R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2009, 07:52 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rearviewmirror Send a message via Yahoo to rearviewmirror
Default ***LOSI STARTER BOX OVERHAUL***

I got my Losi starter box last week, from the start I heard what a turd the stock wiring and white plastic connectors are. I had two extra Pro-Tek 2S 15C 4000mAh batteries so I figured they'd go in the box. I was told to expect a meltdown with the stock connectors so I decided to do a little work. What we have here is a new Losi 8ight/T box with Dean's Wet Noodle 12AWG throughout and 2 x Pro-Tek 4000mAh batteries. I think my soldering station has now more than paid for itself. On other tip, with the Losi box to keep the plastic from melting on the plunger contacts, put a couple of washers under the metal taps to help dissipate heat.





__________________
ARCTIC DOG RACING (Nitro free since 2009)

"Straights are for fast cars, curves are for fast drivers...."

8ight-E / 8ight-TE / T4 / Slash

Last edited by rearviewmirror; 01-29-2009 at 08:38 PM.
rearviewmirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 08:41 PM   #2
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

very nice!! how long did it take to do all this?
n_money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:11 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rearviewmirror Send a message via Yahoo to rearviewmirror
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n_money View Post
very nice!! how long did it take to do all this?
About 2 1/2 hours total, I was by no means going fast, and I did a lot of measuring and basically worked it off a drawing I made taking it all apart.

A guy on our local forum recommend getting rid of the plunger switch, well not getting rid of, but eliminating the flow of high current through it and instead having it power a relay which would then fire up the motors. I'm working out how to wire in a relay today.
__________________
ARCTIC DOG RACING (Nitro free since 2009)

"Straights are for fast cars, curves are for fast drivers...."

8ight-E / 8ight-TE / T4 / Slash
rearviewmirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:58 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
schufflerbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: austin/houston TX
Posts: 113
Default

awesome job!

what kind of soldering station did you get?
schufflerbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:18 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rearviewmirror Send a message via Yahoo to rearviewmirror
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schufflerbot View Post
awesome job!

what kind of soldering station did you get?

Hakko 936

It makes soldering tasks easy and enjoyable.
__________________
ARCTIC DOG RACING (Nitro free since 2009)

"Straights are for fast cars, curves are for fast drivers...."

8ight-E / 8ight-TE / T4 / Slash
rearviewmirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:28 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
kevinmajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I did the same thing to my losi box. I soldered all the connections but I am using a 12 volt gel cell. So far my box hasn't let me down.
kevinmajor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:33 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rearviewmirror Send a message via Yahoo to rearviewmirror
Default

I would like to have a discussion on wiring in a relay to the box so current isn't passed through the ON/OFF switch and plunger switch. Rather those would be required to work together to send the signal to the relay which would then handle the high current the motors draw. This would help address some of the weak points in the box, those being the plunger switch and the ON/OFF switch.

Seriously, if anyone has any ideas on a simple way to wire this up please post up.
__________________
ARCTIC DOG RACING (Nitro free since 2009)

"Straights are for fast cars, curves are for fast drivers...."

8ight-E / 8ight-TE / T4 / Slash
rearviewmirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:51 AM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
lethal19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 64
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

If you are looking to put a relay why not look at car stero kits for amps and put in a big fuse to handle the power?
lethal19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:53 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rearviewmirror Send a message via Yahoo to rearviewmirror
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lethal19 View Post
If you are looking to put a relay why not look at car stero kits for amps and put in a big fuse to handle the power?
Yep.. that's an option. Just a regular car starter relay or headlight relay should do the trick as well. Just trying to figure out how to utilize two lipo batteries in series to be wired to the relay then provide the main circuit for the motors.
__________________
ARCTIC DOG RACING (Nitro free since 2009)

"Straights are for fast cars, curves are for fast drivers...."

8ight-E / 8ight-TE / T4 / Slash
rearviewmirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 11:00 AM   #10
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rearviewmirror View Post
I would like to have a discussion on wiring in a relay to the box so current isn't passed through the ON/OFF switch and plunger switch. Rather those would be required to work together to send the signal to the relay which would then handle the high current the motors draw. This would help address some of the weak points in the box, those being the plunger switch and the ON/OFF switch.

Seriously, if anyone has any ideas on a simple way to wire this up please post up.
I don't know about a relay but I did see a box once that had a dead band bush button switch mounted under the plunger switch, so that when the plunger was puched down it would activate the switch. It used the center shaft of the plunger switch to activate the push button switch. When the plunger is pushed down the center shaft protrudes below the plastics, this was used to push the button. It completely eliminates the plunger switch and looks very clean. I'm sure you could find a high capactiy push botton switch that would be suitable.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 11:06 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rearviewmirror Send a message via Yahoo to rearviewmirror
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
I don't know about a relay but I did see a box once that had a dead band bush button switch mounted under the plunger switch, so that when the plunger was puched down it would activate the switch. It used the center shaft of the plunger switch to activate the push button switch. When the plunger is pushed down the center shaft protrudes below the plastics, this was used to push the button. It completely eliminates the plunger switch and looks very clean. I'm sure you could find a high capactiy push botton switch that would be suitable.
Thanks. I'm going to wire in a relay, the plunger switch is a good switch for activating a relay, not so good for passing high current through however.
__________________
ARCTIC DOG RACING (Nitro free since 2009)

"Straights are for fast cars, curves are for fast drivers...."

8ight-E / 8ight-TE / T4 / Slash
rearviewmirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 11:08 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Here I found a link to what i'm talking about. It was an old xtm starter box.

here is the switch
http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/146057.asp

you can kinda see how it is mounted in these
http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/146055.asp

http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/146053.asp
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 11:41 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rearviewmirror Send a message via Yahoo to rearviewmirror
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
Here I found a link to what i'm talking about. It was an old xtm starter box.

here is the switch
http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/146057.asp

you can kinda see how it is mounted in these
http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/146055.asp

http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/146053.asp
That looks pretty good. I might see about fabricating a different switch if needed. Either a better switch a relay I guess. That motor looks good in that starter box, that's how they all should be. Much more torque and you can't burn that kind of motor out.
__________________
ARCTIC DOG RACING (Nitro free since 2009)

"Straights are for fast cars, curves are for fast drivers...."

8ight-E / 8ight-TE / T4 / Slash
rearviewmirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 11:44 AM   #14
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rearviewmirror View Post
That looks pretty good. I might see about fabricating a different switch if needed. Either a better switch a relay I guess. That motor looks good in that starter box, that's how they all should be. Much more torque and you can't burn that kind of motor out.
Yep just like the good ol' ofna chrome top. But what i really like is the ofna truggy start box with 2 big 775 motors in it. I have always thought about modding my losi box with truggy start internals but never have.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 11:53 AM   #15
Tech Master
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rearviewmirror Send a message via Yahoo to rearviewmirror
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
Yep just like the good ol' ofna chrome top. But what i really like is the ofna truggy start box with 2 big 775 motors in it. I have always thought about modding my losi box with truggy start internals but never have.
This box looks like it would be bad ass for the price w/ a big 14.8 lipo right next to that motor. I need a starter box for my MBX6, I might consider one of these. Are they any good?

__________________
ARCTIC DOG RACING (Nitro free since 2009)

"Straights are for fast cars, curves are for fast drivers...."

8ight-E / 8ight-TE / T4 / Slash
rearviewmirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pics of modded starter boxes pballer2777 Nitro Off-Road 36 05-20-2009 04:25 PM
Losi 8ight buggy starter box srt4s Nitro Off-Road 6 02-16-2009 12:42 PM
Starter boxes rgrassey@me.com Nitro Off-Road 28 02-12-2009 02:34 PM
Losi stater box motor died Unsober1 Nitro Off-Road 10 02-07-2009 03:25 PM
Getting Out Sale: Full Race Setup draggindrew R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 10-06-2007 06:23 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:59 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net