R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   Mini Inferno 09 Clutch problem (Nitro) (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/266935-mini-inferno-09-clutch-problem-nitro.html)

GeraldRisch 01-12-2009 01:06 PM

Mini Inferno 09 Clutch problem (Nitro)

Posted this in the Mini section, but it is a clutch problem in general and I really need advise and help to solve this one.

Clutch shoes seem to be hanging, occassionally. It idles and then grabs speratically. Sounds like a box of rocks when this happens.

Replaced clutch bell, bearings, shoes, etc., with no luck. This buggy runs great at full throttle and the idle is very low, but still grabs on and off of idle.

Need help from the regulars as I'm relatively new to R/C buggies. Never had clutch problems like this.

chunk t 01-12-2009 07:48 PM

Gerald,

Am I reading your post correctly? the clutch grabs as it idles. It also acts as if it is ON or OFF, no gradual progression? If this is the case, there is a good chance the shoes are in backwards. If you need hands on help, go to Hobby Town on RT-14, the car guys there should be able to help as well.

GeraldRisch 01-12-2009 10:48 PM

Chunk T:
1st off, I noticed we live relatively close--say 10 miles apart.

Nice guess, but the shoes only go in one way. This is a little 1/16 Scale buggy and has only 2 shoes with a spring holding them in place. The crank nut has a special design so the shoes fit only 1 way over the nut.
My local HobbyTown would have no clue. Will be going out to my local track (LeisureHoursRaceway) in the future and spend a few hours marshalling and then hit them up with the question and show them the problem and let them hear the things I hear.