R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2009, 10:19 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 50
Default XXX-NT help

Hi guys, I bought a motor for my XXX-NT, a mach 15, the problem is that it has the rotary carb instead of the slide carb, can someone please post a picture or tell me how to get this to work? Thanks again all, you guys always come through!
armymedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:00 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 50
Default

Please?
armymedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:04 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

if you got it new and its supposed to come with a slide carb call horizion, they will take care of you but if your talking about THIS ENGINE then it only comes with a rotart carb so it should be just tune
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:09 PM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 50
Default

Yes, thats the same motor, I just dont know how to set up the linkage on my XXX-NT, the motor I had at first was a slide, now I have that motor and dont know how to set the linkage
armymedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:15 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
looper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to looper
Default

heres a pic showing my gt2 the layout is pretty much the same for the xxnt

__________________
Looped Designs Paintwerks
http://ldpaint.webs.com/ Email: Looped.designs@gmail.com
looper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:18 PM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 50
Default

Thanks man, so the linkage that attaches to the carb is held on by a ball joint right?
armymedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:22 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
looper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to looper
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by armymedic View Post
Thanks man, so the linkage that attaches to the carb is held on by a ball joint right?

correct.

here is a shot from another angle showing the mount on a ftgt. servo placement is the same as yours

__________________
Looped Designs Paintwerks
http://ldpaint.webs.com/ Email: Looped.designs@gmail.com
looper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:28 PM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 50
Default

Ok, man thanks you so much, all I am missing is the little ball that the linkage snaps onto. How much are those? And do you know what they are called?
armymedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:35 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
looper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to looper
Default

according to page 2 of this

http://www.horizonhobby.com/ProdInfo..._Pricelist.pdf

losi part number a9410

it is a complete linkage set for throttle and brake and on page 3 shows the suggested price to be 11.00
__________________
Looped Designs Paintwerks
http://ldpaint.webs.com/ Email: Looped.designs@gmail.com
looper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:39 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
looper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to looper
Default

here is a direct link to the part on horizon hobby, you can order it from them

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...rodID=LOSA9410
__________________
Looped Designs Paintwerks
http://ldpaint.webs.com/ Email: Looped.designs@gmail.com
looper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:41 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
looper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to looper
Default

hmm after looking closer i see it doesnt include the actual ball
looking further
__________________
Looped Designs Paintwerks
http://ldpaint.webs.com/ Email: Looped.designs@gmail.com
looper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:47 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
looper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to looper
Default

you can use this part on your losi although the brake linkage rod you already have on there might work better as for the carb side this will work for you.

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...ProdID=ASC7975

its 2 bucks cheaper and comes with the ball as well

you can search your preferred online stores for that part number, if they stock associated they should have it.
__________________
Looped Designs Paintwerks
http://ldpaint.webs.com/ Email: Looped.designs@gmail.com
looper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:54 PM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Myers FL.
Posts: 69
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

You can make a z bend on the linkage wire to hook into the carb arm. Just make shure it is formed right so it wont come out and let your truck run off.
This link shows how it is done.
cant post links yet sorry
Just google How to make a z bend
jkaerotech has good instructions with pictures.
luckyhomes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 12:08 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
looper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to looper
Default

here is a pic showing how to do it the zbend way, i tried this for a while but abandoned it for the ease of disconnect the ball end allows



zbend pliers (they put the zbend in the wire) can be purchased at a hobby shop that has airplanes as the method is more common with rc planes.
__________________
Looped Designs Paintwerks
http://ldpaint.webs.com/ Email: Looped.designs@gmail.com
looper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 09:09 AM   #15
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 50
Default

Thanks for the help man, Im gonna run to my LHS and see if he has that associated part, if not Iam going to try the Z bend, thanks again man, and I will let you know how it turns out!
armymedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hpi Pro 4 Barry White Electric On-Road 16052 08-08-2017 02:05 PM
RC news in SABAH! jfc_tech Malaysian R/C Racers 5426 01-27-2017 10:21 PM
Losi XXX-S TSR6 Electric On-Road 14329 01-26-2015 07:59 PM
How many (xxx-s owners) NSantana Electric On-Road 6 02-03-2006 06:29 PM
Fact or Fiction: One-Ways and the year 2003 Cracker78 Electric On-Road 57 09-17-2002 08:33 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:28 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net