R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 01-21-2009, 01:28 PM   #1
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Have any tips for a guy moving from electric to nitro?

I've been racing electric on and off road cars for 17 years and I am moving to an area where 1/8 scale nitro buggies are popular.

I've always wanted to get into nitro and now I'm ready to lay down the 2K or so it'll take to start racing competitively.

I'd love to hear from folks that have made the transition before and get some tips to make that transition easier. I know very little about nitro but lots about R/C cars.

Thanks,
Banter
Banter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 01:43 PM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)

I made this same transition last year. I was told to get a truggy because they are easier to drive then go to the buggy. I ran truggy last year, and once I got the quirks out of it I did very well and I went to buggy in the fall. Now I am primarily a buggy guy and may get a truggy again also or will run both nitro and alittle electric. I will say that truggy was rather easy to me going from 2wd 10th scale.

JR servos Hitec servos. Gens ace lipos KO radio.
malik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 01:43 PM   #3
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay

the best thing you can do is research.... it is a good idea to go to one of the area tracks where you will be racing and see what all of the local fast guys are running. When you decide to order your kit try and get one that has parts available locally.. if you have any questions about different products feel free to pm me and i can help you out
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 01:55 PM   #4
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)