R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2009, 09:35 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to RCinSC
Default RC10GT Fuel Tank

I got a stock 75cc fuel tank on it now. But I got a O.S. .18 CV-R on the truck and the tank is VERY VERY VERY small for that gas sucker! AE doesnt sell a bigger tank for the truck. I was wondering has anyone upgraded there RC10GT tank? If so How and which tank did you use. Thanks
RCinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 09:43 AM   #2
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,874
Default

i think a gt2 tank would fit the gt i dont know why they made that tank so small anyways
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 09:44 AM   #3
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,874
Default

but a .18 doesnt help much at all
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 09:46 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to RCinSC
Default

I will go and see if my lhs has a gt2 tank. .18 sucks the shit out of gas. But I wont get rid of it either
RCinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 09:51 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Hal Hudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Spokane Valley
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

There about the same size. 75cc
Hal Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 09:56 AM   #6
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

You can remove the plug inside the tank and make a bit more capacity with the Gt-2 tank...
__________________
Any driver can copy a great set up, a Champion however will steal it .
If Jesus returned as a Rc car he be a Rc10 B5M
George W. Cherry
Wild Cherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 09:58 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Hal Hudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Spokane Valley
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Nice run this weekend George.
Way to keep those 4 strokers inline.
Hal Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 10:13 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to RCinSC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild Cherry View Post
You can remove the plug inside the tank and make a bit more capacity with the Gt-2 tank...
I am new to the rc world. What do you mean remove the plug?
RCinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 10:33 AM   #9
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,874
Default

open the fuel lid and u should see a big retraingle plastic peace that has a allen key bolt just get a pair of needle nose and grip the bolt and carefully take it try not to lift the gas tank lid to much.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 11:34 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Hal Hudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Spokane Valley
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Unscrew the bolt first.
Hal Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 12:58 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to RCinSC
Default

I went and bought this traxxas 125cc tank. NO it doesnt fit perfect but it will. I am gonna have to drill some holes =( but I got to have a bigger tank over all. I hope this 125cc tank will last a race. But that has already been removed out the tank thats on the truck. Does anyone have any ideas on how to mark for these holes? I was thinking some black paint. What do you think?
RCinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 03:23 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 130
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

How rich are you running it? What pipe are you running? I get about 8 minutes of run time out of my 18 CVR
__________________
"Fast is fine, but accuracy is everything" - Wyatt Earp
"Slow is smooth, smooth is fast" -Sgt Bob Lee Swagger
"I feel safer on a racetrack than I do on Houston's freeways." - A.J. Foyt
“I love this kind of racing, but these guys sure change their personalities in race mode. They’re like Doberman pinschers with a hand grenade in their mouths” -Boris Said
NitroVal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 03:25 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 130
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCinSC View Post
I went and bought this traxxas 125cc tank. NO it doesnt fit perfect but it will. I am gonna have to drill some holes =( but I got to have a bigger tank over all. I hope this 125cc tank will last a race. But that has already been removed out the tank thats on the truck. Does anyone have any ideas on how to mark for these holes? I was thinking some black paint. What do you think?
Pour some paint on a cardboard box or something then lightly dip the bottom of the tank in it, and while the paint is still wet, place the tank in the chassis so it transfers the paint markings. If you do it right, you should have the holes outlined right where they need to be
__________________
"Fast is fine, but accuracy is everything" - Wyatt Earp
"Slow is smooth, smooth is fast" -Sgt Bob Lee Swagger
"I feel safer on a racetrack than I do on Houston's freeways." - A.J. Foyt
“I love this kind of racing, but these guys sure change their personalities in race mode. They’re like Doberman pinschers with a hand grenade in their mouths” -Boris Said
NitroVal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 03:31 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to RCinSC
Default

Yeah, thats what I was thinking would be the best way.
RCinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 03:34 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 114
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to RCinSC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroVal View Post
How rich are you running it? What pipe are you running? I get about 8 minutes of run time out of my 18 CVR
i got a o.s. t-1030. I do run a little rich. But not bad
RCinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D&M Speedway Topeka Outdoor Off-Road JPMSRacing Kansas/Missouri Racing 5448 10-09-2010 09:01 AM
RC10GT New LRP .18 Engine RTR Excellent shape grgarberii R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-03-2009 08:54 PM
RC10Gt help gopeder99 Nitro Off-Road 7 04-09-2008 09:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:10 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net