Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
1/8 Buggies. Internal Limiters or Droop Screws? >

1/8 Buggies. Internal Limiters or Droop Screws?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

1/8 Buggies. Internal Limiters or Droop Screws?

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2009, 07:43 PM

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default 1/8 Buggies. Internal Limiters or Droop Screws?

Have an 2.0 i'm rebuilding for 1st time and coming from 1/10 i'm used to internal limiters. On these 1/8s (havent run 1 in 4yrs), quite annoyed by the beating the chassis takes on 4 pts courtesy of the droop screws. do any of you losi (or any brand) folks use, say 1/10 pistons, as internal travel limiters? i've also seen this thread on 2.0 shock mod but that address up top for the shock. also have seen bits here and there of extending ends out 2mm for proper length.

thoughts?

R
Old 07-13-2009, 08:33 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

I have some recent experience with this. I have recently switched from internal limiters to droop screws back to internal limiters.

The shocks with internal limiters feel like they bottom out more predictably to me than when I ran them with droop screws.

Once you find what length works best with internal limiters, you can still do fine adjustments by backing off the the shock ends in or out a thread or two.
Old 07-13-2009, 08:41 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

If you ever adjust droop for different tracks/conditions, internal limiters aren't an option. Droop is a big tuning option that most people neglect. IMO droop screws are the only option. While you can do what Ed237 said with the shock ends, even that is a pain compared to using droop screws to adjust. It also weakens the shock ends by not having as many threads in them.

If you have a 2.0, your chassis has droop stop screws that keep the screws from digging into the chassis. You should never have that problem with the 2.0 chassis.
Old 07-13-2009, 10:16 PM
Tech Master