R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 06-06-2009, 11:21 PM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default I'm looking for...

Hey, I am new to the RC Car hobby (I normally fly RC Helicopter's) and I am looking to buy my first setup. So, I need help figuring out exactly what I need to make this happen. Here is what I am thinking; I think I want either a 1/8 or 1/10 Nitro setup for Off Road.

Let me be clear on this point, I want an AWESOME setup!

Money isn't too much of an issue BUT that does not mean I want some crazy expensive stuff like turbines. I just want a really good and solid system that I can easily get parts for but that is no slouch when racing. I want a setup and car that other people will respect.

Also, how do electric cars compare to nitro ones? Not only in the amount of power but in the amount of time you can run on 1 battery pack as compared to a tank of nitro? And how do they compare cost wise when all is said and done?

Lastly, what are the best online shops to buy everything from, with price and customer service being the most important factors?

That being said, let me have it guys, what and where should I buy?

Old 06-07-2009, 12:45 AM   #2
Tech Champion

R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeKrew View Post
Hey, I am new to the RC Car hobby (I normally fly RC Helicopter's) and I am looking to buy my first setup. So, I need help figuring out exactly what I need to make this happen. Here is what I am thinking; I think I want either a 1/8 or 1/10 Nitro setup for Off Road.

Let me be clear on this point, I want an AWESOME setup!

Money isn't too much of an issue BUT that does not mean I want some crazy expensive stuff like turbines. I just want a really good and solid system that I can easily get parts for but that is no slouch when racing. I want a setup and car that other people will respect.