R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2009, 11:14 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
rcboxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Apple Valley, Ca.
Posts: 447
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rcboxer
Default losing radio communication

Hello, This weekend I had problems with my radio losing communication with my 8t2.0. Everything worked great last time i used it. I am having trouble figuring out what the problem is so I thought I would ask you guys for some things to look for to help me out. I use lipo batteries in both me futaba 3pk and in my truck, and they were charged. I also tried changing out the receiver with a different one but still had the problem. I am using the 3pk with the spektrum receiver system. During the race it would lose communication like 2 or 3 times a lap, both throttle and steering. Any ideas? thanks, Ryan
rcboxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 11:15 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

did you try re-binding it?
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 11:21 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
rcboxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Apple Valley, Ca.
Posts: 447
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rcboxer
Default

Ya tried that too. I tried it in two different receivers and same result. It seemed to get worse as the race went on. I checked my battery voltage after the race and they were good. Could a voltage regulator cause any problems like that? thanks
rcboxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 11:23 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

maybe, sounds like the module
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 08:07 AM   #5
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

If your running spectrum Rx....and potentially have good enough servo's....you could yank that regulator out with out fear.....ALot of guys are running unregulated these days on all sorts of servo's....from cheepo 30$ one's to 120$ hitec's that are rated for 8.4v.....try with a Not fully charged pack and take it out for a test run.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 08:18 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
scwrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,421
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

check all wire connections. Could be a connection briefly loosing contact or even the switch itself.
__________________
hbracing.com tritonrc.com raceaka.com
scwrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 08:42 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 420
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

check the antenna wire in the module it self it could be brefily making contact.
m henry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 08:56 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Wenbiao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,849
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default KO EX10 Helios 2.4 module and RX

any comments on the above ?
Wenbiao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:21 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
rcboxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Apple Valley, Ca.
Posts: 447
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rcboxer
Default

thanks guys for all the replies I did notice a little nick in the wire coming from the regulator but the metal part of the wire looks okay. I was thinking about the switch, unfortunatly the switch is part of the losi regulator. INtegra, if I dont use a regulator will the transponder be okay? My servos are hitecs, one is a 985 analog and the other is a 5995 digital. I checked the antenna wire and it looks good too. thanks again for your replies
rcboxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:24 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
rcboxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Apple Valley, Ca.
Posts: 447
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rcboxer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scwrod View Post
check all wire connections. Could be a connection briefly loosing contact or even the switch itself.
You know i didnt actually check the wires in the power wire its self, good idea I will check that when I get home. thanks
rcboxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:37 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
baruke1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 493
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

Put a regular hump pack in and forget the regulator and I bet you will be problem free.
baruke1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 11:05 AM   #12
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcboxer View Post
thanks guys for all the replies I did notice a little nick in the wire coming from the regulator but the metal part of the wire looks okay. I was thinking about the switch, unfortunatly the switch is part of the losi regulator. INtegra, if I dont use a regulator will the transponder be okay? My servos are hitecs, one is a 985 analog and the other is a 5995 digital. I checked the antenna wire and it looks good too. thanks again for your replies


the transponder can handle it no problem's so can the 5955...but the analog 985 might be questionable...your call...if it pop's its an excuse to upgrade.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 11:16 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
rcboxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Apple Valley, Ca.
Posts: 447
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rcboxer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Integra View Post
the transponder can handle it no problem's so can the 5955...but the analog 985 might be questionable...your call...if it pop's its an excuse to upgrade.
LOL very true. that thing has lasted me like 2 years though, I am almost attached to it That would give me a good reason to throw in my jr9100 in there.
rcboxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 11:39 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,807
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Throw that P.O.S. Losi regulator away. Three out of
four that we bought gave nothing but problems. We
tried them in different cars with different radio systems
and they were the cause of all the glitching problems
we were having. If you think you need to use a regulator,
the five or seven amp Protech regulators work good.
rageworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 11:56 AM   #15
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Is the antenna from the receiver bent or broken? And make sure the antenna is all the way up. I had that same problem in my 8t 2.0 with a spectrum DX3R and once I put the antenna all the way up in the tube the problem went away. I even left it inside the body just up in the tube and it was fine. The problem only happened at 1 track.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:01 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net