R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-17-2009, 02:19 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 160
Default Why won't my starter box turn my engine over?

I was looking for a starter box for my OFNA hyper 8 for quite some time, and I came across an AE starter box on Ebay for a fairly good price. I bought it and it just arrived today, however it doesn't want to turn my engine over. It keeps scraping the chassis and throwing this black stuff everywhere. I also must hold the car perpendicular to the starter box, not parallel. What's going on?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GBGQ_rbOmIM
sokar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 02:24 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sokar View Post
I was looking for a starter box for my OFNA hyper 8 for quite some time, and I came across an AE starter box on Ebay for a fairly good price. I bought it and it just arrived today, however it doesn't want to turn my engine over. It keeps scraping the chassis and throwing this black stuff everywhere. I also must hold the car perpendicular to the starter box, not parallel. What's going on?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GBGQ_rbOmIM
Ummmm I think you got the wrong kind of starter box. I think those are intended for 10th scale unless you can move the wheel around.
__________________
Jesse Carrillo
Team Driver For:
TLR | Horizon Hobby | Nitrotane | Spektrum | HandleITHobbies | 818 Designs
pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 02:26 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 160
Default

-_-
sokar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 02:29 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Forget it I found the manual on-line and you should be able to move the wheel.

http://aedownloads.com/downloads/ins...starterbox.pdf
__________________
Jesse Carrillo
Team Driver For:
TLR | Horizon Hobby | Nitrotane | Spektrum | HandleITHobbies | 818 Designs
pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 02:45 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
elkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 359
Default Is the engine brand new?

Too much pinch and you cant turn it over with a bump box. you will have to heat the engine up first.
__________________
"He's old enough to know what's right
But young enough not to choose it"
Neal Peart / Geddy Lee
****RUSH****
elkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 02:47 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elkman View Post
Too much pinch and you cant turn it over with a bump box. you will have to heat the engine up first.
probably that's the case

and man, what a pain in the rear....
spawn_x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 03:04 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

You should be able to move the wheel and just like everyone else is saying there is too much pinch so try and heat it up first.
__________________
Losi 8ight 2.0 - O.S V-Spec - Futaba - AKA - M8 - Spektrum - Byrons 20%
jhipps835 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 03:17 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 160
Default

I found out that it is able to turn the engine over, I just can't seemed to line the car up properly. I'm going to figure out how to adjust the flywheel on the box, and then I'll get back to you guys. Thanks!
sokar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:04 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 160
Default

It seems there's way too much distance between my flywheel and my starter box. They don't touch. How can I fix this?
sokar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:24 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sokar View Post
It seems there's way too much distance between my flywheel and my starter box. They don't touch. How can I fix this?
get the right starter box, or take it apart and fab it up till it works
spawn_x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:28 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 194
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

replace the starter wheel on the box or put a bigger flywheel on your engine but your best bet is to just get one of the ofna truggy boxes they are the best i have used an they are easy to set up an they are powerful
__________________
CJ Horne
Team Terribles
Tiltedrc.com ,Tilted Green
RC8 RB c6bb7t RB2045
Futaba 3pks with spektrum
cjhorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:55 PM   #12
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 74
Default

Before you replace your starter box, pop the lid open and adjust the two "stalks" (don't know what else to call them). There are usually some nuts you can turn one way or the other to adjust the distance between your car and the wheel on the starter box.
glolar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 05:31 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 1,075
Default

When you get the motor turned in the starter box & start to set the pins to align the car so it sits in the same place every time, take the motor out & push down so the starter box wheel centers in the chassis opening.Not familier with the AE box but removing the shock top bolts sometimes helps with setting up your alignment pegs.

Also how far above the bottom of the chassis(side that touches dirt)is the fly wheel? If the flywheel is below the top side of chassis most starter boxes will work. You can also(while eng is out) take a round file or drammel & chamfer the chassis so it will not make that "black stuff" that I'm sure by now you know is the starter box wheel,or was the starter box wheel.
butch man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:31 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
sokar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 160
Default

Well, I've modified it so it will touch and turn the engine over, but its extremely hard to get aligned. I constantly have to be pushing, pulling, swaying and leaning just to get the wheel to turn the engine over a few times. Luckily, it will start, but since 50% of the time the Starter Box Wheel is getting stuck on the chassis I'm afraid of wearing the wheel out or burning out the motor.
sokar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:38 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 1,075
Default

Those instructions linked a few posts above give a basic how to ,to eliminate your pushing,pulling,swaying problems. Also chamfering the chassis will help with that also.
butch man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nitro On-Road Addict sa RC Manila Racers 12522 12-27-2015 05:51 PM
Ask Aaron Waldron Aaron Waldron Nitro Off-Road 4285 11-03-2011 12:23 PM
Why won't my Engine start? Burnz27 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 7 09-18-2006 01:37 AM
What is the best way to break in a new ening? adsl Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 27 02-10-2005 07:49 AM
new engine woes (novarossi rs12) packetdreamer Nitro On-Road 39 08-07-2004 09:14 AM
Need help making my nitro engine run psbarger Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 7 06-17-2004 10:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:17 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net