R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2009, 10:30 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default LOSI 2.O QUICK CHANGE MOTOR MOUNT V-SPEC

Ok I have tried to get a v-spec on a quick change motor mount for a Customer of mine and it just will not go on there right am I missing something?
PUDDIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 10:55 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,775
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

i got mine on a kingheadz motor with no problem. whats the problem u r having.
__________________
tlr 8 4.0 /rex engine/aka
tlr 8e 3.0/tekin/aka
pballer2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 10:57 AM   #3
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

+1 on the king headz. An OS speed mounted no prob.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 11:06 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PUDDIN View Post
Ok I have tried to get a v-spec on a quick change motor mount for a Customer of mine and it just will not go on there right am I missing something?
I run a quick change on my v-specs w/ no problems. What is happening that it won't go in?
__________________
Jesse Carrillo
Team Driver For:
TLR | Horizon Hobby | Nitrotane | Spektrum | HandleITHobbies | 818 Designs
pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 11:22 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I can not get one hole to line up...you can see where the screw is hitting to the right of the hole...I have tried everything...even the motor mounts where are to push down on to the pins.
PUDDIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 11:37 AM   #6
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PUDDIN View Post
I can not get one hole to line up...you can see where the screw is hitting to the right of the hole...I have tried everything...even the motor mounts where are to push down on to the pins.
Try flipping one of the mounting plates around. What quick change engine mount are you using?
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 12:09 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Lets see if I can try and explain it:

When you put the screws in, don't tighten them all the way. Leave 3 of them loose when trying to put in the last one. Once all screws thread in, you can tighten down.
__________________
Jesse Carrillo
Team Driver For:
TLR | Horizon Hobby | Nitrotane | Spektrum | HandleITHobbies | 818 Designs
pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 12:26 PM   #8
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyromania View Post
Lets see if I can try and explain it:

When you put the screws in, don't tighten them all the way. Leave 3 of them loose when trying to put in the last one. Once all screws thread in, you can tighten down.


X2...if you lock the top blocks onto the block Not Mounted to the base the pins will not line up.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 01:37 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
aaron joy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 825
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Try chamfering the inside edge of the top blocks a little where they might be touching the engine. I had to do this for my RB's because the upper mounts were binding on the lower posts making it a not so quick change mount.

Last edited by aaron joy; 05-29-2009 at 06:59 PM.
aaron joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 02:32 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Foley, Al
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Losi quick change engine mount guide

#4 apply an engine top mount to each side of engine with arrows pointing towards the clutch. ONLY THREAD EACH SCREW IN A FEW TURNS.

#5 place engine assembly on the base mount and fully tighten the screws installed in the previous step, this will ensure the locating pins are correctly aligned.

#6 attach the top mount to the base with the 5-40x1/2 cap head screws; apply loctite to the screw heads.

#7 place the engine assembly into the chassis and reinstall the engine and pipe mounting screws. Set gear mesh.
__________________
Making a comeback !!
roadracer43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 03:08 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
malcnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: DUNEDIN, NewZealand
Posts: 1,299
Default

yip the key is not to tighten them down until they are all threaded in
__________________
SCHUMACHER MI5 EVO/TEAM POWERS/SANWA/DX4R PRO.

SERPENT F110/TEAMPOWERS 21.5.

LOSI 22 2.0/TEAM POWERS 8.5
malcnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:36 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net