R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-26-2009, 06:04 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default How do you know if your starter box motors are dead?

Well I have my losi starter box and it has no power like it did over the weekend. At first I though one of the motors was fried so I took the belt off and pressed the box down and both motors spin. My batteries are charged. Is there anything else that could be taking away from the power?
rgrassey@me.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 06:18 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Could be several things. A bad connection on a switch, on the battery, or motor. Could even be a bad connection between the crimp on connectors and the wire. Bad battery. What type of battery are you using? What are you charging it with? Does your box have a power pannel?

Most problems are caused by the starter wheel rubbing the chassis. Make sure the allignment pegs havent shifted. Another thing to consider is that if the engine is close to dry inside or has thick oil in it, it will be harder to turn over. Add some light oil like, Marvel Mystery oil, or fuel to the engine and it'll turn over much easier once it starts to circulate.
John Schafer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 06:53 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

It's not that it wont start it because it does, but just barely. It took me like 10 minutes, it just doesnt have the same power it does the last time I used it(Sunday). What could have gone wrong and how can I change it? How would I see if the switch or connection to the motor is bad? Also I have 2 other batteries I could try but one is a 4600 mah and the other is a 3300 mah, can I use them together?
rgrassey@me.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 07:12 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Do you have a temp gun?

You could put the car on the box and turn it over for say 10 seconds then open the box quick and look for hot spots in the wiring/connections/switches.

Yes you can use the other packs together. You just can't charge them together. And i wouldn't use them that way for long, but it may show you if one of your other packs are weak.

What type of box are we talking about???

Have a look inside the motors. Try to see the commutators. they should be copper colored and probably have brown stripes. If the copper looks red, or black, then you may have a motor issue.
John Schafer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 07:28 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

wgat are the commutators?
rgrassey@me.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 07:41 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgrassey@me.com View Post
wgat are the commutators?
The communtator, or comm, is a circular copper thing that the brushes are on to conduct power (in VERY short). Put a blast of motor spray in there and see if that helps. See if the comm is black or has a concaved mark. (These starter box motors arent rebuildable right?)
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 07:42 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The comutator is the copper conductor that the brushes ride against.

The comutator is on the armature (thing that spins) closest to the endbell (where the wires connect). It's a copper ring in 3 segments. Each segment is connected to a section of the windings of the armature.
John Schafer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 12:36 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
OfnaJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bristol Va
Posts: 1,570
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Can you use a 12V. battery on your box? does it have a red and black banana jack to plug into? If so then just jump your car battery to it and see what happens, JUST DON'T HAVE YOUR STICK PACKS IN WHEN DOING THIS!!!
OfnaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need HELP with V-Spec Mo-Bo0st Nitro Off-Road 9 07-12-2008 08:47 AM
Considering some OFNA/CEN Buggies TxCZShooter Electric Off-Road 28 01-17-2007 07:01 AM
What is the best way to break in a new ening? adsl Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 27 02-10-2005 07:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net