R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-21-2009, 06:09 PM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwoodchuck View Post
you missed a couple....

Cut, crack open beer, Strip, take a drink of beer, Twist, another drink, Solder, take a big swig of the beer, Shrink, slam the rest of the beer, NOW you're done.......
True.... It's all in the details.
The Working Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 06:20 PM   #17
Tech Adept
 
dandrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San francisco, ca
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

sometimes the plastic on the servo conector breaks alowing the wire to jiggle around causing the servo to move. you may want to check your plug on the servo.
dandrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 06:44 PM   #18
Tech Fanatic
 
Allumina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 939
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Allumina
Default

I skimmed, so sorry if I missed something, but you might want to double check the spline on your servo horn...may seem silly but i had the same problem just the other day setting up my new 4pk, and didnt realize I had my brake EPA way to far out and when i hit the brakes them damn fine hitec servos done reamed my servo horn out [but it took me a good 10 minutes of "diagnosing" my problem of the servo jumping to all different positions for no reason]

Idk, just a thought check it out
__________________
[COLOR="Red"]Kyosho[/COLOR] - MP9 & ST-RR
A[COLOR="red"]K[/COLOR]A - Tires and Wheels[COLOR="DarkOrchid"]Novarossi Racing Engines[/COLOR] - 21-4 Plus & Toro Nero
Houstons Engine Service - [email]houstonsengineservice@live.com[/email]
Allumina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 07:41 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
dishsoap's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,457
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allumina View Post
I skimmed, so sorry if I missed something, but you might want to double check the spline on your servo horn...may seem silly but i had the same problem just the other day setting up my new 4pk, and didnt realize I had my brake EPA way to far out and when i hit the brakes them damn fine hitec servos done reamed my servo horn out [but it took me a good 10 minutes of "diagnosing" my problem of the servo jumping to all different positions for no reason]

Idk, just a thought check it out
Yep same thing happend to me on my steering horn. The hitech stripped the servo horn adapter and it would skip a tooth and lock on to the next tooth. I thought I blew a servo but the 7955 is a beast.

On the box there was no problem I only knew I had a problem when there was resistance on the tires. I finally just hit the tires on one side while on the box and they would lock up.

I put a metal servo horn on and no more problems
__________________
HobbyTown USA Tucson!!! HobbyTown USA SRS!!!!
dishsoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 10:47 PM   #20
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Integra View Post
Cut, Strip, twist, solder, shrink, Done......

20 min



when you add in my old man eyesight...YES!!! 20 minutes..but thats all 3 items
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 06:32 AM   #21
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
when you add in my old man eyesight...YES!!! 20 minutes..but thats all 3 items


hehe....im glad im still a young buck
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 01:15 PM   #22
Tech Master
 
t0adman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,239
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for all the great feedback and suggestions guys. I just put in a new JR switch with charging jack (that I don't use) only 1 race ago. Could a bad swtich really cause the throttle servo to act funky but not have any impact on the steering servo? That doesn't sound right to me. The other odd part is that I have the issue with the Stickman pack but not with the OFNA hump pack. It just doesn't make sense to me. I have some servo leads that I'll use to direct connect to the receiver and see if that works. Thankfully the 9100S is not fried and the brakes, when the servo responds, are much better. I'm going to try to get some diagnostic runs in at a local parking lot to see if I can duplicate and eliminate the issues. Nothing sucks more than these kind of gremlins on race day! Thanks again.
__________________
RC8e, SCRT10e, Mod Slash 2WD
[Team Terribles]
t0adman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 02:00 PM   #23
Tech Addict
 
razo125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: FearFarm - Arizona
Posts: 663
Default

It doesn't sound like the switch can be the problem if the steering servo is fine while the brake side on the throttle is acting up. There's a lot of possibilities here so just keep doing what your doing. Half split the problems until they go away. Divide and conquer.

The brake side probably draws the most current in relation to the steering and throttle side. It sounds like you already found the problem by swapping batteries. If you have a bad cell it won't give you enough juice.

If the battery doesn't fix it. Some other things to check other than whats already been mentioned are the wires on your brake AND steering servo. Especially the power and ground. If the insulation is even slightly exposed and it shorts to each other or some other intermittently. And did either servo get wet?
razo125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 02:07 PM   #24
Tech Master
 
t0adman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,239
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Nope, not significantly wet. Quick shot of Simple Green and water solution, then air blasted off, then denatured alcohol, then air blasted off, then WD40. Checking all the servo lead wires is a good call. They've been pounded pretty good the last year, particularly in the receiver box on the buggy.
__________________
RC8e, SCRT10e, Mod Slash 2WD
[Team Terribles]
t0adman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:53 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net