R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2009, 07:00 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Unsober1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 315
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Losi stater box motor died

What motor should I replace it with. I was happy I guess with what was in there stock. I had a 14.4 lipo pushing it.

I tried breaking in my new speed motor, and the piston just kept locking up. And I guess I smoked the motor. I pulled the motor out.

How do you get the pinion off the stock motors ??????

I have some old stock slash motors. They are not up to racing ( its more like bashing with xponders) anymore, but I thing they might be just fine.
Unsober1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 07:07 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Marcus Falconie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,462
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default motors

just call Horizon and they will give you new motors but they will blow with the Lipo. Every one I know that runs the Losi box blows the motors, Alot of people end up with Ofna motors in the box.
__________________
Marcus Falconieri
2011 Xray 808
Torco Racing Fuels
KBRL Nitro Series
www.youtube.com/gsadvanced
Marcus Falconie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 07:11 PM   #3
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Falconie View Post
just call Horizon and they will give you new motors but they will blow with the Lipo. Every one I know that runs the Losi box blows the motors, Alot of people end up with Ofna motors in the box.

Stocker's on lipo will last just fine...as long as your not stalling them or trying to start it backwards or something as such a N00b pitman might do.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 07:48 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Marcus Falconie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,462
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I guess me and every one I know that has the Losi box are noob? You run Lipo and Try to Break in a new Race motor with a losi box with out pre heating your motor or even with pre heating your motor and the stock motors will blow. Even Horizon knows there is a problem thats why they dont ask any questions when you call for new motors.
__________________
Marcus Falconieri
2011 Xray 808
Torco Racing Fuels
KBRL Nitro Series
www.youtube.com/gsadvanced
Marcus Falconie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 08:14 PM   #5
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Falconie View Post
I guess me and every one I know that has the Losi box are noob?


Did i say you were ?...i don't think so...so chill.


i know many of guys who have broken in new Tight race motors with out issues.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 01:36 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
bobbyblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to bobbyblaze
Default

IMO, i would just dump it and get the ofna truggy starter box
__________________
Arrma Nero 6s, Ofna DM-1 Pro
Traxxas Revo 3.3, Traxxas T-Maxx 3.3, Traxxas Jato 3.3
Traxxas Slash Platinum, Traxxas Slash 2WD
Bend The Rules--Rule The Bends
bobbyblaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 01:55 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Lars Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 486
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Lars Johnson
Default

The stock motors in my Losi box lasted over 18 months, and this last year it ran off the Losi 14.4v Lipo pack. I lost count of the number of Dynamite, GRP, and OS engines it broke in, my own motors and numerous other guys' here. Never had to heat up an engine to break in...

You can not push down and hold with this box, and you really shouldnt with any box anyways. Guaranteed to burn up the motors. I just bounce mine off the wheel quickly about 5-10 times, and they fire right up.

If your engine is new and has too much pinch, you should be loosening the plug and let it spin with no pressure. It does no good to put the ignitor on the plug, and press down and hold for 13.5 minutes, and let it just turn over without firing. If the engine doesn't fire right away, something is set incorrectly.
__________________
Team Associated / Reedy / AKA / Futaba / OS Engines / Byrons Fuel / www.steelescycle.com
Lars Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 02:46 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Falconie View Post
I guess me and every one I know that has the Losi box are noob? You run Lipo and Try to Break in a new Race motor with a losi box with out pre heating your motor or even with pre heating your motor and the stock motors will blow. Even Horizon knows there is a problem thats why they dont ask any questions when you call for new motors.
of course Marcus, your the biggest noob i know HAHA jk..... ive went thru 2 sets of motors..... horizion sent me new motors both times with no questions. i asked them why they dont fix the motors and they said there isnt a problem with them but o well... ive been on my 3rd set for a while now but i can tell they dont have as much omph as they used to. im runnin lipo too btw,
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 03:32 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rearviewmirror Send a message via Yahoo to rearviewmirror
Default

Nothing wrong with Losi box, you do need to re-wire it if you're using LIPO though.

Here are the pinions. http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/16166

Here's my overhaul thread.. http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-of...-overhaul.html
__________________
ARCTIC DOG RACING (Nitro free since 2009)

"Straights are for fast cars, curves are for fast drivers...."

8ight-E / 8ight-TE / T4 / Slash
rearviewmirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 07:48 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,774
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

i also know that some guys r pyttin traxxas titan motors in. the 21 trun motors. not sure of the part #.
pballer2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 03:25 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
8&stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In.
Posts: 1,401
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pballer2777 View Post
i also know that some guys r pyttin traxxas titan motors in. the 21 trun motors. not sure of the part #.
titans+re-wire w/lipo=bomb box!
__________________
Mark Buecker
8&stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:01 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net