R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-14-2009, 08:00 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default vspec help please

i can't get my vspec to run, it will run if i blip the throttle and not all the time, if i apply full throttle it will rev up then die. I tried new p3 glow plug, i am running byrons gen 2, new fuel lines tank, i replaced the front bearing with an rb one i had in my spare parts, i have put it back to stock settings and still the same result. I am thinking it still has an air leak or maybe getting blow by at the top of the cylinder. when i had it apart i could push the piston to the top of the cylinder. but it was running fine the last 2 weekends, no scratches on the piston or sleeve...... i bought it off a guy on here that said it had 2 gallons, i have put probably 1.5 gallons on it.
losiracer22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 04:22 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losiracer22 View Post
i can't get my vspec to run, it will run if i blip the throttle and not all the time, if i apply full throttle it will rev up then die. I tried new p3 glow plug, i am running byrons gen 2, new fuel lines tank, i replaced the front bearing with an rb one i had in my spare parts, i have put it back to stock settings and still the same result. I am thinking it still has an air leak or maybe getting blow by at the top of the cylinder. when i had it apart i could push the piston to the top of the cylinder. but it was running fine the last 2 weekends, no scratches on the piston or sleeve...... i bought it off a guy on here that said it had 2 gallons, i have put probably 1.5 gallons on it.
like the name LOL

when you had the engine apart and you turned the piston, did it go to the very top of the sleeve?
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 04:26 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
DOMIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe
Posts: 4,034
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DOMIT Send a message via Yahoo to DOMIT
Default

Why did you have it apart?

When you had it apart, did you take the piston and sleeve out?

If you took the piston and sleeve out, did you put it back together with the LONG side of the piston skirt toward the exhaust port? (If you put the long side forward it won't run right... it MUST be toward the exhaust port!)
__________________
Brad "DOMIT" Smith - I'm not fast, but at least I wreck a lot.
Unsponsored, but I use/recommend: XRay XB9, Alpha A852, Dynamite 053, Airtronics M11, Hitec 5955TG & 7955TG, ABEC 35 clutch and chassis bearings, PTRCRacing shock and diff fluids, Ready Rollers ceramic engine bearings. ** Team Terribles Region 9 coordinator. ** JOIN TEAM TERRIBLES! All racers welcome! PM me for details.
DOMIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 04:28 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOMIT View Post
Why did you have it apart?

When you had it apart, did you take the piston and sleeve out?

If you took the piston and sleeve out, did you put it back together with the LONG side of the piston skirt toward the exhaust port? (If you put the long side forward it won't run right... it MUST be toward the exhaust port!)
would it run at at all?
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 05:25 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,775
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

mine won't run either. it will run if i keep the throtle open but won't idol. almost sounds like it's cloged up.
__________________
tlr 8 4.0 /rex engine/aka
tlr 8e 3.0/tekin/aka
pballer2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 05:29 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
DOMIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe
Posts: 4,034
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DOMIT Send a message via Yahoo to DOMIT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
would it run at at all?
Yes, but not very well, and won't idle.
__________________
Brad "DOMIT" Smith - I'm not fast, but at least I wreck a lot.
Unsponsored, but I use/recommend: XRay XB9, Alpha A852, Dynamite 053, Airtronics M11, Hitec 5955TG & 7955TG, ABEC 35 clutch and chassis bearings, PTRCRacing shock and diff fluids, Ready Rollers ceramic engine bearings. ** Team Terribles Region 9 coordinator. ** JOIN TEAM TERRIBLES! All racers welcome! PM me for details.
DOMIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:13 AM   #7
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Try sealing up the backplate and where the carb attaches with sealant. It might be leaking air there. Also take the needles back to stock settings my speed came with the following: HSN 4 1/4 turns out, LSN 5 turns out. Ohh yea how's the clutch that will kill an idle too.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:29 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

HEY - you just need to learn how to tune ( no offense), both of you guys are running FAT.

I have RUN OS ENGINES for a LOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNG time.

DO NOT SEAL YOUR OS ENGINE, NO SILICONE (how ever you spell it) If you see fule/oil residue on your motor of chassis - replace gaskets . again no seal...... OS do not like it, is corrodes (spelling)

I would suggest that you find some one at your local track that knows what they are doing and ask them to help.........
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:29 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

the motor was put back together correctly. i had it apart to replace the front bearing, it was really gritty. when i had te piston and sleeve out, i could almost get the piston to the top, but when it was on the crank and in the motor it wouldn't make it all the way to the top. I think it still has an air leak somewhere or it is worn out and getting blow by at the top cause it to kill the motor when i hold it wide open.
losiracer22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:31 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

i have not touched the needles in 3 weekends, it has been running great temping at 252 degrees. so mine is not tuning. thanks though it just started doing this after the first qualifer sat.
losiracer22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:33 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

252 is hot for a VSPEC - where are you. Im in Colorado and bearly gets to 220 and thats hauling.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:34 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,775
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by token View Post
HEY - you just need to learn how to tune, both of you guys are running FAT.

I have RUN OS ENGINES for a LOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNG time.

DO NOT SEAL YOUR OS ENGINE, NO SILICONE (how ever you spell it)

I would suggest that you find some one at your local track that knows what they are doing and ask them to help.........
let me tell u something i've been tuning motors for yrs just fine. one min it was fine and the next min it had the problem. i've had nothing but problem with this motor. i will never buy another os motor again. they suck
__________________
tlr 8 4.0 /rex engine/aka
tlr 8e 3.0/tekin/aka
pballer2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:46 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pballer2777 View Post
let me tell u something i've been tuning motors for yrs just fine. one min it was fine and the next min it had the problem. i've had nothing but problem with this motor. i will never buy another os motor again. they suck

Sorry you have has bad luck with the ENGINE - motor=electirc - tis tat - now if you calm down a bit, and go back and read my post again I said (no offense) I didn't mean it in bad way.

I have ran OS ENGINES for years, about 20 , on road, off road, 10th and 8th and NEVER had a problem that was not USER ERROR. Not saying you are to blame. I'm just saying it NEEDS a tune from what I was reading. Its needs to flushed, cleaned and reset to factory specs and go from there.

I once was to pissed at OS, I brought a World Speed and could not get it running right and it was a batch of BAD glow plugs.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:47 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

Again - did not mean to offend - just going by what you guys posted. And eveything is IMO
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 07:09 AM   #15
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Why no slicone? I seal every engine before I even start it. On my most recent os engine I only sealed the backplate. It's just extra insurance. But again why would you not seal the engine? Air leaks can happen and the engine can lean out. If this happens in the middle of a long main that engine could be toast by the end of that main.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
O.S Engines thread TTR:EB4 Offroad Nitro Engine Forum 2421 08-17-2017 08:42 AM
Houstons Engine Service H.E.S. houston Offroad Nitro Engine Forum 8821 06-17-2017 12:29 PM
JAMMIN X2 CRT!!!! luis carballo Nitro Off-Road 1009 02-07-2015 02:53 PM
Noob with an XT8...Need some help/advice with this thing please! Reevo Nitro Off-Road 38 11-07-2008 06:32 PM
os VSPEC will not IDLE/tune, please help patrick21x Nitro Off-Road 26 08-04-2008 12:20 AM
clutch problems with 8ight-t please help rhymster Nitro Off-Road 24 08-17-2007 03:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:47 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net