R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2009, 11:42 PM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 850
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigAlz View Post
how are you guys getting so much from a 1600? i have an orion 1600... i get about a tank of practice.. 3 6min qualifiers.. and i doubt it would make a 15min main... im running 2 xp 1015s in a rc8t.. i dont think i could get more than an hour from it ..

I had one of these with the same problem until it finally fried. Not the best receiver pack IMO.
mracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 07:57 AM   #17
Tech Elite
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,962
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AlanHall Send a message via Yahoo to AlanHall
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mracer View Post
I had one of these with the same problem until it finally fried. Not the best receiver pack IMO.
it takes a charge fine.. im not sure what could be up with it.. its exactly 1.5 gallons old now.. hmmm
__________________
Alan Hall
AlanHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:03 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I ran a 1100mah pack in my revo (with dual steering servos) literally all day at the track and it was still going fine at the end of the day.
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:10 AM   #19
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Default Orion Receiver Packs

Ive bought an Orion receiver pack as well. When you buy then what do you do to bring them to life? Ive tried cycling it at 4 or 5 times and only charges for maybe 4 min. and says its done. Can anyone help on this do i just keep cycling or try a lower charge rate ive tried at 1 amp should i go down to .5?
FentonRacing11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:12 AM   #20
Tech Addict
 
jamiekerr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Uk
Posts: 607
Default

Oh dear, If I would have seen this earlier I would have ditched the 1600 Orion pack I have just orderd!. Darn it.. oh well..
__________________
Xray XB4
Supported By:
RC Disco
jamiekerr14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:31 AM   #21
Tech Fanatic
 
l3asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Broussard, Louisiana
Posts: 956
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I run the stickman 2500 mAh, with two digital sevos all day long for club races. On big race days I always charge before the main.
l3asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 09:14 AM   #22
Tech Master
 
hobdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Albany, OR.
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by l3asher View Post
I run the stickman 2500 mAh, with two digital sevos all day long for club races. On big race days I always charge before the main.
That's what I run and can run all day without a problem. When I say all day, I recently ran one day and went through over 3\4 of a gallon of fuel and servos were still running strong (hi tec 5955tg and ace 1015). I still at big races will charge before a final but that is because I don't trust the cheap charger I am using to be reliable and consistant with it's detection of full charge. I have been real happy with my stickman.
hobdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 09:15 AM   #23
Tech Elite
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,962
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AlanHall Send a message via Yahoo to AlanHall
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FentonRacing11 View Post
Ive bought an Orion receiver pack as well. When you buy then what do you do to bring them to life? Ive tried cycling it at 4 or 5 times and only charges for maybe 4 min. and says its done. Can anyone help on this do i just keep cycling or try a lower charge rate ive tried at 1 amp should i go down to .5?
what about your charger setting? what charger do you use? might have to raise the peak setting and watch it to make sure its not getting hot. i have to bump my glow igniter to like .30 to get it to start charging .
__________________
Alan Hall
AlanHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 09:16 AM   #24
Tech Elite
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,962
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AlanHall Send a message via Yahoo to AlanHall
Default

are the stickman pacsk the ones that have AAs in them? where do you find them?
__________________
Alan Hall
AlanHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 09:39 AM   #25
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigAlz View Post
are the stickman pacsk the ones that have AAs in them? where do you find them?
+1 , I double those questions. i'd love to try a 2500, give us a Linky dink
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 10:52 AM   #26
Tech Adept
 
chunk t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 225
Default

If you know the load on the circuit you can calculate how long the charge should last.

(watts/volts) * 1000 = MAmp required per hour of use.
__________________
chuck "chunk" thomas
.......
1:10, 2-wd Stadium Trucks
B-Mod Tunnels
.......
If ignorance is bliss... I must be in heaven!
chunk t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 12:22 PM   #27
Tech Adept
 
Stickman!!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Auburn, GA
Posts: 225
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Stickman here. Yes the stickman who makes those 2500 packs.
You can get my packs at www.amainhobbies.com or www.modhobby.com Just type stickman in their seach ring and it will bring up all my products.

I also have a new website that has accurate descriptions with deminsions and weights of all my battery packs. We now carry 1600mAh flat and hump packs for those applications that cannot fit a 2500mAh pack. We have sub C packs at 4200mAh, and new Lipo packs specially designed to make your slash fly at 3700mAh and 5000mAh.

The biggest difference between my packs and others is that mine are all matched, and hand soldered, by me. This maximizes the run time of the pack by having all the batteries charge full and run down at the same time, and the soldered connections will put more consistant power to your servos or motors.

Check out the website and if you need something special or you can't find a product you can contact me directly and I will fix you up.

Thanks www.stickmanrc.com
__________________
Stickman RC Products
Mugen MBX7, Murnan Modified RBM5
Mugen MBX6TR, Murnan Modified Ninja
Stickman!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 12:31 PM   #28
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 743
Default

45 minutes.
CarCrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 12:54 PM   #29
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stickman!! View Post
Stickman here. Yes the stickman who makes those 2500 packs.
You can get my packs at www.amainhobbies.com or www.modhobby.com Just type stickman in their seach ring and it will bring up all my products.

I also have a new website that has accurate descriptions with deminsions and weights of all my battery packs. We now carry 1600mAh flat and hump packs for those applications that cannot fit a 2500mAh pack. We have sub C packs at 4200mAh, and new Lipo packs specially designed to make your slash fly at 3700mAh and 5000mAh.

The biggest difference between my packs and others is that mine are all matched, and hand soldered, by me. This maximizes the run time of the pack by having all the batteries charge full and run down at the same time, and the soldered connections will put more consistant power to your servos or motors.

Check out the website and if you need something special or you can't find a product you can contact me directly and I will fix you up.

Thanks www.stickmanrc.com


Thank you. The 2500 mah was easily explained when I saw they are 8 cell. I thought you actually found a way to get a 5 cell flat pack up to 2500. I would love to try one or 2 of your batt packs, but no way they fit in my XRAY batt box. i might do the switch and try em in the RX box, they look and sound like the best thing out there.Thanks for the reply, Jaz
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 01:16 PM   #30
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 45
Default

I run a Stikman 2500 pack in my 808. Maybe The Stikman will chime in with the proper name, but I use the 2+2+1. It's a very tight fit and it ran great all last season. You just switch the battery and receiver locations around.

Good Battery!
EllisDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:59 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net