R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2009, 09:21 AM   #16
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgeezer View Post
So, if I understand correctly, the new Ace servos now come with the upgraded cases? I'm getting one shortly and want to be sure I don't need to purchase the upgraded case as well?

unless the servo is really old stock then it should come with one....but for the price and peace of mind...get a gear set and a top case to be sure...they aren't very expensive.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 09:44 AM   #17
Tech Addict
 
layedbackguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: dc,md,va,nc,oh
Posts: 514
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to layedbackguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JB 28 View Post
Hi, I need to ask a question for the more experenced.I have a couple of ace 1015 servos and one (throttle) keeps twitching.Ive had it for a while.I thought It might be the bind i did for my new car because I dont think it was doing it on the old car.
I put it in another car and its still twitching with a different reciever.I tried binding it 5-6 times and it wont stop It even does it plugging it into the steering port.The wireing looks ok and the bottom of the circuit board looks good.
Has anyone experenced this and no how to fix it of is the servo all over?
I have the same problem with with my servo (1015) I checked the wires, changed the regulator, switch..even took the lipo out and changed to a hump and the same thing. But a different servo (hitec) and the problem was solved..so 2 hrs of trouble shooting and nothing.. I have it boxed up send in, but havent had the chance. Mine was brand new and i only did 3 laps with it before it keep going into fail safe mode for some odd reason
layedbackguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 10:02 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Some where
Posts: 3,015
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by layedbackguy View Post
I have the same problem with with my servo (1015) I checked the wires, changed the regulator, switch..even took the lipo out and changed to a hump and the same thing. But a different servo (hitec) and the problem was solved..so 2 hrs of trouble shooting and nothing.. I have it boxed up send in, but havent had the chance. Mine was brand new and i only did 3 laps with it before it keep going into fail safe mode for some odd reason
it is man made it's possible you got a faulty one....
__________________
T5M 7.5
22 3.0 7.5
SickWitiTRacing(Jayson)
NitroLuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 10:06 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,854
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

It is either the plastic case or the gears. You can buy both at Amain and problem solved. Mine had the twitching bad, but when I replaced both items above for a whopping $20 bucks, it solved it.
__________________
Cars I've Owned: Tekno EB48 & SCT410, AE 8.2e, AE SC10 4x4, MBX6e Tekno V4, Xray 808e, Xray 8Te, Losi 810e, Losi SCTE 4x4, Losi 22, Hot Bodies Ve8, Losi 8te, and plenty of Traxxas

Sponsors: Visa, Mastercard, Amex, and my wife's bank account.
Edumakated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 10:32 AM   #20
Tech Apprentice
 
Gumball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: El Monte, CA
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JB 28 View Post
All gears look good.and horn turns smoothly.Its not a constant twitch.When i was setting it up on the new car apart from the twitching it forgot its preset settings a couple of times.but in the old car it apears to just twitch where its the only servo that does even after swapping some around.I dont think its the radio because its spektrum.

Does the servo have a memory circuit in it or is that all radio?
i'VE known people having twitching problems with their Spectrum Tx/Rx. That's why I use Futaba. I used to have Spectrum but just not good for me.

I've had ACE Servo 1313 for Throttle and AE 1015 on my steering. And have been doing almost for a whole season now with no problem. the 1313 is even almost 2 seasons now together with my Hitec TG. Then my Hitec TG fried it's motor sent it to Hitec for repairs, and had to buy replacement for my Steering so bought AE 1015... and it had never fail me yet! so far. knock on wood!!! hehe! I have have my Hitec TG back from Repair. kept it for reserve. hehe!
__________________
I Drive.... (or try to drive LOL!)
KYOSHO INFERNO ST-RR w/ BCE K7-RR | EB-Mods EXTECH .24 | TRINITY BIG BOY PIPE | J Concept FUTABA | ACE SERVOs | AKA | BYRON's GEN 2 30% | RB S7 (back up) | Intellect LiPo | KHZ
and
KYOSHO INFERNO GT (GymKhana RC - Project)
Gumball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 11:58 AM   #21
Tech Addict
 
layedbackguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: dc,md,va,nc,oh
Posts: 514
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to layedbackguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroLuver View Post
it is man made it's possible you got a faulty one....
Im sure i got a bad one, but my 1313 does the same thing, but not as bad. Im not knocking the servo because i haven't had enough time on them, but once i get them back from service, i think im going to sell them. My buddy has had very good luck with his..so i do think i got a 2 bad ones out the batch.
layedbackguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 12:55 PM   #22
Tech Addict
 
rcgeezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 688
Default

I've had excellent service from my 1015 for steering, that's why I'm going to pick up a 1313 for throttle/brake. Anyone have any clearance issues between the servo horn and linkage setups relative to the top of the case on the 1313? Just checking since the older Hitec I'm replacing almost rubs.
__________________
**Team Terribles Northern CA Regional Rep.**
Cold Fusion R/C Products Team Driver
Answer-RC USA / Team Sweep Racing USA
Team RcRenew...visit us at rcrenew.com!
Triton RC Alpha Plus Engines
rcgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 05:58 PM   #23
Tech Fanatic
 
BIG RE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Redding CA
Posts: 858
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Hey geezer, I don't have issues in my ST-RR, but I did in my D8, and my buddy had issues with the throttle in the Jammin rigs. See you tomorrow!
BIG RE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 07:00 PM   #24
Tech Initiate
 
AngLeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Niagara Falls
Posts: 23
Default

The speck. does twitch for me two with ace....but only at close range,like when starting,tuning...if i back away 5 ft....or on the track...works perfect and my 1015 is 2 yrs old and shows no sign of wear and strong.I still think there the best servo made.
AngLeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 01:28 AM   #25
Tech Master
 
malcnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: DUNEDIN, NewZealand
Posts: 1,299
Default

Have had 2x 1015s and both gave up with the top plastic covers and 1x lasted 1.5 yrs and other last about 3x months and were fine once the new upgraded covers were put on...did have 1x strip one of the brass gears and was weird as never stripped the plastic gear but they are cheap gear sets so not a major issue...have been using a 1313 for throttle for over 2x yrs and it has been sweet. I would use them again but just make sure they come with the brass in sert in top case. and also use a good fitting servo horn as there spline is a little unusual.
__________________
SCHUMACHER MI5 EVO/TEAM POWERS/SANWA/DX4R PRO.

SERPENT F110/TEAMPOWERS 21.5.

LOSI 22 2.0/TEAM POWERS 8.5
malcnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 08:38 AM   #26
Tech Addict
 
rcgeezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 688
Default

Which servo horn do you use on the 1313 for best results?
__________________
**Team Terribles Northern CA Regional Rep.**
Cold Fusion R/C Products Team Driver
Answer-RC USA / Team Sweep Racing USA
Team RcRenew...visit us at rcrenew.com!
Triton RC Alpha Plus Engines
rcgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 10:54 AM   #27
Tech Master
 
scwrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,421
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Futaba horns
__________________
hbracing.com tritonrc.com raceaka.com
scwrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2009, 11:21 AM   #28
Tech Fanatic
 
BIG RE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Redding CA
Posts: 858
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I am using the aluminum Dynamite horns
BIG RE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 01:14 AM   #29
Tech Master
 
malcnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: DUNEDIN, NewZealand
Posts: 1,299
Default

futaba are a little sloppy fit so try and use the one that comes with the servo as its good quality..if you use a futaba use a plastic bag on the spline as it helps it to fit a little tighter.
__________________
SCHUMACHER MI5 EVO/TEAM POWERS/SANWA/DX4R PRO.

SERPENT F110/TEAMPOWERS 21.5.

LOSI 22 2.0/TEAM POWERS 8.5
malcnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 06:51 AM   #30
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Plastic horns are weak to say the least....they WILL break at the most opportune time and WILL take you out of a race.....be smart and run an alum horn and to be double smart beef it up with a small strip of CF....ive seen my fair share of tweeked, bent, broken and mangled servo horns over the years.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New XRAY 808 Philipm Nitro Off-Road 12372 12-08-2015 06:43 AM
Losi Truggy rcfreak24 Nitro Off-Road 1884 12-27-2009 12:53 PM
Top rated steering servo for 1/8 truggy xxxtcr Nitro Off-Road 33 07-12-2009 07:51 PM
best steering servo for my rc8? CaptainHowdyt13 Nitro Off-Road 19 02-08-2009 08:43 PM
What Throttle SERVO Are You Running robbdny Nitro Off-Road 30 11-17-2008 10:17 PM
Recommended steering servo? BradT041 Monster Trucks 29 03-27-2007 11:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:19 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net