R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2009, 06:38 PM   #16
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by howtowakeakar View Post
A small amount of play is normal.
thank you. I am really don't want to annoy anyone. Thank you all. That is all for tonight.
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 06:41 PM   #17
Tech Master
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Wow. You had the stock plug in for two gallons and never thought of changing it?
__________________
Jesse Carrillo
Team Driver For:
TLR | Horizon Hobby | Nitrotane | Spektrum | HandleITHobbies | 818 Designs
pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 06:43 PM   #18
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I had a stock one in for a gallon and a quart, finally switched it, ran quite a bit better.
__________________
LRP Z.28R - 3
Spur Gear - 0
howtowakeakar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 06:57 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
RCmayor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 2,745
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to RCmayor
Default

I can't wait, In a week I bet this guy will say he dremel modded his engine and is wondering why it wont run at all.
RCmayor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 07:14 PM   #20
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCmayor View Post
I can't wait, In a week I bet this guy will say he dremel modded his engine and is wondering why it wont run at all.
it was actually a gallon and 2 quarts. And what kind of idiot would take a dremmel to his engine???
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 07:20 PM   #21
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

My stock P3 plug in my v-spec ran for 5(FIVE) gallons before I changed it because I thought it would be wise. Still ran fine and glows bright when I changed it. Oh and my second is still in the engine with 3 more gallons on it. LOL. I LOVE P3's.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 07:25 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
RCmayor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 2,745
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to RCmayor
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
it was actually a gallon and 2 quarts. And what kind of idiot would take a dremmel to his engine???
You'd be surprised, there are a lot of dremel modders out there. RB Mods is one of them.
RCmayor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 09:47 PM   #23
Tech Fanatic
 
vladconnery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 992
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Just some FYI

1. Never remove sleeve with screwdriver.
2. Scratching your sleeve is never good. inside or out. Even the smallest of scratches allows air to escape which creates lost compression in the engine.
3. All engines loose there metal pinch sooner or later. However this has nothing to do with compression. Actually your engine is broken in when the metal pinch is such that the sleeve moves up and down with minimal pinch resistance. However maintains a tight tolerance to create compression. If the opposite was true the engine best performance would be out of the box and not after 1-2 gallons depending on engine.
4. Change your glow plug about every gallon or even less. Especially if your going to race. Glow plugs degrade gradually not all at once. It sucks to be in the middle of a main and flame out because your glow plug took a dump.
__________________
KO PROPO EURUS
Kyosho: TKI3, TKIe Tekin RX8 Gen2
vladconnery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 10:05 PM   #24
Tech Master
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
My stock P3 plug in my v-spec ran for 5(FIVE) gallons before I changed it because I thought it would be wise. Still ran fine and glows bright when I changed it. Oh and my second is still in the engine with 3 more gallons on it. LOL. I LOVE P3's.
I agree that p3 last forever, but I change them often since I've flamed out in 2 races due to glow plugs.
__________________
Jesse Carrillo
Team Driver For:
TLR | Horizon Hobby | Nitrotane | Spektrum | HandleITHobbies | 818 Designs
pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 10:12 PM   #25
Tech Adept
 
bmxRRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Saugus, MA
Posts: 123
Default

My brand new v-spec came with a defective plug, boy those first couple of turn overs were fun I prolly shoulda checked the integrity of the plug first. I'm about half-a-gallon into my P3 and it starts within 3 seconds on the starter box, its nice
__________________
O'Donnell Z01-B(E) Team
Mamba Monster 2200kv
Futaba BLS 451
Airtronics M11x
bmxRRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 07:44 AM   #26
Tech Addict
 
elcaminosslover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 721
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCmayor View Post
You'd be surprised, there are a lot of dremel modders out there. RB Mods is one of them.
+1 on that!! That guy is a joke!!
elcaminosslover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 08:49 AM   #27
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyromania View Post
I agree that p3 last forever, but I change them often since I've flamed out in 2 races due to glow plugs.
I am not saying it was a good idea for me to leave the plug in for that long, but it never gave me any trouble. I bet I could put that same 5 gallon old plug that I pulled out, back into an engine and it would run. I was just commenting on how long P3's can/should last.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 08:59 AM   #28
Tech Master
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
I am not saying it was a good idea for me to leave the plug in for that long, but it never gave me any trouble. I bet I could put that same 5 gallon old plug that I pulled out, back into an engine and it would run. I was just commenting on how long P3's can/should last.
Yeah I know, I've seen p3 last forever on my practice engines since I don't really care if they flame out during practice. I pull the old plug from my race engine and use them in my practice engines all the time.
__________________
Jesse Carrillo
Team Driver For:
TLR | Horizon Hobby | Nitrotane | Spektrum | HandleITHobbies | 818 Designs
pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-22-2015 11:34 PM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 01:50 PM
.21 GRP Fuel White Flakes Frt Bearing? Engine Question robbdny Nitro Off-Road 15 12-14-2008 07:05 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:29 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net