R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 01-07-2009, 03:20 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default What to buy?? Help!!!

I am new to nitro and really would like to get one. I have o idea what to get but would like to race on weekends but would also bash alot. I would love any suggestions on any type of nitro monster trucks, truggy's, buggies and stadium trucks that would be good for a beginner but would still be raceable. Also I have a few questions on nitro. If I left my nitro sitting for a week or 2 weeks would it start up right away or would I have to do some preparation. Also what is the difference between engine sizes such as .15 and .26, is one faster or more power?? Any suggestions and info would be greatly appreciated. Also my price range is 300 or so and will be willing to buy used.
rgrassey@me.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 03:28 PM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

For $300, you cant get a 1/8. Look into a 1/10 nitro stadium truck like the HPI Firestorm, Associated GT2, and Losi XXX-NT Sport 2.

As far as starting, you would need to put new fuel in there (you cant leave fuel in the tank, prime the engine, put the glow igniter in and starter in and I would heat it with a hair dryer to around 150. If the outside temperature is different you may have a hard time starting it if using a oull start.

.12-.18 is small block. .21-.28 (or bigger) is big block. For trucks like the XXX-NT, you can only run a .12-.18 but .12-.15 is reccomended as .18 has way too much bottom end and will make the truck uncontrollable. Normally, a .12 engine will have more rpm's than a .15, but the .15 will have a little more bottom end (which can be a bad thing with 2wd) and is a gas hog.

Do you know about maintence, tuning, etc?

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 03:33 PM   #3