R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2009, 10:12 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,963
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AlanHall Send a message via Yahoo to AlanHall
Default anyone know where to get metal gears for AE xp servos?

i see that amain has replacement gear sets for ace and AE for someone the AE are alot more $$ . but i wanted to replace the one plastic gear. wondering the chance of another manufacture metal gear maybe working ???
__________________
Alan Hall
AlanHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:19 PM   #2
TIX
Tech Master
 
TIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 1,943
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

i thought the same thing when i pulled mine apart last time. But then i pulled down all the metal gear servos, and everyone elses have 1 plastic gear in them aswell. so im sure its for a reason
__________________
Alan Nankervis.

TIX Race Designs. Plaig Bearings. Thunder Innovations
TIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:22 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
modhobby's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 874
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigAlz View Post
i see that amain has replacement gear sets for ace and AE for someone the AE are alot more $$ . but i wanted to replace the one plastic gear. wondering the chance of another manufacture metal gear maybe working ???
I pulled one of my shelves for my own purposes for one of the metal gears, the tooth had broken on a 1313. If you want I can send you the plastic gear out of the kit for free. I can just drop in the a letter and send it regular mail or something. Just email me your info if you want it.
__________________
REDS Racing USA
modhobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:23 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
modhobby's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 874
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by modhobby View Post
I pulled one of my shelves for my own purposes for one of the metal gears, the tooth had broken on a 1313. If you want I can send you the plastic gear out of the kit for free. I can just drop in the a letter and send it regular mail or something. Just email me your info if you want it.
Oh, I just re-read your post again...were trying to replace the plastic one for metal?
__________________
REDS Racing USA
modhobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:47 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,963
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AlanHall Send a message via Yahoo to AlanHall
Default

yeah im tryin to replace the one plastic gear. its a sacraficial gear so it goes before anything else. but ive already broken one and had to change things in the front of my truck that i dont like. i have run a hitec 5955 with my set up with no issues.. and a airtronic 358 with metal gear conversion on it. im wondering if somthing like the metal gear for the airtronics would work in the 1015 is what im tryin to figure out. the rc8t i hear is hard on servos anyway, because we cank the servo saver down hard.. then i also run a long servo horn wich gives it a decent amount more throw on the wheels
__________________
Alan Hall
AlanHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:52 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
modhobby's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 874
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigAlz View Post
yeah im tryin to replace the one plastic gear. its a sacraficial gear so it goes before anything else. but ive already broken one and had to change things in the front of my truck that i dont like. i have run a hitec 5955 with my set up with no issues.. and a airtronic 358 with metal gear conversion on it. im wondering if somthing like the metal gear for the airtronics would work in the 1015 is what im tryin to figure out. the rc8t i hear is hard on servos anyway, because we cank the servo saver down hard.. then i also run a long servo horn wich gives it a decent amount more throw on the wheels
I am not sure about a gear fitment for what you are looking for, but I will see if I can find out. You might want to run a JR9100T.
__________________
REDS Racing USA
modhobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 02:14 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
race raider's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: high desert california / Las Vegas
Posts: 459
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

the RC8T is hard on servos I had to replace the gears in my 1015 twice now but my plastic gear is fine I keep stripping out the metal gears it I started having problems when I changed to a aluminum servo horn
race raider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 02:41 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,963
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AlanHall Send a message via Yahoo to AlanHall
Default

thats exactly when i busted mine lol. i broke a metal gear and a plastic one. i did have the servo saver cranked down to about 4mm.. but i liked the truck much better that way.. so im going to do what it takes. if it takes getting a 7955 hitec then i will..
__________________
Alan Hall
AlanHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 04:07 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,842
Default

That one gear is plastic to help stop glitching....in the old crystal says....worked too

I wonder if it matters with 2.4
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 05:32 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
race raider's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: high desert california / Las Vegas
Posts: 459
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigAlz View Post
thats exactly when i busted mine lol. i broke a metal gear and a plastic one. i did have the servo saver cranked down to about 4mm.. but i liked the truck much better that way.. so im going to do what it takes. if it takes getting a 7955 hitec then i will..
Just waiting for A main to get them back in stock
race raider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:42 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net