R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 07-06-2009, 08:49 AM   #1
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default shock rebuilding and setup??????

hello all,

im fairly new to the sport. i am in dire need to know some tips about rebuilding my shocks. how should the compression and rebound be? what is the proper and easiest way to bleed the shocks properly? does anybody use the losi shock tool? is it worth the 25 bucks? i have my second actual race...first pro race this weekend in topeka, ks.

i would like to be as competitive as possible, so i need my suspension up to par. any tips would be greatly appreciated.

thanks
shaun
busaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 08:50 AM   #2
Tech Adept

oh yea i have a losi 8ight 1.0 buggy.
Old 07-06-2009, 09:04 AM   #3
Tech Elite

I would look in the manuel and follow the instructions - I run full rebound and dont bleed my shocks. they wont compress all the way,
Old 07-06-2009, 11:23 AM   #4
Tech Adept

Quote:
Originally Posted by token View Post
I would look in the manuel and follow the instructions - I run full rebound and dont bleed my shocks. they wont compress all the way,
why do that? then you lose suspension travel?

instructions just dont tell you the proper way to bleed the shocks
Old 07-06-2009, 12:38 PM   #5
Tech Elite

Quote:
Originally Posted by busaboy View Post
why do that? then you lose suspension travel?

instructions just dont tell you the proper way to bleed the shocks
Your shocks will not bottom out regardless, I got that from Drake and a few other Factory Team Drivers.

When you compress there should be about a half to a quatrer inch of shaft -and without the spring on - the shaft should come all the way out by itself
Old 07-06-2009, 12:41 PM   #6
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21

yeah ive watched Truhe build his shocks, and he does not bleed them at all...
Old 07-06-2009, 03:10 PM   #7
Tech Adept