R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   TO WRAP OR NOT TO WRAP ????????? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/283603-wrap-not-wrap.html)

RadioCircus 03-19-2009 11:57 PM

TO WRAP OR NOT TO WRAP ?????????

I am guessing this question has been brought up before i am wondering if there is power to be gained by wrapping the header on a nitro engine im new to rc but have built countless open modified kart engines with good success in karts it pulls heat out of the head and pushes it through the exhuast creating more exhuast pressure faster exhaust speed lower engie temps and usually a better low end power band we were running 4 stroke engines not sure if the same principles apply with a 2 stroke any ideas:D

gotspeed_2000 03-20-2009 01:24 AM

It really depends on what material you are using to wrap the header. By wrapping an exhaust header with a heat isulator type wrap, I thought you isolate the heat in the exhaust from the rest of the motor. The result is a lower engine temp in the head area due to a lower surrounding temp. I'm pretty sure that the wrap itself does not draw much heat by itself from the motor or the block, but it's main benefit is to keep the heat from the exhaust in the pipe with minimal impact to the rest of the motor. If you have some sort of material that increases heat dissipation or surface area, then it could have a side affect that could draw some heat away from the motor. But that impact would be minimal as would the exhaust wrap.
Air circulation and aftermarket heads available are able to control heat within reason and allow a good amount of power while running in hot conditions.

RadioCircus 03-20-2009 02:13 AM