Search

1/8 buggies help

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2011, 09:30 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)
Default 1/8 buggies help

Hi,

I am just getting into the 1/8 scale, currently running 1/10 scale. I need some input on some 1/8 buggies.

Since i am starting out, i do not need the latest and greatest models, just something competitive, not because i dont have the money, but i need something more to learn on and practice on.

I was referred to someone locally who is looking to downsize.

He offered to sell me a, Mugen mbx5, OFNA LX1, and two sportswerks mayhems.

I know these are older buggies, but i figure they would do for a season or two.

Just wanting some input on what would be the best choice, the mbx5, the lx1or the mayhem.

Thanks.
Old 09-12-2011, 09:38 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 88 (99%+)

The Mugen would be my pick, the rest are garbage and discontinued. On the other hand used stuff is always a gamble and for a first timer I would rather see you buy a losi 2.0 rtr and have a fresh start so your learning experience is enjoyable and not spent fixing someone elses headache.

This is a great start IMO and comes with the essentials EVEN a radio!!

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ed-Starter-Box
Old 09-12-2011, 09:45 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)

These ain't bad for the price. Hyper 7 still does great or hyper 8 if looking new and rtr. You will replace servos either way, even with the losi... But the losi is the best outta all the rtr's

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-4WD-RTR-Buggy

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-Radio-Mach-28

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...t-w-Macstar-28

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-4WD-RTR-Buggy
Old 09-12-2011, 09:52 AM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Fieldmarshal
Hi,

I am just getting into the 1/8 scale, currently running 1/10 scale. I need some input on some 1/8 buggies.