R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2009, 07:32 AM   #16
Tech Regular
 
mikenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I would save your money and start thinking of your next motor or get another s7. I have no desire to change mine at all. I did have a buddy that striped his plug hole out, but he bought a c6 instead of investing in the head. I don't tune well enough to realize the gain of turbo head.
__________________
www.answer-rcusa.com
Contact me for details.....
When you sling mud, you only loose ground. - Fat Albert
mikenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:53 PM   #17
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: cincinnati ohio
Posts: 880
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default Turbo

The turbo heads seal better than standard. The chamber also has a better shape and these 2 things give you better performance. When you get better performance you don't have to give it as much throttle to get up to the same speed so you get better run time. They are however a little harder to tune on the needles.
latemodel13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 06:31 AM   #18
Tech Fanatic
 
TXRC8racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for all the info!!

Believe it or not I bid on a brand new Turbo head button on Ebay and really did not think I would win it and got it for 20$. Now that im not going to run a tubo head because of the cost I think I will just sell to get my money back or i will put it back on ebay.
__________________
Lance Plant
Sponsors: Team Associated~Reedy~LRP~Pro Line~Avid RC~Airtronics~Werks Racing
TXRC8racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 06:35 AM   #19
Tech Fanatic
 
TXRC8racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

***UPDATE***

Just want to let some of you know that posted to this thread. I tore down my RB S7 to replace the bearings with TKO ceramic bearings since the front one was leaking. Well when I pulled the cooling head off and removed the head button they were in 2 pieces not one piece like someone stated. And the turbo head button that I had got off of ebay matched and looked like the standard head button, it fit inside the cooling head and it fit just fine on the engine block and sleave, and bolted up fine. So I did pull the glow plug out of the new turbo head button just to make sure it was a turbo head and it was, but I can not tell a big diffrence in the looks between the two head buttons on the combustion side. I have some pics i will post later....
__________________
Lance Plant
Sponsors: Team Associated~Reedy~LRP~Pro Line~Avid RC~Airtronics~Werks Racing
TXRC8racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 09:50 AM   #20
Tech Fanatic
 
TXRC8racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite, TX
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

If anyone wants to know that is it worth doing ceramic bearings and going to a turbo head button, i believe this motor can hang with any OS speed's this motor now has crazy power and I really noticed the temps go way down with the ceramic bearings, I could not get over 180 but it was a little rich on both ends but I know have it screaming to and bottom and temps at 215!!!!!
__________________
Lance Plant
Sponsors: Team Associated~Reedy~LRP~Pro Line~Avid RC~Airtronics~Werks Racing
TXRC8racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 02:09 AM   #21
Tech Adept
 
nitro mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 129
Default

hi i have a hyper 12 8 port the button is with the head i want to know if it is a turbo head or a standard head please help i have been running std plugs in it so i need to know if it is a turbo head
nitro mad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 02:16 AM   #22
Tech Addict
 
keavze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitro mad View Post
hi i have a hyper 12 8 port the button is with the head i want to know if it is a turbo head or a standard head please help i have been running std plugs in it so i need to know if it is a turbo head
look at yr button head from the top, std head is flat and turbo head is tapered.
else just bring it to yr lhs for them to check for you.
__________________
>>> the "SNAKE" doesn't bite; it STINGS! <<<
keavze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 02:25 AM   #23
Tech Adept
 
nitro mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 129
Default

i meant to say hyper 21 8 port
nitro mad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 02:48 AM   #24
Tech Master
 
OfnaJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bristol Va
Posts: 1,570
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

If you are running standard plugs then it's not a turbo head cause standard plugs will not fit a turbo head(unless you really screw it up)

I put a turbo head on my WS7II and love it, more power and a little more run time!!
OfnaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 05:47 AM   #25
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

Turbo heads are the best - get them on what ever eninge you get- always have to change standard plugs, and turbo are easier to tune
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:18 AM   #26
Tech Master
 
8&stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In.
Posts: 1,401
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

like token said reg plugs are a pain. turbos are a little more difficult to tune but will have better power&runtime. i have got to the 2+gallon mark sometimes with turbo plugs and changed just because 2 gallons is a lot. with regular plugs only few times could get to a gallon
__________________
Mark Buecker
8&stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:16 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net