R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2009, 04:02 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Frozenshades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: College Station, TX/Southlake, TX
Posts: 514
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default No more pull start! Umm...now what?

So my pull start broke and I'm not going to replace it, as I own a bump box. I'm still learning, so my question is what do I do to my engine now? I know metal back plates can be bought, but I have the back plate from the pull starter, its just empty. I have the one way bearing as well. Would buying a metal back plate be any different than just leaving the empty pull start shell on? My main concern is as follows though: The one way bearing is attached to some of the shaft, so there is now an unfilled hole in the back of my engine. Is it okay to leave that empty, or do I need to leave the one way bearing inside, or would buying a back plate have an extension to fill that? I'm just not sure how to set the engine up to run without a pull start. Thanks.
Frozenshades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 04:08 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

You need to replace the metal back plate with a bump start backplate. Your engine will not start with the hollow shell and the big hole in the backplate. It will suck air and not fire, You will replace the starter shaft, one way bearing current back plate and pull cord housing with a new bump plate..It all comes out, and the new plate covers it all up
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 04:13 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Frozenshades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: College Station, TX/Southlake, TX
Posts: 514
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
You need to replace the metal back plate with a bump start backplate. Your engine will not start with the hollow shell and the big hole in the backplate. It will suck air and not fire, You will replace the starter shaft, one way bearing current back plate and pull cord housing with a new bump plate..It all comes out, and the new plate covers it all up
Thanks Jazz. That makes sense. Otherwise its a massive air leak. Does anyone know where I might find one for a Hyper 21? Not seeing any so far. Or one for another engine that will fit?
Frozenshades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 04:15 PM   #4
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Linky Dink:


http://www.nitrohouse.com/catalog/pr...ducts_id=13152
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 04:17 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Frozenshades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: College Station, TX/Southlake, TX
Posts: 514
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post

You're the man
Ordering that right now
Frozenshades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 04:30 PM   #6
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Happy to help..Have fun
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 05:05 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

i have a roto start on my RC8 but i got a starter box for it. do i need to take the roto start backplate off and replace with new one??
__________________
Dylan Gerard

Serpent - Desoto Racing - Picco - AKA - Hitec - RC Addictions Products - Tekin - VRP - Avid RC - SMC - MIP - SkipGear - The Ohio RC Factory
Quad Racer 34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 05:14 PM   #8
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quad Racer 34 View Post
i have a roto start on my RC8 but i got a starter box for it. do i need to take the roto start backplate off and replace with new one??
as long as the backplate is sealed up good you can use the starter box..if you switch out the backplate to the bumpstart one..you will gain power
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 05:22 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Colors_By_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Naperville, IL 60565
Posts: 2,780
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

You also need to get rid of the nub on the crankshaft that the starter plate engages, or the non-pullstart backplate won't fit on the engine. Either grind it off, or replace the crank.

You could just leave the pullstart (or rotostart) parts on there and bumpstart it, but why carry around the parts/weight and spin the starter shaft (takes away a little power).
__________________
Got Paint? Got MicroHoles? Got custom masks?

Colors By Dave - I love to paint
Colors_By_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 05:42 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
as long as the backplate is sealed up good you can use the starter box..if you switch out the backplate to the bumpstart one..you will gain power
after a day of practicing the other day there was greas/oil residue around it. do u think i need to replace it?
__________________
Dylan Gerard

Serpent - Desoto Racing - Picco - AKA - Hitec - RC Addictions Products - Tekin - VRP - Avid RC - SMC - MIP - SkipGear - The Ohio RC Factory
Quad Racer 34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 06:31 PM   #11
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quad Racer 34 View Post
after a day of practicing the other day there was greas/oil residue around it. do u think i need to replace it?
If it's leaking you will need to seal it or replace it. Best bet is to go to a bump backplate. It gets rid of a lot of rotating mass on the back of the engine, seals better, and is smaller so it fits better.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 06:35 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

ok thanks!
__________________
Dylan Gerard

Serpent - Desoto Racing - Picco - AKA - Hitec - RC Addictions Products - Tekin - VRP - Avid RC - SMC - MIP - SkipGear - The Ohio RC Factory
Quad Racer 34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 06:43 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

woud that backplate leaking affect it starting or running at all?
__________________
Dylan Gerard

Serpent - Desoto Racing - Picco - AKA - Hitec - RC Addictions Products - Tekin - VRP - Avid RC - SMC - MIP - SkipGear - The Ohio RC Factory
Quad Racer 34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 06:57 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 938
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quad Racer 34 View Post
woud that backplate leaking affect it starting or running at all?

Yeah,

It will be hard to tune, run lean, idle wierd and blow plugs... depending on severity of the leak.

I always seal mine.
__________________
-Mike B. - TLR22 - Tekin - K.O propo
aradaiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 07:04 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

thanks. what do you seal it with?

would sealing it work good enough for one race? because i have a race sunday and probly cant get one in time unless my lhs has one.
__________________
Dylan Gerard

Serpent - Desoto Racing - Picco - AKA - Hitec - RC Addictions Products - Tekin - VRP - Avid RC - SMC - MIP - SkipGear - The Ohio RC Factory
Quad Racer 34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bendigo..Vic.. On Road Car Club VoneSkip Australian Racing 17215 08-16-2017 11:12 PM
Losi 8ight building and setup JBRacing Nitro Off-Road 8691 06-27-2011 08:43 AM
2007 WINTER NATIONAL! SuperDaveNT Canadian R/C Scene 1078 05-25-2007 06:44 AM
Logan On-Road Winter incorporating 2nd Round of Inter Club Challenge malaboo Australian Racing 124 07-28-2006 06:04 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:32 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net