R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-04-2009, 10:10 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
8IGHTROCKETX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manassas Va.
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default losi 1.0 an 2.0 compatability

i know the rear driveshafts and longer in the 2.0 than the pro or rtr because the chassis is a little longer but what about the other stuff?

1. can you use the cvds from the front and rear on the 1.0 in the 2.0 and vise versa? i know their more heavy duty on the 2.0, but do the 1.0's fit?

2. the front and rear center drive shafts in the 1.0 are barely long enough to fit. could i use the 2.0 reas drive shafts on the 1.0?

i guess what i'm asking is what's not compatable from the 1.0 to the 2.0


any help is greatly appreciated.
8IGHTROCKETX3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 10:16 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8IGHTROCKETX3 View Post
i know the rear driveshafts and longer in the 2.0 than the pro or rtr because the chassis is a little longer but what about the other stuff?

1. can you use the cvds from the front and rear on the 1.0 in the 2.0 and vise versa? i know their more heavy duty on the 2.0, but do the 1.0's fit?

2. the front and rear center drive shafts in the 1.0 are barely long enough to fit. could i use the 2.0 reas drive shafts on the 1.0?

i guess what i'm asking is what's not compatable from the 1.0 to the 2.0


any help is greatly appreciated.
Everything is compatible except the center rear.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 10:31 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 139
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default re

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
Everything is compatible except the center rear.
so all you need is drive shaft and chassis
leapinglizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 10:33 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
8IGHTROCKETX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manassas Va.
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

thanks guys, much appreciated
8IGHTROCKETX3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 10:35 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinglizard View Post
so all you need is drive shaft and chassis
Huh??? To do what? If you mean to upgrade to a 2.0 chassis, the only "nessicary" Items are chassis and rear center shaft. There are lots of other differences between the two though.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 10:50 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
8IGHTROCKETX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manassas Va.
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
Huh??? To do what? If you mean to upgrade to a 2.0 chassis, the only "nessicary" Items are chassis and rear center shaft. There are lots of other differences between the two though.
i just meant what parts do the 2.0 use that the 1.0 cannot.

so it's the center rear drive shaft and the 2.0 chassis? everything else is compatable so i can upgrade everything else later or even switch between parts?
8IGHTROCKETX3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 11:30 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Teufel Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sparks Nv.
Posts: 2,134
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Basically,

Yes and yes. To go from a 1.0 to a 2.0, its rear drive line and chassis, though the 2.0 radio tray is reccomended. All other parts from the 1.0 will work.
2.0 body will fit a 1.0 with no real issues, the rear body mount hole has to be trimmed a couple mm's towards the front of the body to allow some flex.
1.0 body will fit the 2.0, the rear body mount hole has to be trimmed towards the rear of the body to allow flex. That could make the rear of the body weaker than normal.
2.0 rear hub hinge pins will work on the 1.0 hubs if they are drilled out to 3.5mm. Many guys I know use the M2C hub hinge pins which require drilling.
2.0 rear bearing inserts for the rear gear box will not fit a 1.0 gear box.
Arms are the same front and rear, though the 2.0 arms are a little stiffer.
Probably alot more that I am forgetting, but I am sure guys will point those out.
__________________
J.Mikoliczyk

ZX6 - RB6 - MP9e
Fantom Racing, Cheater Racing
Houston's Engine Service
Teufel Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 02:44 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
guss2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,192
Trader Rating: 265 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teufel Racing View Post
Basically,

Yes and yes. To go from a 1.0 to a 2.0, its rear drive line and chassis, though the 2.0 radio tray is reccomended. All other parts from the 1.0 will work.
2.0 body will fit a 1.0 with no real issues, the rear body mount hole has to be trimmed a couple mm's towards the front of the body to allow some flex.
1.0 body will fit the 2.0, the rear body mount hole has to be trimmed towards the rear of the body to allow flex. That could make the rear of the body weaker than normal.
2.0 rear hub hinge pins will work on the 1.0 hubs if they are drilled out to 3.5mm. Many guys I know use the M2C hub hinge pins which require drilling.
2.0 rear bearing inserts for the rear gear box will not fit a 1.0 gear box.
Arms are the same front and rear, though the 2.0 arms are a little stiffer.
Probably alot more that I am forgetting, but I am sure guys will point those out.

So from what im reading here... If i put the 2.0 radio tray on my 1.0 that would fix the servo problem?
guss2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 04:19 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guss2009 View Post
So from what im reading here... If i put the 2.0 radio tray on my 1.0 that would fix the servo problem?
Yup. But you need a 2.0 linkage too, or atleast some longer linkage rods for throttle and brake.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8IGHTROCKETX3 View Post
i just meant what parts do the 2.0 use that the 1.0 cannot.

so it's the center rear drive shaft and the 2.0 chassis? everything else is compatable so i can upgrade everything else later or even switch between parts?
Everything is compatible, but if you go to the 2.0 chassis you need the 2.0 shaft. You can't use the 2.0 shaft on a 1.0 chassis.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 08:20 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
sluggo_sx8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 613
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I just put the 2.0 radio tray in my 1.0. I had to add a 2mm spacer under the servo and extend the brake and thorttle links but works good.
sluggo_sx8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 05:21 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
sluggo_sx8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 613
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

well have to remove the 2.0 radio tray after all the work of putting it in. Because i had to shim the servo up 2mm to cear the frame the brake and throttle linkage is hitting the body real bad. So back to the 1.0 radio tray
sluggo_sx8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 01:21 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 213
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

will the 1.0 gear boxes fit 2.0
losi33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 01:28 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 213
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

are the stearing belcranks interchangable to
losi33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 01:33 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
XXXDad's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida USA
Posts: 6,009
Trader Rating: 195 (100%+)
Default

All interchangable...... The body just cut a hole in it.
__________________
☆ Glenn Carlson ☆☆ WPB, Florida☆

☆TLR 22B 3.0 MM ☆ 22T 2.0 MM ☆22B 2.0 MM ☆22-4 ☆ SCTE 2.0☆ ☆
XXXDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 06:25 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Topeka
Posts: 1,330
Trader Rating: 29 (94%+)
Default

not to talk down on any thing but I would stay with the old losi if I was going to do something I had the old one and I have the new one and the old one is alot more stable and faster to me
kcpipeliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:27 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net