R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2009, 10:56 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Do you use a switch or connector

Do you use an On/OFF switch for receiver/battery connection?
If switch...which is the best and how often do you change it?
If connector which one do you use?

Which setup has cost you the "most runaways"?
__________________
Xray/OS/Savox/Sanwa
Axial XR10
Sakura Zero S/Castlecreations
RCO
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:00 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,464
Default

I do use a switch between the battery and the receiver. Most of the receivers and batteries are boxed in a buggy. The are special dust covers available for switches if that is the problem.
__________________
U5 Formulaboat 1/8 hydroplane - MHZ138 AQUAMANIA - Axial Exo Terra - Tamiya Avante - LC Racing EMB1 - Atomic AMZ 4WD Touring car
MrUnlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:04 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
cary's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,914
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

I just got rid of the switch I used a small servo lead form the rx
and use the plugs that where on them just one less thing to go
wrong I'm liking it so far
__________________
Xray XB8 14,AE RC8T3,XB9 13,Kyosho wheeler,Losi SCTE 2.0,+ More
> The Animal,Frank L. Jr. <
~~~~RedRock Hobbies~~~~
cary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:11 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

That's what i use as well(the plugs from the battery and Y harness) but wanted to know if it will eventually fail since the usage is too much, plug...unplug..., plug...unplug..., plug...unplug..., plug...unplug..., plug...unplug...
__________________
Xray/OS/Savox/Sanwa
Axial XR10
Sakura Zero S/Castlecreations
RCO
vti-chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:16 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 1,075
Default

I use a switch,Futaba long knob & change it every 6 months or so. No problems in the 2 yrs I been using that switch but I had other other switch brands before the Futaba that were involved when I had electrical problems but I always carried spares for those too though it was seldom the switches problem causing them.

Switches can cause problems but so can worn connectors,those spot welded battery bars on reciever packs,recievers bouncing around,servos thet hit the chassis when you land wrong & wires that chafe on when pulled tight around something & next to a nitro motor vibrating at 40,000 rpm. My last elec problem was reciever batt wires chafing between the reciever batt & reciever box wall till there was only 3 strands left in each wire. Ive had more servo & wire problems than switch problems.

BTW the batt wire problem was in the same car you run,you might want to check how your wires leave the pack & blow dirt out of the box often since I know you dont take the batt door off except under penalty of deth.
butch man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:20 AM   #6
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,517
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cary View Post
I just got rid of the switch I used a small servo lead form the rx
and use the plugs that where on them just one less thing to go
wrong I'm liking it so far
+1 on the switchless. I use a mini deans plug. It will never fail and there is no question as to weather its on or off. I have seen many racers struggle with faulty switches, but never a faulty connector. Go switchless its the way to go.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:37 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
+1 on the switchless. I use a mini deans plug. It will never fail and there is no question as to weather its on or off. I have seen many racers struggle with faulty switches, but never a faulty connector. Go switchless its the way to go.
1+ So very true.One good runaway and you'll understand.

Last edited by The Working Man; 06-28-2009 at 11:55 AM.
The Working Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:39 AM   #8
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
+1 on the switchless. I use a mini deans plug. It will never fail and there is no question as to weather its on or off. I have seen many racers struggle with faulty switches, but never a faulty connector. Go switchless its the way to go.
+2, I have had 2-3 various problems with switches, so now its Mini-deans direct plug in for me also
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:48 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I have a JR switch with charging connector that I bought a month ago. Before I had a JR switch that came with my XXX-NT RTR that had oil and fuel all over it so I didn't expect to last long. But switch's are so much easier. I have my charging connector where I do't even have to take off the body to recharge my receiver battery in between races. I have used regular Deans before, but they were harder to get on and off than the standard black ones I use now and they definitly weren't needed.
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 05:38 AM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 57
Default

I have a KO-Propo electronic switch I used to run it on my 1/5th onroad car and have been thinking about putting it onto my Truggy. Which I think I will do because i am sick of the rubber protectors tearing on the switches.

I can not find anywhere to buy another KO switch they are so good you press a tiny little sealed button to turn it on or off. Only draw back is most don't know how it works as you need to hold the button down for about 300mSec to change the state from on to off and vise versa. Also draws current in off mode but is minimal 5mAh. Again it is the best switch I have used.
__________________
Cheers,

Rolf


www.kellettshobbies.com
one5racing is there any other kind!
hassro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 06:21 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,651
Default

the tracks here, you must have a switch - never had a problem with one
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 06:32 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,210
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
+1 on the switchless. I use a mini deans plug. It will never fail and there is no question as to weather its on or off. I have seen many racers struggle with faulty switches, but never a faulty connector. Go switchless its the way to go.
I am using Mini Deans as well, it's great. I have it coming out of the radio box so I can plug it in and unplug it without opening the box.
__________________
Team HRC Raceway - http://www.hrcraceway.ca/
Semple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 07:58 AM   #13
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by token View Post
the tracks here, you must have a switch - never had a problem with one

Explain what that means..by the "tracks here" whats different about your tracks that a switch is "required"
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 08:34 AM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
Explain what that means..by the "tracks here" whats different about your tracks that a switch is "required"
He means that a switch must be on your car to be allowed to race.
PILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 08:37 AM   #15
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,517
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Why would a switch be required to race? It does not prevent a run away the car still runs. I don't see what purpose requiring a switch does.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1/12 forum ovalnator Electric On-Road 45944 Yesterday 12:31 PM
RC FLIGHT brading Manila Racers 23110 12-24-2015 06:23 PM
The Big Locked Thread donitaROSE Manila Racers 89718 03-26-2015 07:17 AM
Mugen MTX-4 Grasshopperr Nitro On-Road 9087 08-30-2011 06:15 PM
Serpent 710 Ron C. Nitro On-Road 23347 03-16-2010 01:47 PM
"cooked batteries" h4nsm0l3m4n Electric On-Road 15 03-18-2007 10:48 AM
when not using a switch how do run your battery wire setup ? mrgsr Nitro On-Road 9 04-25-2006 09:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:20 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net