R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2009, 04:35 PM   #16
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpraydbySprague View Post
Most starter boxes can run up to 14.8 volts, no need to knock down the voltage. My friend runs 14.8 LiPo in his starter box damn thing could turn over a small block Chevy, and it weighs nothing!

I am talking about him plugging his box into his power supply which is plugged into an outlet..not the batteries..as far as I know the motors cant handle the current from an outlet, but if he can regulate his power supply to get the voltage down he would not need any batteries, is this not correct?
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 05:20 PM   #17
Tech Adept
 
ConciliumDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northwest WA
Posts: 130
Default Starter Box

If you buy the Losi box, you'll regret it. It will shit on you trying to start a new engine for break in. I've been down that road. The Ofna truggy box is the Bee's Knees and it will never disappoint you.
__________________
RC8, RC8T, SC8, Go Power, DX3R, custom fabrication and design
ConciliumDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 05:36 PM   #18
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConciliumDesign View Post
If you buy the Losi box, you'll regret it. It will shit on you trying to start a new engine for break in. I've been down that road. The Ofna truggy box is the Bee's Knees and it will never disappoint you.

yep !
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 06:04 PM   #19
Tech Master
 
cary's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,914
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

i had a the same ? all the answers where the same
OFNA TRUGGY BOX AND LIPO so i did and i love it
have chrome top ofna box to so get the losi starter
box battery same plug as the box plug an go
and my rc8 fits grate you will love it
__________________
Xray XB8 14,AE RC8T3,XB9 13,Kyosho wheeler,Losi SCTE 2.0,+ More
> The Animal,Frank L. Jr. <
~~~~RedRock Hobbies~~~~
cary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 06:21 PM   #20
Tech Regular
 
Who8mySandwich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 246
Default

12 volt gel cell will be heavier, so will your pocket.
Who8mySandwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 06:48 PM   #21
Tech Regular
 
Rocket XUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have the same box Only the DURATRAX brand.http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...LXMPP5&P=SMItsIts a decent box.Just remember its only a 50.00 box.It WILL work for your app.I ran my box off a set of OLD 2400mah batts.Broke in three motors on it never blew it up cause I always heated up my engines to break them in. A tight engine you may have to loosing the glow plug a little.

Sorry for the ramble if ALL you have is 50.00$ and need a box, buy it.If you can afford more buy better one.My duratrax box is 3 years old and still WILL start a new engine.I may even update the batteries soon. Just spray out the motors ever once and awhile.
__________________
I may be dyslexic but it makes perfect sense to me.
Rocket XUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 06:55 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
I am talking about him plugging his box into his power supply which is plugged into an outlet..not the batteries..as far as I know the motors cant handle the current from an outlet, but if he can regulate his power supply to get the voltage down he would not need any batteries, is this not correct?
If he's using an old fashioned AC to DC power supply we all know and love, a starter box can be hooked right up to the power supply. I've hooked up a starter box right to my DuraComm 30amp power supply. Worked great.
__________________
How would I describe my holeshots?

Three words...

Ready... Steady... Confetti!!!! (gonna need a new one of those)
SpraydbySprague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 07:01 PM   #23
Tech Master
 
cary's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,914
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

all and all said a starter box will be the thing you use
the most get the best one you can if it does not work
you cant start your car and that is no fun
__________________
Xray XB8 14,AE RC8T3,XB9 13,Kyosho wheeler,Losi SCTE 2.0,+ More
> The Animal,Frank L. Jr. <
~~~~RedRock Hobbies~~~~
cary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 07:33 PM   #24
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

The losi box works alright. The motors (2x540) are pretty gutless though, so you would be best running it of 2 stick packs, either lipo or nimh.

Has anyone tried the himoto box with the 775 motor?
http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/rc-sta...l?cPath=38_459

The price is right, and it should have enough guff to break in a new .21

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
I am talking about him plugging his box into his power supply which is plugged into an outlet..not the batteries..as far as I know the motors cant handle the current from an outlet, but if he can regulate his power supply to get the voltage down he would not need any batteries, is this not correct?
That's what a power supply does, it turns 110v AC (or 240v AC if you're from down under) from an outlet into 12v DC... or close to it. I don't think any DC appliance would cope with AC power
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 08:17 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,403
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
The losi box works alright. The motors (2x540) are pretty gutless though, so you would be best running it of 2 stick packs, either lipo or nimh.

Has anyone tried the himoto box with the 775 motor?
http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/rc-sta...l?cPath=38_459

The price is right, and it should have enough guff to break in a new .21


That's what a power supply does, it turns 110v AC (or 240v AC if you're from down under) from an outlet into 12v DC... or close to it. I don't think any DC appliance would cope with AC power
This is sort of what I'm looking for. I'm curious if I can plug the box straight into my power supply
__________________
Thank you to the following companies for their support in 2017:

* Futaba * O.S. Engines * RC Racing Communications *
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 08:25 PM   #26
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainHowdyt13 View Post
This is sort of what I'm looking for. I'm curious if I can plug the box straight into my power supply
Yep you sure can. I read the specs of a box stating it needs 7A, so if you are planning on charging at the same time you'll need a decent power supply (for example, mine is 20A so that'd be fine)
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 08:44 PM   #27
Tech Regular
 
freestylinmotox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 364
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

You should like either starter box. Main point is "get a LIPO." wont regret it!! dont get stick packs. You will hate them. You will have to recharge them like crazy. Get a huge LI-PO or a gel cell. Then its just getting a good layout for your starter box which is simple.

good luck
__________________
when in doubt, throttle out! braaap!
freestylinmotox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:21 PM   #28
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 40
Default

so are you going to bring your power supply to pit lane?? and where will you plug it in?? Your going to have to break down and buy batts. 12v works good but need to get a charger or a pair of stick packs. Skimping out now will have you kicking yourself later.
gizzo101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:52 AM   #29
Tech Master
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,403
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizzo101 View Post
so are you going to bring your power supply to pit lane?? and where will you plug it in?? Your going to have to break down and buy batts. 12v works good but need to get a charger or a pair of stick packs. Skimping out now will have you kicking yourself later.
Very good point.

I just need to get up and running for this weekend, just to get used to the car. I will get a lipo for the box next paycheck, but I just need to make things work for this weekend just to play around at the track.
__________________
Thank you to the following companies for their support in 2017:

* Futaba * O.S. Engines * RC Racing Communications *
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 08:20 AM   #30
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I agree with the other guys, get the ofna box! Losi box is a POS, ofna box is awesome! It is well worth the extra $$ because it will actually start a tight engine, and do so without burning up 3 setf of motors. It has probably twice the power of the losi box. Wouldn't buy nything else myself. I use ofna boxes for both my buggy and truggy, and not one single issue so far.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:42 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net