R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 06-26-2009, 12:31 PM   #1
Tech Adept

Send a message via MSN to helgso
Default Help about preparing nitro engines

I recently bought myself a new Mach 427 engine. I have heard that you should take all your new engines apart, clean, oil and seal them. Is this necessary? I have no experience with Nitro RC's and I have only a few tools. I have been watching Squirrel's How-To videos on YouTube on this matter and everything seems so simple and straight-forward, but I only get more uncertain and gain more questions.

Of course when I hear about all the things you can do with your engine such as sealing them and breaking them in, I want to do those things to extend my upcoming engine's life and performance but when I try doing stuff, I never get it right . Like when I tried to take my former engine apart, I damaged it, that is why I got myself a new engine.

I am so afraid of damaging my new engine if I try taking it apart. I started trying to unscrew the screws that hold the heatsink (head) but they are so stuck that I don't feel like taking the risk of damaging something by applying a lot of pressure trying to unscrew it.

What will happen if I skip taking the engine apart and sealing it, and just use it as it is?
helgso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 12:44 PM   #2
K_B
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)

First off, get yourself a heat gun. It's very handy for breaking in a new motor. Plus, you can use it to heat up the engine block and make it easier to get the stubborn screws out. It is certainly a good idea to take the engine apart and inspect it because you can find metal shavings in there on a rare occasion. But it's not an absolute necessity. A heat gun is, though.

Just remember to take your time. If you don't feel comfortable taking the thing apart, take it to someone who has some experience and can assist you.
K_B is offline   Reply With Quote