R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-04-2009, 01:38 PM   #16
Tech Master
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrow1 View Post
It means it will work with the same software, the scoring program that counts laps and times.

Software and hardware are two different things. It won't work with the "LOOP" (the hardware) that you cross at our normal races.

That's the way I would understand it anyway.
You are correct. AMB's signal is picked up by a magnetic loop. The other systems are infared.

The software being compatible is only relevant to a club/track that is looking for a timing system.
Ed Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 01:44 PM   #17
Tech Master
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb View Post
how much are they at rclaps.com? it says online orders have been suspended... orders only through email
teeforb,

do a search for PTX. There is a thread in just about every forum on here. I know Terry has been backed up.... but he was on here today. Great product!! Been using it for about 2 years.
Ed Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 01:47 PM   #18
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

to get cloned, i need to send my original transponder in?
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 01:50 PM   #19
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb View Post
to get cloned, i need to send my original transponder in?
nevermind, i see u must send it in.

can you get a transponder without a clone? for example, get a new number?
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 01:55 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Yes you do. No way around it if you want it cloned! The number means nothing (well it might). He has to put power to it, read the signal, then copy it to your new PTX.

There will be 21 transponders in it. Your PT and 20 other "fixed" numbers. He adds the 21st whether its yours or a random number he has.
Ed Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 01:56 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

MRT is down right now and have been for a while now. They are back ordered up so they shut down their site. That sucks because I need 1 too and refuse to pay $100+ for 1 thats just rediculus.
__________________
TT MT4G3 all tricked
TTST4G3 MT4ed out

JR servos Hitec servos. Gens ace lipos KO radio.
malik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 02:10 PM   #22
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

okay, i have been reading a little more on this, pretty interesting and i never knew about this. so let me see if i got this right.

Custom: it comes with 20 IDs. IDs are basic 1 through 20. these are based off of the old AMB system. If i have two custom PTX, both will have the same 1-20 IDs and are not unique. The 21st ID will be a copy of some random number that is the latest AMB system. Is this correct? if so, how do you tell what ID number you are using?

Clone: your personal cloned ID + the same 1 thorugh 20 ID as the "Custom" PTX.

what's the difference between standard cloned vs custom cloned?

Please clarify!!!
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 02:29 PM   #23
Tech Master
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

It is a little confusing the way it writen.. but you are close.

I don't have the paper in front of me to tell you the numbers, but the first 20 numbers (its not numbers.. but 20 transponders) are not based off the old system20. They are either house TP's or PT's that Terry bought up. They are all 7 digit transponder numbers and will work with any AMBrc, or AMBrc3 system.

When you get it, it comes set to the 21st number... and that is writen on the instructions. The instuctions tell you how to change the number... its REALLY simple!
Ed Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 02:34 PM   #24
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Anderson View Post
It is a little confusing the way it writen.. but you are close.

I don't have the paper in front of me to tell you the numbers, but but the first 20 numbers are not based off the old system20. They are either house TP's or PT's that Terry bought up. They are all 7 digit transponder number and will work with any AMBrc, or AMBrc3 system.

When you get it, it comes set to the 21st number... and that is writen on the instructions. The instuctions tell you how to change the number... its REALLY simple!
okay, if i get 2 PTX. with the 20 numbers be the same or different? and each of the 20 numbers are like my personal 7 digit PT number?

im asking these questions because i am trying to determine if i would need to clone mines or just get what ever number it comes with. i don't really care about cloning. i jus wanna make sure what ever number i have, it don't become habbit that i have to change it because someone have the same number.

when will he be up to par on sending new PTX?
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 02:39 PM   #25
Tech Addict
 
rcgeezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 688
Default

It really is simple...the numbers are on a list and each time you press the setup button it scrolls to the next number. If you forget what # you are on, there's a way to power it up and it will blink to correspond to the number on your list. I've actually never had to change my number, and sorry to say I now have it memorized. If you choose custom cloning they can set the 21st number the same on both PTXs. Hope this helps!
__________________
**Team Terribles Northern CA Regional Rep.**
Cold Fusion R/C Products Team Driver
Answer-RC USA / Team Sweep Racing USA
Team RcRenew...visit us at rcrenew.com!
Triton RC Alpha Plus Engines
rcgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 02:47 PM   #26
Tech Master
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Yes, the first 20 numbers are the same in all of them. They will be the same as I have here (custom and cloned). They are "printed" on the instructions. The 21st number??? Its just like buying a PT... they won't be the same. This number is hand writen on the instuctions.
Ed Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 02:49 PM   #27
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgeezer View Post
It really is simple...the numbers are on a list and each time you press the setup button it scrolls to the next number. If you forget what # you are on, there's a way to power it up and it will blink to correspond to the number on your list. I've actually never had to change my number, and sorry to say I now have it memorized. If you choose custom cloning they can set the 21st number the same on both PTXs. Hope this helps!
do u have cloning or no? so i will be good without cloning, right?
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 02:57 PM   #28
Tech Master
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I have them both. Cloned ones for myself, and custom ones in "rental" cars. I've ordered customs for other people too. Every one had a different 21st number.
Ed Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 03:06 PM   #29
Tech Addict
 
rcgeezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 688
Default

You'd probably be fine without cloning, just set them all to the same number on the list and avoid the cloning fee Mine were not cloned.
__________________
**Team Terribles Northern CA Regional Rep.**
Cold Fusion R/C Products Team Driver
Answer-RC USA / Team Sweep Racing USA
Team RcRenew...visit us at rcrenew.com!
Triton RC Alpha Plus Engines
rcgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 03:08 PM   #30
Tech Champion
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,202
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to teeforb
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Anderson View Post
I have them both. Cloned ones for myself, and custom ones in "rental" cars. I've ordered customs for other people too. Every one had a different 21st number.
i see. so the 1-20 numbers are all the same 7 digit ID. the 21 number is different.

what do you men by "rental" cars? Do you rent RC cars or rent them out?
__________________
$$ Team High Budget $$
17.5 stock buggy fb page
https://www.facebook.com/groups/17.5stockbuggy/
teeforb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMB Transponder for sale Spin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 08-11-2009 08:32 AM
AMB Personal Transponder richclo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-02-2009 09:24 AM
PARTING OUT AD2 RACE PACKAGE OS,AMB,OFNA kwilke R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 24 04-10-2006 10:50 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:32 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net