R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 01-05-2009, 05:51 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default I need help!!!

Hello all I am new to r/c, and the forum. Anyways I just bought a HPI MT2. The guy I got it from has put A LOT of money in it. It has a new Nitro Star .18 motor with a 2 speed trans. Lots of other stuff but the question is... I keep chewing up spur gears. In about 3 minutes or so on a new set they are completely shredded. I want to get this thing set up for racing and this is the only thing that keeps going wrong. I know they have to be spaced a certain way, but I cant figure it out. So can anyone help me or point me in the direction of some links or something? Thanks

Also do any companies make metal spur gears? I dont think so but maybe
dsmking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 06:05 PM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

The quickest way to set your spur gear mesh (and the cheapest) is get yourself a small piece of lined paper.. a piece that is about 2 inches long and it doesnt have to be terribly wide but you want to be able to fold it in half and then loosen up your motor mounts.. put the piece of paper inbetween the clutch bell and the spur gear and then push the motor against it so that the paper meshes inbetween the two gears. While holding it in place tighten your motor gears. When your done pull out the piece of paper and it should be set from there. Once you have completed that take out your motor screws ONE AT A TIME and put lock tight on them replace them in the motor and tighten them.
Old 01-05-2009, 07:47 PM   #3
Tech Adept

Could the slipper clutch be too tight?
1:10, 2-wd Stadium Trucks
B-Mod Tunnels
If ignorance is bliss... I must be in heaven!
chunk t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 08:23 PM   #4
Tech Adept

There is no slipper clutch in the MT2 when you have the optional 2-speed installed.