Wiki Posts
Search

wants a good truggy motor that wont break the bank

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2009, 06:42 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Sorry guys,

It will go into a losi 8ight b race roller.
It is a medium sized track with about a 100ft straight and some large jumps
I am a beginner to racing and nitro in general but know how to tune
I would like good bottom but still have decent top to keep up on the straight
Fuel mileage would be a +
Old 02-20-2009, 06:43 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Here is what i can recommend out of those.

GO Race 3 port. I have had hundreds of call's on brian why aren't you doing GO engines anymore, well i will first start by saying, yes the parts fit and finish and power of these engines are very good, and yes these motor's had tuning issues at first, not many company's will go to the effert to perfect a product like GO has. I would recommend the 5 though over the 3 with a good topend pipe. Depending on when you are looking to buy, sooner than later GO is going to have to release the new TI coated crank to the public in the engine, not as a aftermarket part, the cranks recently where purposly made softer, and this killed the longevity these engines once had, 9 nand 10 gallons was not uncommon for us even on modded GO's

The Dynamite, good little mill, very smooth if you like that, can be tricky on tune sometimes.

JPX, very good motor, stock or modded tunes pretty good and good topend.

GO 7, very nice engine, wicked top, But ^^^

EX Tech, great motor, smooth bottom but more than enough, and very good topend and runtimes, can be touchy on tune.

RB, good, easy reliable tunning, less top than some of the abouve, snappy bottom, very easy to drive hard.

The Nova is my pick, the limited even more so, shorter stroke than the standard NR design, but still with great bottom, and topend that will suprise you, for getting started this is it, the RB would be my second pick.

Good luck
Old 02-20-2009, 06:51 PM