R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2009, 08:21 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Waters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default OS speed sleeve & piston in V-Spec

Does any one know if the OS speed sleeve and piston would work in a OS V-Spec. Thanks...
__________________
Losi 8b 2.0, Werks B5 2057, Losi 8bE 1.0 2200kv 3s 7-12 ounces, T4.1, B4.1,
Waters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 08:25 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
JoeyTheRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 1,893
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JoeyTheRocket Send a message via Yahoo to JoeyTheRocket
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waters View Post
Does any one know if the OS speed sleeve and piston would work in a OS V-Spec. Thanks...
Yes you are good to go!
__________________
Joey Kubat ↔ MWNS Staff www.MidwestNitro.com
Mugen Seiki / AKA Racing / Novarossi / PT RC Racing Oils / Advantage Racing Products
JoeyTheRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:34 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

yup they are a direct fit.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 10:55 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

yes and make sure to get a speed rod as well
__________________
go really fast and turn left....
Robert.Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 11:04 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
SkarTisu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,669
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SkarTisu Send a message via Yahoo to SkarTisu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert.Hull View Post
yes and make sure to get a speed rod as well
You only need the Speed connecting rod when using a Speed crank due to the difference in the oiling hole location. Using a Speed piston and sleeve doesn't require the conn rod.
__________________
Marshall Skare
Team Associated - Reedy Powered - JConcepts - LiveRC.com
SkarTisu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 11:06 AM   #6
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert.Hull View Post
yes and make sure to get a speed rod as well




I see posts like this all the time ..


The stock V-spec crank is not like the speed version , no need for a extra hole on the con rod as the stock part has a hole inside the crank pin journal already...

So whats the need for two holes ?


If you do use the speed rod, should`nt you also mate it with the speed crank as well ?
__________________
Any driver can copy a great set up, a Champion however will steal it .
If Jesus returned as a Rc car he be a Rc10 B5M
George W. Cherry
Wild Cherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 11:12 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

2 holes are better than one...
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 11:46 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Waters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyTheRocket View Post
Yes you are good to go!
Thanks again...
__________________
Losi 8b 2.0, Werks B5 2057, Losi 8bE 1.0 2200kv 3s 7-12 ounces, T4.1, B4.1,
Waters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:01 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkarTisu View Post
You only need the Speed connecting rod when using a Speed crank due to the difference in the oiling hole location. Using a Speed piston and sleeve doesn't require the conn rod.
the speed rod is machined better and it doesn't wear as easy as the stock v-spec rod

and there is nothing wrong with more oil getting on the shaft
__________________
go really fast and turn left....
Robert.Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:11 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert.Hull View Post
the speed rod is machined better and it doesn't wear as easy as the stock v-spec rod

and there is nothing wrong with more oil getting on the shaft
Agreed. It is a good upgrade, but not nessicary for this application. If you are buying a rod, go with the speed one. If you already have a normal v-spec rod, it will work fine.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:38 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
l3asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Broussard, Louisiana
Posts: 956
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
Agreed. It is a good upgrade, but not nessicary for this application. If you are buying a rod, go with the speed one. If you already have a normal v-spec rod, it will work fine.
I was told the speed rod is heavier. Is this true?
l3asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:51 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by l3asher View Post
I was told the speed rod is heavier. Is this true?
Not sure really. It's possible, but I doubt it.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 01:47 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hayward CA
Posts: 702
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Tower has the p/s/r for 179.. p/s for 149..

pay the xtra 30 bucks and get the set, while you're at it use the coupon code to get 25 bucks off.
devilchrist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 01:55 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

i have the ninja p/s in mine. i plan on puttin the speed rod in about a gallon mark. so maybe a month
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 03:01 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
cary's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,914
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by l3asher View Post
I was told the speed rod is heavier. Is this true?
i weighted the two rods on a digital scale not the best one
only goes in one gram increments . they are both
3 grams ea but when i put them both on it comes up
7 grams need a better scale
__________________
Xray XB8 14,AE RC8T3,XB9 13,Kyosho wheeler,Losi SCTE 2.0,+ More
> The Animal,Frank L. Jr. <
~~~~RedRock Hobbies~~~~
cary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:36 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net