R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2009, 12:10 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
dishsoap's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,457
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Tire Set Up Questions AKA to Proline

So I going to switch fom AKA to Proline. From some advice the AKA tires foams are too stiff making my buggy to bouncy.

I am going to try the Proline Bow Ties.

Question

Should I run the V3 (wider tires) on the back and front or just the backs.

Does the V3 fit the same wheel or is it a special wheel. I am a fan of the kyosho wheels and would like to stay with them will the v3 fit these rims?

What compound is the best? I am thinking the M3 super soft?

Thanks everyone
__________________
HobbyTown USA Tucson!!! HobbyTown USA SRS!!!!
dishsoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 12:15 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,696
Default

Don't run v3. If you race a ROAR race they are illegal.
M3 are great for racing. For practice I would run m2.
If you do want to run V3 run them in the back. That's what they were made for.
V3 tires fit V3 rims only. Can't use kyosho rims.
__________________
-TKO Competition Development-Sidewinder Fuel-
Alan D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 12:23 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Allumina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 939
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Allumina
Default

Am I dislexic or are you really switching from AKA to Proline?




__________________
[COLOR="Red"]Kyosho[/COLOR] - MP9 & ST-RR
A[COLOR="red"]K[/COLOR]A - Tires and Wheels[COLOR="DarkOrchid"]Novarossi Racing Engines[/COLOR] - 21-4 Plus & Toro Nero
Houstons Engine Service - [email]houstonsengineservice@live.com[/email]
Allumina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 12:28 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
omarwashington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kenmore, WA
Posts: 1,088
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

you do know that you can get different inserts for your tires right?
__________________
RCCARS!
omarwashington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 12:57 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

keep the AKA's and soften up the suspension on your buggy
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 02:30 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Jube's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,397
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaxx21 View Post
keep the AKA's and soften up the suspension on your buggy
What he said ^^^^^ = DIALED
__________________
Jubal Dike
X-Factory www.xfactoryrc.com | Tekin www.teamtekin.com | Panther Tires www.panthertires.com | DE Racing www.deracing.net | Avid www.avidrc.com | Coyote Hobbies www.coyotehobbies.com | 411 Graphics
Jube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 02:33 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
xDaRReLLx87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaxx21 View Post
keep the AKA's and soften up the suspension on your buggy
If you want less traction in the rear, put a slightly worn set of AKA's in your rear. I'm not sure why you'd go back to proline
__________________
Hyper 9E 2000KV T8/RX8- 4S Turnigy 4500 mah
Ko ProPo EX-1 UR 2.4 ghz, Hitec-7950TH
xDaRReLLx87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 02:46 PM   #8
BH
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 246
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Another option would be to cut the used AKA foams out of a set of old tires and mount the used foams in a new set. The foams will be slightly softer.

I've got foams that have been in atleast 5 sets of tires.
BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 04:34 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
scwrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,421
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

No offense... I have to ask.
Do you have air holes in the tires or wheels? AKA's Rock
__________________
hbracing.com tritonrc.com raceaka.com
scwrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 04:45 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Bigedmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,837
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

If you liked the City Blocks, you will love the Calibers. 3 rounds of qualifying, and 1 main and they are still work great.
Bigedmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 04:59 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
xDaRReLLx87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BH View Post
Another option would be to cut the used AKA foams out of a set of old tires and mount the used foams in a new set. The foams will be slightly softer.

I've got foams that have been in atleast 5 sets of tires.
True, AKA's are essentially the best tire manufacturer out there, I do wish they would make 2wd tires as well not just 1/8 scale
__________________
Hyper 9E 2000KV T8/RX8- 4S Turnigy 4500 mah
Ko ProPo EX-1 UR 2.4 ghz, Hitec-7950TH
xDaRReLLx87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 05:18 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
dishsoap's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,457
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scwrod View Post
No offense... I have to ask.
Do you have air holes in the tires or wheels? AKA's Rock
No I dont have air holes. Will this soften them up? The problem I am having is dont have enough grip. Going into turns and hitting bumps the whole back end bounces around. I am running green springs Losi 8 B in back with a very soft suspension set up.

If I should put air holes how do you do it and how many? It just seems that the cityblocks that I am running are very hard. It feels like there is a tube inside and they are extremley firm.
__________________
HobbyTown USA Tucson!!! HobbyTown USA SRS!!!!
dishsoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 05:19 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
dishsoap's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,457
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allumina View Post
Am I dislexic or are you really switching from AKA to Proline?




Dont get me wrong. I love the feel, the way they mount and the quality is 2nd to none. They just seem to firm for the track I run.
__________________
HobbyTown USA Tucson!!! HobbyTown USA SRS!!!!
dishsoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 05:31 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Jube's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,397
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

U def need air holes. Thats your problem.
__________________
Jubal Dike
X-Factory www.xfactoryrc.com | Tekin www.teamtekin.com | Panther Tires www.panthertires.com | DE Racing www.deracing.net | Avid www.avidrc.com | Coyote Hobbies www.coyotehobbies.com | 411 Graphics
Jube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2009, 05:45 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
dishsoap's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,457
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jube View Post
U def need air holes. Thats your problem.
Yeh just did some research. I guess I missed the whole you absoloutley have to have holes cause your the only one that dosent.

Question. Gonna put two holes in each tire 180 degrees apart. They are already mounted. Should I just use a drill with a small drill bit or should I just punture them with a phillips screw driver.

How big should the hole be?
__________________
HobbyTown USA Tucson!!! HobbyTown USA SRS!!!!
dishsoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:39 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net