Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Why "blip" the throttle?

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2009, 04:44 PM
Tech Master

Default Why "blip" the throttle?

it only took a few years to notice this. (i'm slow ).. buy why do most of you guys do this? i roll into the throttle and never blip, and is it just something i carried over from electric racing? so is there a benifit to blipping? ?
Old 01-25-2009, 04:49 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)

Clears out the engine, helps prevent flameout...but you will be a much better racer than most, coming from electric..the smoother you are on the trigger, the better you will be..Increased runtimes, better traction, better stearing, etc.

if your engine is perfectly tuned, blipping is not necessary
Tech Addict

Im eager to know to, Im just getting into proper track racing.. 1st meet soon. But apparently Its good to Blip-Not sure why. But one guy said I blip too much, which I can see as I have only practiced at the track a few times..ect.. So I should slowly get smoother on the throttle. But yea im wondering too?
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default throttle

It helps in keeping rpm up exiting a turn or approaching a jump.
Old 01-25-2009, 04:52 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)

Originally Posted by jrwoodchuck
it only took a few years to notice this. (i'm slow ).. buy why do most of you guys do this? i roll into the throttle and never blip, and is it just something i carried over from electric racing? so is there a benifit to blipping? ?
if an engines fresh or new or tunes funny might be necessary. then just out of habit. engine stall after you get to drivers stand sucks. and keep temp up
Old 01-25-2009, 04:54 PM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by Jaz240
Clears out the engine, helps prevent flameout...but you will be a much better racer than most, coming from electric..the smoother you are on the trigger, the better you will be..Increased runtimes, better traction, better stearing, etc.