R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2009, 07:08 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default os vspec engine owners

so any of you all mind sharing your needle settings??? I know no 2 engines are alike even if it's the same model. But it will help me know if i am in the right ballpark. I read the tunnings article that is stickied and it was VERY informative. However it will be raining for a couple days here and won't be able to troubleshoot. My engine totally cuts out at mid to full throtle. I am pretty sure my top end it too lean and the bottom is to rich. My bottom is three quaters in from flush and my top is one and three quaters out. It was running great at the track now the tune is off. I have been making small adjustments and i am pretty close just don't want to get to far off in any one direction. I think my idle gap is 1 mil but i can't figure out a good way to measure it. Might be a bit more or a bit less. Even though all engines are different, letting me here what your settings are would let me know if i am in the right ball park.

tunning is not easy. but i am learning and getting a knack for it.
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:15 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

anybody???? this will be my only thread today. I promise!
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:17 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
JoeyTheRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 1,893
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JoeyTheRocket Send a message via Yahoo to JoeyTheRocket
Default

You have to give guys more than 7mins to respond!
__________________
Joey Kubat ↔ MWNS Staff www.MidwestNitro.com
Mugen Seiki / AKA Racing / Novarossi / PT RC Racing Oils / Advantage Racing Products
JoeyTheRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:18 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

wasnt it just tuned by an OS employee?
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:19 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
JoeyTheRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 1,893
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JoeyTheRocket Send a message via Yahoo to JoeyTheRocket
Default

My top end is within an hour or two from 2 1/4 out.
__________________
Joey Kubat ↔ MWNS Staff www.MidwestNitro.com
Mugen Seiki / AKA Racing / Novarossi / PT RC Racing Oils / Advantage Racing Products
JoeyTheRocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:20 PM   #6
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

V spec's tune differently than Italian engines..they prefer a richer bottom and a leaner top, so Ron's tuning tips dont work as well. I am not in front of my engine so I cant tell you my settings right now. I dont keep track I just tune till its good (or someone tunes it for me) Dont tune in the rain. The moisture in the air will give you totally different settings than on a clear day
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:21 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyTheRocket View Post
You have to give guys more than 7mins to respond!
I know. I am sorry. My biggest shortcomming is patience. Or lack of. But 4 am comes very soon. Just want people to see my tune (vs hear it) and maybe that will help. i really want to learn it myself. I cannot go to the track everytime i need it tuned. It's like 50 miles away.
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:23 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Ephidelt490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 621
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ephidelt490
Default

You need to tune it where you plan on running. Racing on the track is much different than 1/4 mile balls-out runs down the street or doing donuts in a parking lot. There are no "magical" needle settings. I had it setup well for you at the track with it just a little rich on top. You should never have to go far from that.
__________________
[Action Hobbies] [Team Associated] [Futaba] [O'Donnell Fuels] [JConcepts] [DNA Designs]
Ephidelt490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:26 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaxx21 View Post
wasnt it just tuned by an OS employee?
he is not a employee. he is on the race team. He is on this board and he corrected me. I misunderstood. He made a couple turns (one 30 degree lean on the mid range) and a good 3 quater turn on the high end. It helped alot that day on the track. But back home it stalls at mid to top. I am scared of the mid range needle. And when he leaned it out, it helped alot then but i think my high end is too lean now to compensate for it. Just wondering what you guys have your engines set at is all.
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:31 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ephidelt490 View Post
You need to tune it where you plan on running. Racing on the track is much different than 1/4 mile balls-out runs down the street or doing donuts in a parking lot. There are no "magical" needle settings. I had it setup well for you at the track with it just a little rich on top. You should never have to go far from that.
I am not doing donuts or wot in the street. I have some good farm land with hills and gravel/dirt roads my own ramps and everything. I am learning how to tune so i don't have to have people do it for me. You guys make it sound so easy and it is for you. but there are certain things i need to know that i am doing wrong so i don't make it worse. Just curious. I want to know if my top has the symtoms of being to lean and it apears it does so now i know when it acts the way i know to lean out the top whereever it may be. same thing with the low end and idle. My idle is high. But when i lean it in more it cuts out again. so i am thinking my throtle stop is too high and it might be to rich.
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:33 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
jrwoodchuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northampton, Massachusettes
Posts: 1,336
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
Dont tune in the rain. The moisture in the air will give you totally different settings than on a clear day
you'll go richer..
__________________
Doug
TLR 22/M-11

“Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue.”
jrwoodchuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:44 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Ephidelt490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 621
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ephidelt490
Default

Is the air filter clean?
__________________
[Action Hobbies] [Team Associated] [Futaba] [O'Donnell Fuels] [JConcepts] [DNA Designs]
Ephidelt490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:51 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

yes.


tell me if my symtoms sound like loss of compression. You heard how my engine was strugling at times. Well its a bit worse now. I still have compression when i turn the engine with the plug in. But can't really feel anything at all with the plug out. I know that could be normal. I also took the P/S out and pushed it up into the sleeve it seems ok. Stop less then a quater inch from the top. It still has some pinch but that does not mean air isn't flowing by the piston correct???. My break in was ok. but it got sumerged in water then i cleaned it. Then it had a air leak found that after i put it back together. I just hope i don';t need a new P/S. It seems no matter how i tune it this is what happens. Wouldn't that be a sign of a shot P/S??
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:55 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Ephidelt490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 621
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ephidelt490
Default

No, it will idle for days...

Did you put the piston in backwards and break the skirt off?
__________________
[Action Hobbies] [Team Associated] [Futaba] [O'Donnell Fuels] [JConcepts] [DNA Designs]
Ephidelt490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:56 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
elcaminosslover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 721
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ephidelt490 View Post
Is the air filter clean?
elcaminosslover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Go-Tech Engines Thread MassiveMods Offroad Nitro Engine Forum 15106 06-26-2017 04:07 AM
BREAK-IN METHOD: Follow The Instruction Manual or Follow Other Methods? Krawl Nitro Off-Road 31 04-01-2009 03:39 PM
GRP vs VSpec desertbird Nitro Off-Road 49 02-19-2009 05:31 PM
OS Vspec Tuned pipe layedbackguy Electric Off-Road 19 11-22-2006 11:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:35 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net