R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2009, 01:30 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
redza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 314
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Questions?? i was wondering.

how does a break in bench work?
__________________
Tebo is the man.
redza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:39 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
SirKarnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tacos Under Cacti, Searing Our Neighborhood
Posts: 1,121
Trader Rating: 110 (100%+)
Default

It's like a park bench, or kinda like a .. damn ran out of "benches" already.. sure there are more, but the funny already left my head, not to mention this thread..

Break-In bench...
in the roughest of explainations: an Engine mount, mounted to your work bench so you can run your engine out of the vehicle.

Usually the mount design is 6-12 inches off the bench for easier access.. fuel lines running into a tank that is out of the way, and the exhaust is expelled through a hose.

All of this allows break in and tunning of the engine in the comfort of your _insert work area_ , again, without the confinnment of being installed in your ride.
__________________
<><>Paint by Dunn Graphics (RacerX1920)<><>
https://www.facebook.com/DunnGraphics1
SirKarnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 03:04 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
redza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 314
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirKarnage View Post
It's like a park bench, or kinda like a .. damn ran out of "benches" already.. sure there are more, but the funny already left my head, not to mention this thread..

Break-In bench...
in the roughest of explainations: an Engine mount, mounted to your work bench so you can run your engine out of the vehicle.

Usually the mount design is 6-12 inches off the bench for easier access.. fuel lines running into a tank that is out of the way, and the exhaust is expelled through a hose.

All of this allows break in and tunning of the engine in the comfort of your _insert work area_ , again, without the confinnment of being installed in your ride.
basicly its a stationary car?
__________________
Tebo is the man.
redza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 04:51 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
slakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,675
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Engine Break In Stand

http://www.rdlogics.com/cgi-bin/cate...000&type=store
__________________
TLR 22 4.0, 22-4 2.0, 8IGHT & 8IGHT-E 4.0~XRAY XB2C~AE TC7.1
Tim aka "slakr" ROAR No. 3-119960
slakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 05:07 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

does anybody use these? i have always heard not to so i was just curious
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 05:15 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I know most engine modders use them.
__________________
TT MT4G3 all tricked
TTST4G3 MT4ed out

JR servos Hitec servos. Gens ace lipos KO radio.
malik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 06:53 AM   #7
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

ive used a bench for the last 2.5 years.....all my motor's Run flawlessly after the bench and i don't have to waste my time doing 1/4 throttle runs and all the regular break in stuff....i also feel you can get a real good idea of what the motor will be like when you can Scream it Right in front of your face...you can see leaks better feel bearing vibration better....all in all its a better way to break in a motor...and with the prop is an actual load you actually get stuff broken in alot faster...where as some one would need 5-10 tanks before its race ready...litearally on the bench it could be race ready in 3-4 tanks...and we've done it before..with JPX's and they also ran like CHAMPS at last years nats....tonns of power/runtime and ran the whole weekend on 1 plug....could'nt ask for much more.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 01:21 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Graduate Hospital
Posts: 966
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Deznuts05
Default

thanks for the break down

but I have three questions,

1. How do you start the motor?

2. Do you let the motor run for each tank or do you let it rest?

3. Can you put a motor on a bench even after you broke it in a car?
__________________
"Power is nothing without control" Ryuken
Deznuts05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 02:44 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
jkas10's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Living in Paradise!
Posts: 1,208
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Integra;5343231]ive used a bench for the last 2.5 years.....QUOTE]


Integra, what bench are you using, eh?
__________________
Jeremy Kasten - Cole's Pitman! (Dad); Kasten Racing: www.facebook.com/kastenracing
THANK YOU Sponsors: Mugen Seiki; REDS; AKA; Leadfinger Racing; NitroPro Fuel; RC Addiction Products; Dialed-RC Hobbies; Ben Brocato Designs (BDB); PT RC Racing Oils
jkas10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 03:39 PM   #10
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

[QUOTE=jkas10;5345019]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Integra View Post
ive used a bench for the last 2.5 years.....QUOTE]


Integra, what bench are you using, eh?


home made jobby...with the RDlogics nose cone...here's a pic

Deznuts05...you use a plane nose cone starter..there like 20-30 if you shop around...i got my Torq master 180 for 10$ on ebay with a radio case. ...we do let the motor cool between runs...if the motor's ridiculously tight...we might run the first 2 tanks back to back....and i guess you could toss on a previously broken in motor.....you wnna test for problems your having ? the prop is a load...but nothing like the rear car with a flywheel and clutch set-up...so only so much can be learned from the bench.


Exhaust side


linkage side



the white is 1211 to ensure the pipe doesn't pop a leak...and you HAVE TO HAVE TO wrap the motor up Or else you will NEVER EVER make temp and WILL throw the rod...Been there done that...also another bonus to the RD peices is that you can actually use a filter...the Hudy stand You CANNOT use a filter....the prop is cut out to match the face of the block and there's just NO room.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 06:04 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
bigsquidracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: redding
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Integra;5345290]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkas10 View Post



home made jobby...with the RDlogics nose cone...here's a pic

Deznuts05...you use a plane nose cone starter..there like 20-30 if you shop around...i got my Torq master 180 for 10$ on ebay with a radio case. ...we do let the motor cool between runs...if the motor's ridiculously tight...we might run the first 2 tanks back to back....and i guess you could toss on a previously broken in motor.....you wnna test for problems your having ? the prop is a load...but nothing like the rear car with a flywheel and clutch set-up...so only so much can be learned from the bench.


Exhaust side


linkage side



the white is 1211 to ensure the pipe doesn't pop a leak...and you HAVE TO HAVE TO wrap the motor up Or else you will NEVER EVER make temp and WILL throw the rod...Been there done that...also another bonus to the RD peices is that you can actually use a filter...the Hudy stand You CANNOT use a filter....the prop is cut out to match the face of the block and there's just NO room.


you break your in just like you would a plane, i actually never thought of that dang. ive used the a bench for the past year or so i have to admit my engines run alot better when brok in on bench than on a car and last a gallon or so more too...
__________________
What goes around comes around
bigsquidracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 06:20 PM   #12
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Integra;5345290]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkas10 View Post



home made jobby...with the RDlogics nose cone...here's a pic

Deznuts05...you use a plane nose cone starter..there like 20-30 if you shop around...i got my Torq master 180 for 10$ on ebay with a radio case. ...we do let the motor cool between runs...if the motor's ridiculously tight...we might run the first 2 tanks back to back....and i guess you could toss on a previously broken in motor.....you wnna test for problems your having ? the prop is a load...but nothing like the rear car with a flywheel and clutch set-up...so only so much can be learned from the bench.


Exhaust side


linkage side



the white is 1211 to ensure the pipe doesn't pop a leak...and you HAVE TO HAVE TO wrap the motor up Or else you will NEVER EVER make temp and WILL throw the rod...Been there done that...also another bonus to the RD peices is that you can actually use a filter...the Hudy stand You CANNOT use a filter....the prop is cut out to match the face of the block and there's just NO room.

It works allot better if you spray everything with melted cheese instead of melted marshmellows
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 07:20 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Djballen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 246
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redza View Post
how does a break in bench work?
http://www.hudy.net/xhudy/products/p...9&kategoria=69

Here is the HUDY Engine Break-In Bench Instruction Manual. It will explain it all for you.
Djballen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 07:37 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
buggydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 237
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deznuts05 View Post
thanks for the break down

but I have three questions,

1. How do you start the motor?

2. Do you let the motor run for each tank or do you let it rest?

3. Can you put a motor on a bench even after you broke it in a car?
I have the RDlogics

1: with a airplane nosestarter or chicken stick

2:This depends on method but i have broken n my motors with 2 min @ 180-190 then let cool x5 times then i increase the time to 5 min x3 all idling.Idle for a tank.Then increase RPM 1 min cool x2-3. then blips for a tank. I go through about 6 tanks before i throw her in the car and take it easy at the track for the next few tanks.Many different ways really.

3: yes you can and like integra said you can actually trouble shoot on the stand real nice

Tip: Get a roll of aluminum duct seal tape at and HVAC store or of the like.The foil can some time blow off
buggydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 07:55 PM   #15
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Default

my questions are; why dont you just use a pullstart, and what is the propellor for?
bhaley66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jake's R/C Pro-Am. Topeka's indoor offroad. LeeLockhart Kansas/Missouri Racing 13365 08-11-2017 02:25 PM
Rc10ntc3 Taz_S Nitro On-Road 9437 05-28-2017 08:13 PM
Tamiya TA05MS academygaz Electric On-Road 1401 01-15-2016 05:00 AM
1/10th pan car Taz_S Oval, Larger Scales and More 16138 09-25-2014 09:03 AM
Rose City tomdav Northwest Racers 5839 09-22-2010 10:57 AM
new chassis out there for the F201 Check it out!!! Marty Peterson Electric On-Road 98 06-30-2005 05:50 PM
Spraying WD40 on the Comm? LosiFromHell986 Rookie Zone 19 02-18-2004 10:28 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:24 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net