't blame the servos just yet. I bet the battery pack in the car either needed to be charged or the transmitter batteries were low.
Breakin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 05:40 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
2fst2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Martin, MI
Posts: 1,939
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Definitely sounds like failsafe. Double check your radio setup. I just raced yesterday and thought I'd check mine to make sure, and as soon as I turned it off, WOT! I didn't have it running obviously. So I reset the failsafe and double checked it. I know on my 4pk you can set the throttle and steering failsafe positions. Also, the rubber band on the carb is a great idea. Usually most effective on the digital servos because the don't require much to pull them back. Not sure how it would work on a standard servo. Might have to use an actual spring. Good luck!
2fst2c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 06:49 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
vladconnery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 992
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

A real big help in assisting you with your problem would be if you listed these things.

Vehicle brand and model
servo brand and model
radio brand and model
engine brand and model

You should always list these things when asking for help. As all of the above act differently or have different quirks about them.
__________________
KO PROPO EURUS
Kyosho: TKI3, TKIe Tekin RX8 Gen2
vladconnery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 06:50 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

this scenario always scares the shit out of me. Hasn't happened to me yet (knock on wood) but i have came close, and all i could see was dollar signs.
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 06:56 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vladconnery View Post
A real big help in assisting you with your problem would be if you listed these things.

Vehicle brand and model
servo brand and model
radio brand and model
engine brand and model

You should always list these things when asking for help. As all of the above act differently or have different quirks about them.
Indeed. All in good time, I supose.
The Working Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 06:04 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fst2c View Post
Definitely sounds like failsafe. Double check your radio setup. I just raced yesterday and thought I'd check mine to make sure, and as soon as I turned it off, WOT! I didn't have it running obviously. So I reset the failsafe and double checked it. I know on my 4pk you can set the throttle and steering failsafe positions. Also, the rubber band on the carb is a great idea. Usually most effective on the digital servos because the don't require much to pull them back. Not sure how it would work on a standard servo. Might have to use an actual spring. Good luck!
How do I reset the failsafe? Sorry im new to this. If my buggy is fitted with a failsafe how did it just take off? And not respond to my receiver.
sperera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 06:21 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vladconnery View Post
A real big help in assisting you with your problem would be if you listed these things.

Vehicle brand and model
servo brand and model
radio brand and model
engine brand and model

You should always list these things when asking for help. As all of the above act differently or have different quirks about them.
Vehicle brand - BSD Racing (kit I bought over internet).
Servo brand - Just says servo item no. 6009 on it, nothing else.
No brand an receiver either.
All I know about the engine is that its 3.5cc .21 SH motor.

I know its not much but I am new to all this.
sperera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 07:55 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sperera View Post
Vehicle brand - BSD Racing (kit I bought over internet).
Servo brand - Just says servo item no. 6009 on it, nothing else.
No brand an receiver either.
All I know about the engine is that its 3.5cc .21 SH motor.

I know its not much but I am new to all this.
what about the radio (remote) any name there.


sounds like a good motor and the servos sound like JR servos (great servos). Never heard of bsd racing
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 11:55 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

My controller is not branded either. It looks very cheap. It was a kit so im not expecting much but ive been told a few times the quality of the buggy itself is very good for a kit car.

Ive just fixed the broken horn on the steering servo, now an alloy one, all the hobby shop had, im going to do a range test tonight and see if the servo's act up again. I must admit ive lost confidence in it because of what happened.
sperera is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:32 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net