R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 04-16-2009, 12:27 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice

Default Nitro engine life

Hello,

I'm a fun driver and I don't care about a little more speed. I allways drive a little to rich, so that my engine is not overheating.

I drive every weekend about 10tanks of fuel. I can drive 5minutes on one tank.

So, 10tanks x 150cc/tank= 1,5l every weekend = 6l/month.

I nitro engine has an average life of 25l. So, this means that I have to buy every 4months a new engine!

Is this normal? Because this is very $$$. A new cheap engine is about $150.

Greetings

Niels
NielsVV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 12:36 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic

engine especially if not put through stress of racing can last much longer. yes maybe after 25l you will need to replace bearings, conrod etc but it can serv you much longer without need of buying new engine.
Sakura Zero S - LRP Quantum, Saturn 20T
KoPropo Eurus
wallot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 12:38 PM   #3
Tech Lord

R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)

Contrary to popular belief a perfectly tuned engine will last longer than a rich engine. It really has nothing to do with rich, or lean. It has to do with the sweet spot. You just want to make sure of 4 things always:

It sounds right
It performs right
It always has a good trail of smoke out of the Pipe
you dont run it, too hot, nor too cold.

here are some tips for greatly increasing your engines lifespan:

Always preheat your engine before you start it.

Make sure you keep dirt out! Clean or replace air filter every Hour or so of running. Dirt will kill any engine quickly.

Turn the piston to the bottom after you run it so it cools correctly.

Make sure you break it in properly.

Run quality fuel that has 9-12% oil in it.

Use afterrun oil! or a fuel that has it already in it.

Keep your buggy, and engine clean.