R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   Nitro Fuel, Anything to stay away from? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/309515-nitro-fuel-anything-stay-away.html)

FactoryRacing23 07-04-2009 01:18 PM

Nitro Fuel, Anything to stay away from?

Hey guys I am new to the Nitro cars and was just wondering if there is any nitro fuel on the market I should stay away from. I was at the LHS today and there were quite a few brands. I didn't buy any of it because I dont know what to stay away from. I am gonna be buying a few gallons of the Torco fuel tomorrow. Just some information for the future.

Thanks, Nick

Jaz240 07-04-2009 01:28 PM

Stick to Torco, or Byrons..I heard Sidewinder has a bad batch of fuel circulating but not sure if any of it is still out there. Blue thunder and traxxas fuel stinks.

Odonnell fuel is good, but sometimes hard to get

pete 26 07-04-2009 03:01 PM

Can't go wrong with Torco,Byron's,Maxy's,JAC,WERKS,Cold Fusion or O DONELL.These are what I have used over the last several years and all are quality products.It's best to stick with one brand and learn it's tuning characteristics.Good luck.

jhipps835 07-04-2009 03:24 PM

+1 on Byrons.

FactoryRacing23 07-04-2009 03:38 PM

Jaz are you gonna be out at ET tomorrow? I am gonna pick up some torco out there.

JPierson 07-04-2009 03:42 PM

+ 1 O'donnell I run 20%

wingracer 07-04-2009 03:42 PM

He didn't ask what fuel to run, he asked what to stay away from :D So here goes.

1. Any fuel in a rusty metal can (I have seen this on hobby shop shelves and the people who buy it usually quit RC)

2. Petroleum products like gasoline, diesel, kerosene, etc. Believe it or not, there is always someone trying to run gasoline in a glow engine.

3. Airplane and helicopter fuel. Stick with the car stuff.