R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   Rookie w/ nitro rc and hobby store advice? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/304139-rookie-w-nitro-rc-hobby-store-advice.html)

chays33 06-12-2009 05:32 AM

Rookie w/ nitro rc and hobby store advice?

I recently purchased a Traxxas Rustler with .25 engine for my son. I have zero experience with the nitro RC's and have been trying to do my homework on it. Apparently you are supposed to use some after run oil after using. I went to a local hobby store to buy the 20% fuel and asked for after run oil. He gave me some lightening lub road power and said to use 4 drops of this with a certain amount of the fuel (cant remember the amount 1qt maybe) and that I wouldnt have to use the after run oil. Good advice? bad advice? and if so, do you think Im right on 4 drops per 1qt ratio? thanks in advance

token 06-12-2009 06:17 AM

I would not - Hobbico makes an afterrun oil, I would not put nothing into my fuel, as of fear that it would make it inconsistant Plus one of my local PROS said that wtih some fuels stating that you do not use afterrun oils but they would still use them.

You don't need to use ARO after ever run, but if you not going to run it for a while then its a must.

chays33 06-12-2009 06:22 AM

thanks for that advice......I didnt think that sounded right, but seems to be a popular method on some forums.

aaronb73 06-12-2009 06:23 AM

The best advice I can give you is when you are done running the truck for the day that you leave no fuel in the tank and try to burn any remaining fuel left in the motor. Basically with an empty tank try to start the motor until it won't fire up anymore.