R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-20-2009, 06:37 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,403
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default RC8 Throttle servo settings?

Iím pretty new on the nitro stuff, so if any of these seem like dumb questions, I apologize in advance.

In regards to my throttle servo on my RC8 (Iím sure itís the same on any buggy), I just had a buddy break-in the engine on HIS buggy, and install it in mine. I am pretty sure he put it back together, and when I go race this weekend, I am probably going to have to set all of my endpoints and all that. My question is, how should I go about setting up the throttle servo/brakes, on the buggy? I just want to be sure I get my physical endpoints on the servo correct and all that. Also, when I am cleaning the buggy and pull the radio tray out, whatís the best way to detach the throttle servo and not have to reset everything?
__________________
Thank you to the following companies for their support in 2017:

* Futaba * O.S. Engines * RC Racing Communications *
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 07:24 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
PTP Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Set your sub and regular trims at zero and get the arm as close to straight as possible.

Then use the sub trim to get the arm the rest of the way straight. Then set up the throttle and steering linkages to be centered with the arms straight.

Then set your radio failsafe to these positions (very important).

Then when removing the arms for maintenance do so while they are straight (having the radio on will hold them straight for you). Make sure you dont move the servos while the arms are not attached and you should be able to reassemble it all just like it was without readjusting anything.

If the servos are moved you can always just turn the radio on let them re-center and install.
__________________
Paycheck to Paycheck Racing
Jason Miller
PTP Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 07:26 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
PTP Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Keep in mind the linkage may need to be adjusted any time you change engines or even the position of the motor.

AND dont forget to set your endpoints properly.

I usually spend a couple hours setting up all my linkages when I get a new car so that everything works just right. Take your time and get it right and dont be afraid to ask more questions if you need to. We're here to help
__________________
Paycheck to Paycheck Racing
Jason Miller
PTP Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 07:33 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
JoeyTheRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 1,900
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Here are some pics for ya!
Attached Thumbnails
RC8 Throttle servo settings?-t1.jpg   RC8 Throttle servo settings?-t2.jpg  
__________________
Joey Kubat
AE / JConcepts / Futaba / A-Main Hobbies / NitroPro
JoeyTheRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 07:35 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
SkarTisu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,669
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SkarTisu Send a message via Yahoo to SkarTisu
Default

For throttle high point EPA (full throttle) I set the servo so it does NOT pull carb completely open. I leave 1-2mm of carb travel. If the chassis twists on a hard crash, there's a chance that the engine can move relative to the servo. By leaving a little room to move, you don't run the risk of wrecking the servo in that situation.

For the brakes, set the EPA so that you're near the point of locking up the tires, but no more than that. Anything extra is wasted energy and unnecessary strain on the servo.

At neutral, make sure there is a small gap (0.5-1.0mm) between the collar on the end of the throttle rod and the servo arm. This one is very important. You won't get a consistent idle out of the engine if there's no gap. Always remember that with nitro cars, your idle is NOT set by your throttle trim on the radio.
__________________
Marshall Skare
Team Associated - Reedy Powered - JConcepts - LiveRC.com
SkarTisu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 08:10 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
JoeyTheRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 1,900
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Here is a picture of what Marshall is talking about.
Attached Thumbnails
RC8 Throttle servo settings?-t3.jpg  
__________________
Joey Kubat
AE / JConcepts / Futaba / A-Main Hobbies / NitroPro
JoeyTheRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 08:27 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,403
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

So the bottom line is to leave a tiny bit of ďextraĒ room with the carb. Have it able to open all the way, but leave a hair of room. With the brakes, have them engage early, but not IMMEDIATELY, as it will wear down the servo. And when removing the radio tray, just unscrew the horn from the servo with the servo ON, and when putting it back, turn the servo ON, and put it back on as straight as possible.

So the servo horn should be perfectly straight, after all my endpoints are correct, right?
__________________
Thank you to the following companies for their support in 2017:

* Futaba * O.S. Engines * RC Racing Communications *
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 08:51 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
JoeyTheRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 1,900
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Straight as possible, with my radio reading "0" its normally a degree or two off from being straight.
__________________
Joey Kubat
AE / JConcepts / Futaba / A-Main Hobbies / NitroPro
JoeyTheRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 09:03 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
PTP Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Straight is set with the trims.

Endpoints are the maximum amount of movement.

Take some time to learn all your radios adjustments. Its just as important to understand how it all works as it is to make sure it all works IMO.
__________________
Paycheck to Paycheck Racing
Jason Miller
PTP Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 09:06 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
PTP Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If your radio has them use the sub trims to center your servos. It does something a little differently when it comes to the balance of movement vs a normal trim (maybe not on all radios).

My main trims are all set at zero and I only use them if I need to make an adjustment on the fly.
__________________
Paycheck to Paycheck Racing
Jason Miller
PTP Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 09:26 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,403
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PTP Racing View Post
If your radio has them use the sub trims to center your servos. It does something a little differently when it comes to the balance of movement vs a normal trim (maybe not on all radios).

My main trims are all set at zero and I only use them if I need to make an adjustment on the fly.
So does the sub trim basically shift the middle point of the servo, still allowing maximum travel in both directions?
__________________
Thank you to the following companies for their support in 2017:

* Futaba * O.S. Engines * RC Racing Communications *
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 10:20 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
SkarTisu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,669
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to SkarTisu Send a message via Yahoo to SkarTisu
Default

Double check your radio manual to be sure, but that's how I understand sub-trim to work, yes.
__________________
Marshall Skare
Team Associated - Reedy Powered - JConcepts - LiveRC.com
SkarTisu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated 1/8 scale Buggy Info and Tips Kevin Boyle Nitro Off-Road 11189 03-12-2013 05:52 PM
Losi 8ight building and setup JBRacing Nitro Off-Road 8691 06-27-2011 08:43 AM
Crazy radio, battery, servo gremlins...what's your guess? t0adman Nitro Off-Road 23 06-22-2009 02:07 PM
confusing choices. redza Nitro Off-Road 46 01-17-2009 08:11 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:18 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net