R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2009, 12:16 AM   #1
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default os vspec

ok, i have an os vspec, long story short

conrod blew after 3/4th of a gallon,os replaced the conrod but not the piston and sleeve that was damaged, SOOOOO

i was able to pick up the speed piston and sleeve for cost and im picking that up friday.

but i wanna know whats the BEST break in procedure. i did the heat cycle, but i think i did it wrong

i do plan on gettin a speed conrod AFTER breakn so this doesnt happen again
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 06:32 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Mr. Twister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hendersonville Tn
Posts: 1,271
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
ok, i have an os vspec, long story short

conrod blew after 3/4th of a gallon,os replaced the conrod but not the piston and sleeve that was damaged, SOOOOO

i was able to pick up the speed piston and sleeve for cost and im picking that up friday.

but i wanna know whats the BEST break in procedure. i did the heat cycle, but i think i did it wrong

i do plan on gettin a speed conrod AFTER breakn so this doesnt happen again
for breakin, get a hudy bench, we use two at a time, well worth the money.
__________________
Brian Carey
615-838-5373
Tennessee Oval Performance
Check us out on Facebook
Mr. Twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 07:07 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: south florida
Posts: 7,704
Trader Rating: 163 (100%+)
Default

you will need to stick with the stock rod, the lubrication points are different between the speed and the stock vspec, you can use the speed piston and sleeve, but need to stick with the stock rod
cjm1126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 07:12 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,411
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ezveedub Send a message via Yahoo to ezveedub
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjm1126 View Post
you will need to stick with the stock rod, the lubrication points are different between the speed and the stock vspec, you can use the speed piston and sleeve, but need to stick with the stock rod
+1, the Speed rod and crank have lubrication points designed together. If you want to use a Speed rod in the VSpec, then use the JX21 or Speed crank also. Piston & sleeve can interchange between all there engines though.
__________________
Kyosho, Mugen Seiki, Maxy's Fuel, KO Propo
O.S., Ninja JX, Novarossi, RMV
ezveedub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 08:24 AM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: walker la
Posts: 8
Default

ive got 8 gallons on my 21 vzb love it
bubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 08:34 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezveedub View Post
+1, the Speed rod and crank have lubrication points designed together. If you want to use a Speed rod in the VSpec, then use the JX21 or Speed crank also. Piston & sleeve can interchange between all there engines though.
Sorry, but this is not the case at all. Speed rod's work just fine with the stock v-spec crank. All the speed rod does is add a second lubrication hole, thus it will get even more lubrication. You can NOT use a speed or JX crank with the stock v-spec rod. But the other way around works just fine.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 08:34 AM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: walker la
Posts: 8
Default

yes
bubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 12:01 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
Sorry, but this is not the case at all. Speed rod's work just fine with the stock v-spec crank. All the speed rod does is add a second lubrication hole, thus it will get even more lubrication. You can NOT use a speed or JX crank with the stock v-spec rod. But the other way around works just fine.
yea i knew that,

but can anyone answer my original question
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 12:07 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
desertbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Here you go, right from OS website:

http://www.os-engines.co.jp/english/...r/carindex.htm

Has everything you need to know about the vspec engine.
desertbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 12:30 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,506
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
yea i knew that,

but can anyone answer my original question
yes here is what me and my friends do to break in the os motors put it in car just as normal like going to take it out and drive it. then use the factory settings to start it up if wont idle lean bottom 1hr at a time to get it to idle sometimes can be a pain but once you get it to idle let it run at idle about 3 tanks then shut it down for a rest. make sure that when it is idling it stays above 180deg. or else you wont be doing the motor any good needs to be at temp if dont get it to temp it will cause the piston to overwear on the sleeve when sleeve gets to temp it expands to make it almost same dia. at top as bottom. anyway i run my vspecs for 10 tanks all on the bench at 180 first 5 and 205 second five after first five tanks i lean the bottom to a tuned idle setting and adjust temp with top needle. all people will tell you different things but this is what i was tought to do and my vspecs have been getting 10 gal. plus on them just have to change bearings also the speed rod will work just fine on reg. vspec it is what i run when my stock vspec goes out i replace with speed rod piston and sleeve put double seal ceramic front bearing in and good for another 10 gallons after2 pistons and sleeves the crank pin is usually shot so have to junk motor but 20 gallons out of 400 dollars total in to the motor and second pisston and sleeve aint bad also if your tuning your motor right should never have to get hte temp above 215 to get the performance run big cooling head and run mine at 190 flying
jewn_beef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 12:45 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
PTP Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I always install the engine fire it up and throw the car down and tune it to get to 200F as quickly as possible. I'll run the rest of the tank out driving back and forth down the street and back 100-150 feet or so at a time using only short bursts of throttle. Before the tank runs empty I shut the engine off and make sure the piston is not at TDC and let it cool. Once its cooled for a few minutes I run another tank like the first. Then I take them to the track and give them a conservative race tune and run them. Usually by the mains I am ready to go full race tune.

Disclaimer: This is how I do it and even though it works for me it may not be the best way. I just dont feel like wasting my time or fuel idling tanks or using a break-in bench. I am known for having limited patience and running up and down the street bores the crap out of me so I am always in a hurry to get things on the track and up to full speed. I have broken in many engines this way and typically get more life from them than I want as something new and better is always coming.
__________________
Paycheck to Paycheck Racing
Jason Miller
PTP Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 01:02 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
doubletap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

losi_racer, try this link it might help, and don't push your engine too much after breaking it in, it take some time to get its racing performance , Take it easy on your throttle finger, power and performance of the mill will pop out naturally as soon as it gets some pinch loosen up.

http://rcspecial.com/news/?p=16205#more-16205
doubletap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 01:41 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

thanks guys, i think i have a good idea now
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 03:00 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
rcgeezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 688
Default

I totally agree with PTP's breakin method, only difference being I run it at variable throttle for 3/4 tanks. Many engine builders and tuners have told me that the purpose of breakin is to take the engine through numerous heat cycles, and since you don't race at idle why run it like that for soo long? Use short bursts and vary the speed throughout the process, and after a couple tanks give it full throttle a couple of times. You don't have to baby it to break it in properly, just don't abuse it! My 2 cents worth...
__________________
**Team Terribles Northern CA Regional Rep.**
Cold Fusion R/C Products Team Driver
Answer-RC USA / Team Sweep Racing USA
Team RcRenew...visit us at rcrenew.com!
Triton RC Alpha Plus Engines
rcgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losi 8ight building and setup JBRacing Nitro Off-Road 8691 06-27-2011 08:43 AM
Your Buggy, Your favorite Brands, Your Set Up dishsoap Nitro Off-Road 34 06-24-2009 08:12 PM
Nova 367 or speed nover367 Nitro Off-Road 18 01-31-2009 07:55 PM
Offroad .12 and .21 Motors..... J_Longbrake R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 10-30-2007 05:42 PM
c6,os speed,go modded Ultraspeed84 Nitro Off-Road 59 08-18-2007 08:04 PM
iRacingWerkz Nitro Fest II @ Turf City(GP Offroad race registration, 20th May 2007) iRacingWerkz Singapore R/C Racers 122 05-28-2007 02:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:10 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net