R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-22-2009, 11:11 AM   #16
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

i tried to preheat the engine with the heat gun i plugged it in in my car and it wasnt working right for some reason and not getting hot the engine still fine and runs fine
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 11:15 AM   #17
Tech Champion
 
Trevor Williams's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8,218
Trader Rating: 195 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
i tried to preheat the engine with the heat gun i plugged it in in my car and it wasnt working right

plugged into your car? what do you mean? heatguns are powered via 110v AC........please explain

Or am I confused by your wording of your post
__________________
RC10-B6d | RC10-B64d
SmacTrac
#WeAreAE #ReedyPower #AE4Life
Trevor Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 11:29 AM   #18
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

i have a regular plug outlet in my car not a cigerette lighter. cant i just put tin foil on the engine block below the cooling head and run it intill its 200 and take it off or is that just for cold weather running and do u temp the engine block not the glow plug area
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 11:39 AM   #19
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 64
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

When I got the engine running prior I was getting temps around 210 with foil wrapped around the head. I'm going to go out and try 'er agian, if it doesn't go this time then I think I might replace the starter box motors.
Trail Bruizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 11:49 AM   #20
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

u just run the tin foil on it intil it reaches 210 than take it off or leave it on
and do u just wrap the top of the engine block and do u use aluminium foil isnt that the same thing as tin foil or is it the same
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 01:08 PM   #21
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Foley, Al
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

leave the foil on. If you are trying to break this engine in then you are gonna have to run it around on the ground and to get the temp where it needs to be your gonna have to start leaning it out a little at a time. They are very rich from factory.
__________________
Making a comeback !!
roadracer43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 01:36 PM   #22
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Default

I tried Houston set up, and mine won't idle at all, have to pull on the trigger to get it to stay running...Is this just an idle adjustment or....
NitroAmmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 02:09 PM   #23
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Foley, Al
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Once again, they are very rich factory settings. You will have to lean some.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroAmmo View Post
I tried Houston set up, and mine won't idle at all, have to pull on the trigger to get it to stay running...Is this just an idle adjustment or....
__________________
Making a comeback !!
roadracer43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 02:16 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
"Smiley"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cypress, Tx
Posts: 4,482
Trader Rating: 166 (98%+)
Default

For about the first Gallon of fuel, I heat the engine up to 200 Degrees to take the pressure off the internals. I have done this for my last few engines. My first Limited 3 Port lasted me 10 Gallons before the compression finally went. Thats is a true 10 Gallons, Under race conditions. I just broke in a new Limited 3 Port, about 1/2 a Gallon on it right now. I'm getting 9min. to a tank with the Dynamite 053. Should be able to get the 10min mark after its completely broke in. Just remember, preheat your engine, it will last much longer.
__________________
Vision Racing Products | Team Associated | AKA | Tekin | Sanwa | VP Powermaster Fuel | RC Concepts Engines | MIP | Avid | Boom RC Graphics | Paint By: "Smiley"

Vision Racing Products (VRP)- www.visionracingproducts.com
"Smiley" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 02:36 PM   #25
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 64
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm thinking my issues are with the starter box motor. I noticed I was rubbing the chassis with the wheel. Also when I had the engine heated up and the plug out 1/2 a turn I could turn the flywheel by hand, it is tight but the box should turn it. I bought the box used and I now the motors are far from new so I will replace them and see where I'm at after that. Thanks for the help.
Trail Bruizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 02:43 PM   #26
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Foley, Al
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

why dont you run the dynamite 086 with it ? its already got plenty of bottom. It needs some top end. This is the pipe everyone states to run with it. I tried it and it screams.
Quote:
Originally Posted by "Smiley" View Post
For about the first Gallon of fuel, I heat the engine up to 200 Degrees to take the pressure off the internals. I have done this for my last few engines. My first Limited 3 Port lasted me 10 Gallons before the compression finally went. Thats is a true 10 Gallons, Under race conditions. I just broke in a new Limited 3 Port, about 1/2 a Gallon on it right now. I'm getting 9min. to a tank with the Dynamite 053. Should be able to get the 10min mark after its completely broke in. Just remember, preheat your engine, it will last much longer.
__________________
Making a comeback !!
roadracer43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 03:57 PM   #27
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

so once you preheat the engine than should it run at 200 i did lean the top end a little cause its was to rich and it was running a 178 than when the gas got low it was about 186, man even breaking that engine in its got torque man i run the dynomite 86 pipe too ,u do have to lean the low end cause that is really rich also.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 03:48 AM   #28
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadracer43 View Post
Once again, they are very rich factory settings. You will have to lean some.
No, the almost race settings he posted on the first page.
NitroAmmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 07:31 AM   #29
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Foley, Al
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

obviously not even close
Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroAmmo View Post
No, the almost race settings he posted on the first page.
__________________
Making a comeback !!
roadracer43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 12:45 PM   #30
Tech Prophet
 
houston's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: portland OR
Posts: 15,088
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroAmmo View Post
I tried Houston set up, and mine won't idle at all, have to pull on the trigger to get it to stay running...Is this just an idle adjustment or....
you definitely will have to turn the idle up about 1/4 turn or so but you will have to get the engine running by pulling the throttle linkage . need to clear out the raw fuel
__________________
TEAM FUSION X ENGINES / TEAM BYRON ORIGINALS / TEAM PROLINE RACING TIRES / TEAM SICK GRAPHICS /TEAM KYOSHO / things I support: COMP HEAT DEALER /TEAM LUNSFORD/ FUSIONX™ USA / TEAM KYOSHO / "H.E.S."™ / BYRON FUELS / RC-OMGUSA/KICWEBDESIGNZ/AKA TIRES/PROLINE RACING TIRES /RAYA RACING/BUKU POWER CLUTCH/M2CRACING/special thanks to STAV and JIM HOTTIGREENMOUNTAINGRILLS.COM
houston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with ZV-spec. Lost compression. Chatzstuff Nitro Off-Road 11 04-22-2009 06:22 AM
Truggy choice????? TH691 Electric Off-Road 26 04-27-2007 07:37 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:15 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net