R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2009, 04:26 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 4 (67%+)
Default new novarossi will not start...help

well after 2 days of going around and tracking Down a new air filter to put on my new n21 limited, I finally start break in today. Heated it up with heat gun to 200f had to loosen glow plug a bit to get it to turn over, turns over fine, it's just that the fuel is not making it all the way to the carb? Took fuel line off pipe blew in and got a steady stream of fuel like it should, next I switched back over to the p5 and figured if it worked that would eliminate the fuel tank and lines, well it fired right up! I've played with the needles a bit still no success, actually it seems the little bit of fuel that gets close to the carb if you blip the throttle it goes back towards the fuel tank?? Help!! Please??
__________________
Hot Bodies D8-future home of a novarossi plus 4(courtesy of H.E.S.and Monty)-DS1015-spektrum dx3r/Team Terribles
Shane369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 05:21 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Make sure you are priming it thoroughly...u may not be getting enough fuel into the engine. watch the fuel enter the carb and then count 3 more second before you stop priming....

also your settings may be too rich to start, you may have a bad glow plug, or ignitor..Those are the things that come to mind
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 05:28 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 4 (67%+)
Default

The biggest issue is it won't draw fuel into the carb, but it's not the fuel lines or tank cause if I change engines it starts up fine.
__________________
Hot Bodies D8-future home of a novarossi plus 4(courtesy of H.E.S.and Monty)-DS1015-spektrum dx3r/Team Terribles
Shane369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 05:35 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane369 View Post
The biggest issue is it won't draw fuel into the carb, but it's not the fuel lines or tank cause if I change engines it starts up fine.
When you heat up your engine, be careful not to heat up the carb. If you heat up the carb too much, the fuel will boil before entering the engine.
__________________
Jesse Carrillo
Team Driver For:
TLR | Horizon Hobby | Nitrotane | Spektrum | HandleITHobbies | 818 Designs
pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 05:41 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
camocowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 1,061
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to camocowboy
Default Defect?

If it was me I would take the fuel line off the pipe and blow in that and see if you can push fuel into the carb. If it still won't go in I would look closely at the fuel nipple on the carb and see if maybe it is clogged or doesn't go all the way through. Never heard of this before but that's the only way I can think of fuel not going into the carb. You can also try pulling the carb off another rossi motor and trying to narrow down the source of the problem.
__________________
#92 Greg Singletary
Punched R/C Productions - Ascendancy Racing - Byrons Fuel - JGO Paint - The Nitro Pit - One Hobbies Shop and INDOOR RACEWAY
camocowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 05:44 PM   #6
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,782
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Try just heating up to 160 or so. Like the other guy said, that much heat in a motor that isn't running could be causing a vapor lock.

Also, make sure the HSN/fuel inlet is tight.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 05:45 PM   #7
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,782
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Oh yeah, if all else fails, put the carb from your P5 on it and try again.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 05:48 PM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 17
Default

Also try checking the brass "banjo" fitting that sits below the HSN...take the HSN assembly apart and blow air into the hole the fuel enters, sometimes you wont even see the obstruction, but I have seen this solve the problem described here more than once.
__________________
Charles "Hippy" Charron
R/C CAR Magazine
Charles Charron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 05:48 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
nta01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camocowboy View Post
If it was me I would take the fuel line off the pipe and blow in that and see if you can push fuel into the carb. If it still won't go in I would look closely at the fuel nipple on the carb and see if maybe it is clogged or doesn't go all the way through. Never heard of this before but that's the only way I can think of fuel not going into the carb. You can also try pulling the carb off another rossi motor and trying to narrow down the source of the problem.
+1
You coming out this weekend?
nta01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 05:58 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 4 (67%+)
Default

if I take the fuel line off the pipe I can blow fuel into the carb with no issues. So, I honestly have no idea. I've got a new fuel tank I guess I can just try it
__________________
Hot Bodies D8-future home of a novarossi plus 4(courtesy of H.E.S.and Monty)-DS1015-spektrum dx3r/Team Terribles
Shane369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 06:02 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane369 View Post
if I take the fuel line off the pipe I can blow fuel into the carb with no issues. So, I honestly have no idea. I've got a new fuel tank I guess I can just try it
When you do that, does the fuel shoot back into the tank?
__________________
Jesse Carrillo
Team Driver For:
TLR | Horizon Hobby | Nitrotane | Spektrum | HandleITHobbies | 818 Designs
pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 06:04 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
slumlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 455
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like an air leak, give her the once over and seal her up with some high temp silicone if you have it.
__________________
Jay Stuart #66
slumlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 06:17 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 4 (67%+)
Default

If I blow on the line from the pipe it goes to the carb but to the best of my memory it didn't go back into the tank. I will check and see what it does when I get back home
__________________
Hot Bodies D8-future home of a novarossi plus 4(courtesy of H.E.S.and Monty)-DS1015-spektrum dx3r/Team Terribles
Shane369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 06:24 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
j_blaze14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 1,693
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

plugging the stinger while starting? how loose is the glow plug? is the idle gap closed all the way? how is the plug? ignitor? fuel tank lid closed all the way?
__________________
aGama A8 EVO - Werks B2 - Sidewinder
aGama A8E - TrackStar 150a, 2560kv, 3 and 4 cell
FlySky GT3B, Turnigy HV servos, SKY Lipos
AKA, Proline, Hotbodies Rubber
Elite Performance - HORRC.com
j_blaze14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 06:33 PM   #15
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

I highly doubt you got a brand new novarossi engine with an air leak. I would think you have a bad tank, or a clogged carb, or one of your o-rings (manifold, Pipe) are torn and causing loss of pressure..Is there someone local who can help you?
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novarossi engines thread EVOLUTION Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 5360 08-14-2017 11:48 PM
The Nitro Pit Dbackmasta Arizona-New Mexico Racing 18732 09-13-2012 08:27 AM
new engine woes (novarossi rs12) packetdreamer Nitro On-Road 39 08-07-2004 09:14 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:33 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net