Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
v spec or v spec worlds >

v spec or v spec worlds

v spec or v spec worlds

Old 05-16-2009, 04:27 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default v spec or v spec worlds

is the worlds addition worth the extra $$?
if any of you have driven both, what is the difference in preformance?
how would either of then compair to the rb ws7?

thanks

randy
Old 05-16-2009, 08:41 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I suppose you mean V-Spec vs. V-Spec Speed (or simply "Speed"). The "Worlds" bit is a Speed with different print and a drilled head.

I own three V-Specs and one Speed. There is a difference between them. For me, I can run a smaller venturi (carb insert) for longer runtimes and still have more power than my plain V-Specs.

Is it $250 better? Not for me. I'm not a pro. The only reason I own a Speed is because a fellow racer had an extra one, new in the box, for $300. I couldn't pass that deal up. When the Speed is past its usefulness to me, I won't replace it unless I can get another one for $300, lol. I'll go back to the V-Spec.
Old 05-16-2009, 08:49 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)

+1 for the post above
Old 05-16-2009, 08:57 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

Stock Vspec= Strong bottom and top, very good run time, switchy power band, short engine life (5 gallons average) due to non-coated crank and oil hole in crank instead of rod

Worlds edition = Excellent power bottom to top, excellent run time, smooth linear power band, double the life of a stock Vspec due to coated crank and oil hole in the rod

Best value = Ninja JX21. Excellent power bottom to top, excellent run time, Smoother than stock Vspec but not as smooth as worlds ed., long engine life due to coated crank and oil hole in rod.

All of these engines have more bottom and comparable top end to the WS7. I would say the worlds and JX will both last as long as the WS7.
Old 05-16-2009, 11:20 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)