R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2009, 03:16 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Problems

Ok heres my situation. I took my 8ight truggy out 2 days ago with a jr xr2i radio and jr servo for throttle. Everything had gone smoothly the two days before during break in so I was looking forward to tuning. I started it up and ran it down my driveway a few times and the lst time I ran it down I had a runaway!! Thank go no parts broke which is amazing seeing as it hit a tree at almost full throttle. So I took it in and saw that when I turned my car and truck on the throttle had no response. So I took my jr servo out and sent it back to them and I also put in a spektrum dx 2 radio. I thought this for sure would solve my problem but sure enough I took my truggy out tonight and I had another runaway. The strange thing about this one was that the engine didn't go full throttle it just sort of coasted until it came too a stop in the snow. Again no broken parts!!. Now it is really annoying and scary to think everytime you take your truck out it is going to runaway. I am going to get a failsaf but I would like to know what the cause of this problem is. Does anyoone know?
rgrassey@me.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 03:30 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgrassey@me.com View Post
Ok heres my situation. I took my 8ight truggy out 2 days ago with a jr xr2i radio and jr servo for throttle. Everything had gone smoothly the two days before during break in so I was looking forward to tuning. I started it up and ran it down my driveway a few times and the lst time I ran it down I had a runaway!! Thank go no parts broke which is amazing seeing as it hit a tree at almost full throttle. So I took it in and saw that when I turned my car and truck on the throttle had no response. So I took my jr servo out and sent it back to them and I also put in a spektrum dx 2 radio. I thought this for sure would solve my problem but sure enough I took my truggy out tonight and I had another runaway. The strange thing about this one was that the engine didn't go full throttle it just sort of coasted until it came too a stop in the snow. Again no broken parts!!. Now it is really annoying and scary to think everytime you take your truck out it is going to runaway. I am going to get a failsaf but I would like to know what the cause of this problem is. Does anyoone know?
well if you already have a dx2 installed you don't need a failsafe, it has one built in. you should chech all electronics. Check the switch, all connections, the riciever and all the linkages. Since you have used 2 different radios it is probably not the reciever. I would say you are losing power somewhere. check all your connections, your switch and reciever battery. What kind of reciever battery are you running? If you are losing power you would lose steering and throttle. Are you just losing throttle or both?
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 03:46 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Well on the first run away I lost both, but on the second I really couldnt tell. I am using a pretty beat up battery but I checked the voltage and it was fine. Also how do you access and set the failsafe on the dx2??
rgrassey@me.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 03:54 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgrassey@me.com View Post
Well on the first run away I lost both, but on the second I really couldnt tell. I am using a pretty beat up battery but I checked the voltage and it was fine. Also how do you access and set the failsafe on the dx2??
When you bind the reciever to the radio with the dx2, the failsafe is set however the controls are being held at that time. so if you want to set failsafe to full brake you would hold the brakes on when you bind it. I reccomend setting the failsafe to neutral(not touching anything while binding) so you don't blow out a throttle/brake servo if you forget to turn the car off and have the radio off. I have seen people do that too many times. I always set mine to neutral now. As for the problem I believe you are losing power. It is always a good idea to use throttle return of some sort. You can use a spring or what I use is GMK supply carb O's which are basically rubber bands. you put these around the carb so if you lose power they will pull the carb closed.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 04:01 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Ok I have seen some people put a spring that you wrap around the engine onto the carb do you think that would work? Also wouldn't this put alot of stress on your servo?
rgrassey@me.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 04:08 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
jamiekerr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Uk
Posts: 607
Default

I have failsafe, and double up a thin elastic band.. Works a charm!! for me.. last sunday reciever pack died on me throttle was gone. It just sat there slowly ticking over- and not going WOT at a nearby person!
__________________
Xray XB4
Supported By:
RC Disco
jamiekerr14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 04:10 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Madbrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

My guess would be the battery. Do you have another one you can try out? if not its never a bad thing to have two anyway.
Madbrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 04:33 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Ya I think I will buy one.
rgrassey@me.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 04:44 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Any thoughts on the spring around the card or can I just use a rubber band?
rgrassey@me.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 04:57 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murrieta, California
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Tree
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgrassey@me.com View Post
Any thoughts on the spring around the card or can I just use a rubber band?
I wouldn't use a rubber band. They degrade quickly especially when they are exposed to nitro fuel. I use some silicone bands that I bought from Walmart. They are in the section with all the hair clips and berettes.

This is what I use but the ones I bought from Walmart were clear.

http://cgi.ebay.com/71292-Goody-COLO...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
Team Holy Rollers
HiTec Servos
"N-Tune" Nitro Engine Tuning Dials
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 05:01 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

So I shouldnt use the spring but are those just hair scrunchies?
rgrassey@me.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 05:14 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
vladconnery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 992
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Use the small black rubber bands women use in there hair. A pack of 100 is like 2 bucks. They are petroleum resistant due to that's what goes in women's hair petroleum based products. I change mine every time I service or clean my ride. Who cares if I waste them there like .5 cents a band. I use 2 doubled over around the carb to the throttle pin. I have a thick black zip tie around the base of my slide boot so the rubber bands don't squeeze on the boot.

Oh and not to mention 3-4 around your gas tank works wonders for keeping a good seal on the lid.
__________________
KO PROPO EURUS
Kyosho: TKI3, TKIe Tekin RX8 Gen2
vladconnery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 05:25 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Nixon327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clermont, Fl
Posts: 294
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default It sounds like a switch to me

I had the same problem with my jammin. One second it would be fine, then all of a sudden the truck would take off. I bypassed the switch and I was good. Because even when your battery is getting low on juice it still has enough power to keep the engine at idle. Now when I feel my servos getting sluggish I just bring my truck in and charge the battery. Just my .02
Nixon327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 05:37 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Murrieta, California
Posts: 839
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Tree
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgrassey@me.com View Post
So I shouldnt use the spring but are those just hair scrunchies?
They are like small rubber bands but they are made out of silicone or some other type of stretchy elastic material. They are more resistant to corrosion and degredation than regular rubber bands. I have had mine on my engine all year and I have yet to have one snapp or fail due to the elastic band degrading.

These little elastic band are far better than the rubber bands IMO
__________________
Team Holy Rollers
HiTec Servos
"N-Tune" Nitro Engine Tuning Dials
Tree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 11:45 AM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Ok with my dx2 do I need a module? I just have the radio and receiver but it seems like I only have a 100 ft of response? Does anyone know if the poer loss is the problem here too? I have no control over the throttle or wheels but my truck just sits and idles? What is a module?
rgrassey@me.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Formula 1... Darkseid Chat Lounge 14873 08-17-2017 03:44 AM
Team Tekin New Speedos Drew_Cat Radio and Electronics 1521 10-05-2012 11:35 PM
Spektrum allrc Radio and Electronics 2545 07-17-2012 08:25 AM
New Novak Brusless System danjoy25 Electric On-Road 2688 10-14-2010 08:40 AM
Jammin' X2 Buggy NsideLine Nitro Off-Road 479 09-02-2010 10:36 AM
AMB/Alycat Problems nerdling Australian Racing 20 10-18-2004 12:43 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net