R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-24-2009, 09:23 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Electronics Not Working

I was getting my 8ight all ready to go to break in my V-Spec tomorrow. Instaleld the engine, radio tray, then plugged in a charged receiver pack, and turned everything on.....nothing. The receiver doesnt even light up green. From the battery box to the switch, everything is fine. But when I turn everything on and use a digital multi-meter to check voltage on the BAT/TEL (bascially switch) part of my receiver, there is no voltage. Any suggestions? I really want to break it in Monday as that is the only day until saturday I will have a full day to break it in.
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 09:30 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

plug the battery right into the receiver..
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 09:39 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaxx21 View Post
plug the battery right into the receiver..
Im using Deans for the RX Battery....Gonna switch to the standard black but dont have the time now.
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 11:07 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Okay update....I took my 4AAs from ym XXX-NT that have the red rx connector and put them in the receiver part....nothing, even with voltage on the AAs. It has to be my receiver then? It is very weird that it worked perfectly before I blew a servo, worked when I got home from the track, but when I was ready to get everything going, it doesnt work. the red connectors should of fit fine in the receiver right? Is there ANYTHING else I can do?
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 11:55 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Ephidelt490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 621
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ephidelt490
Default

What kind of RX/TX are you using?
__________________
[Action Hobbies] [Team Associated] [Futaba] [O'Donnell Fuels] [JConcepts] [DNA Designs]
Ephidelt490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 08:10 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ephidelt490 View Post
What kind of RX/TX are you using?
DX2.0/stock rx.
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 09:12 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

If you fried a servo, it could have overloaded the reciever. Any way to try a second reciever to be sure? I would also pull the reciever apart and clean it really well with compressed air. Make sure everything is plugged in correctly(inside the reciever) and make sure there are no signs of something being wrong(burnt connections/broken connections).
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:16 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
If you fried a servo, it could have overloaded the reciever. Any way to try a second reciever to be sure? I would also pull the reciever apart and clean it really well with compressed air. Make sure everything is plugged in correctly(inside the reciever) and make sure there are no signs of something being wrong(burnt connections/broken connections).
LOL, I have tried at least 4 servos on both throttle and steering, but most of them were cheapos. For example, the last 2 I ran for throttle were JR Z270 and a 16 year old futaba servo. I guess I can try my XR2i, but the receiver in that is huge and wont fit on the 8ight radio tray.
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:19 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Another update....tried my XR2i and rx, still nothing....What could be the problem? EDIT: I spoke to soon! I tried 4AA batteries on the XR2i bypassing the switch (ive tried 2 switches) and it works!!! I did notice I had to flip the red connector the other way around for it to work though.
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 10:20 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
mfrosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 920
Trader Rating: 14 (89%+)
Default

nevermind
__________________
~TQ Racing~O.S. Engines~AKA~Answer R/C~
http://www.youtube.com/user/frostyone1977
mfrosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 11:23 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Another problem. When i turn everything on, my Airtronics 94357 works fine, for both steering and throttle. But my good old trusty Hitec 625MG just sputters like it has no control. When I use steering or throttle. Someitmes I can get it to steer one way, but it is like someone is on another channel evne though im using 2.4ghz. I might throw my 16 year old futaba in for throttle.
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 12:20 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Looks like I got it. It was the switch along with a couple other things. My receiver smoked up for a bit but it works now.
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPMTs check in here. (a subsidiary of TNT) overtki11 Singapore R/C Racers 55470 05-07-2017 11:57 PM
Electric Touring / On-Road RC Screaming Wind Manila Racers 32167 05-02-2017 10:20 PM
Equipment Sellout, GFX, SMC,HPI PRO 4, AE 10L4, SK Modified,Tinity Picco. pablo1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 40 02-11-2014 07:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:46 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net