R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2008, 04:12 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
yeaklet4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,631
Trader Rating: 34 (97%+)
Default rx pack ?

i see that they have some rx packs that are made with aa's instead of the smaller cells. and they are more mah also. i would like more mah but is the power the same. any input would be great. also no lipo
yeaklet4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 04:25 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
rearviewmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne / Austin
Posts: 1,844
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rearviewmirror Send a message via Yahoo to rearviewmirror
Default

Here you go...

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_7421186/tm.htm
__________________
ARCTIC DOG RACING (Nitro free since 2009)

"Straights are for fast cars, curves are for fast drivers...."

8ight-E / 8ight-TE / T4 / Slash
rearviewmirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 04:42 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

http://www.teamhelotes.com/catalog/i71.html
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 06:31 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
yeaklet4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,631
Trader Rating: 34 (97%+)
Default

ok thanks now whats a good cheap charger that dont need a power supply as this would be the only thing i would be charging
yeaklet4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 06:33 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

the checkpoint chargers are pretty good.. i like the pulsars but you have to have a power supply
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 06:42 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
yeaklet4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,631
Trader Rating: 34 (97%+)
Default

how long u think the a 2700 rx pack would last
yeaklet4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 06:46 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
DriftProjectR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 515
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yeaklet4 View Post
how long u think the a 2700 rx pack would last
it depends on what electronics your running.
__________________
Hot Bodies IFMAR Worlds
OS Engines
Ace Servo
BCE Design
Bodies By Scott
Lungsford Titantium
M2C Racing
DriftProjectR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 06:47 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
yeaklet4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,631
Trader Rating: 34 (97%+)
Default

air 358 and a fut 3305 and a pt
yeaklet4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 10:55 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 1,075
Default

10 tanks or more depending on how you punch throttle & brake & how much you saw the wheel. Pretty much the whole race day in truggy,maybe another practice day if your really smooth.
butch man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 11:11 PM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Allumina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 939
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Allumina
Default

No flames or trash talking, just some constructive critcism from someone with first hand experience here...

Personally i'm going lipo, and im not suggesting you do that, but I do suggest you think again about those big AA packs, they are huge [wouldnt even hardly fit in my MP9 battery box, which is enormous, they are insanely heavy, and since you have to charge them at a really low amperage [1-1.5 amps] they take FOREVER to charge.

Anyways, I know for me I had to learn the hard way and I ate 3o bucks on one of these batteries only to ditch it and turn around a buy a standard receiver type pack, so I thought I would atleast offer some food for thought!


p.s. this is the one that I bought before: http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/18753
__________________
[COLOR="Red"]Kyosho[/COLOR] - MP9 & ST-RR
A[COLOR="red"]K[/COLOR]A - Tires and Wheels[COLOR="DarkOrchid"]Novarossi Racing Engines[/COLOR] - 21-4 Plus & Toro Nero
Houstons Engine Service - [email]houstonsengineservice@live.com[/email]
Allumina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 11:00 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
yeaklet4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,631
Trader Rating: 34 (97%+)
Default

ok so what is the most mah from the reg size rx pack out there
yeaklet4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 11:36 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,305
Default

If u need a charger and battery, check out Max Amps.com. They're mosly Lipo but they do have or at least had Nicads and Nihm batteries. If you really want the most mah per space/weight, then minus well get a regulator and convert to lipo. Also check out the Hyperion ac/dc charger. Its the best charger I've ever had.
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 12:35 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Squeakyz r/c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Osceola,AR
Posts: 178
Default

Whats the average runtime on a lipo? I've heard about them over heating and shuting down the receiver. Has anyone else had any problems like this?
__________________
Michael Hill

view pics of the track and pics from races @
http://www.photoworks.com/members/squeakyzrc
Squeakyz r/c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 01:24 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,305
Default

It gets warm in my radio box but I don't think its the lipos fault as much as it is engine heat.

You can allways put the lipo outside the box. This setup is nice on the RC8. I had problems with the Castle reg, but the first run of those had issues. I'm using a Novak 6 amp reg right now. I put the reg in Saran wrap to keep it clean and my reciever is in a balloon. So If they're making thier own heat they should be toast by now. It works well but could use a slightly higher voltage output. Orion has a new reg coming out that has a sizable heatsink.

No problems running FM but some people have had issues with the 2.4 ghz stuff.

What type of Radio do you run? I thought that most radios had the shutdown problems fixed.
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 01:52 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Squeakyz r/c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Osceola,AR
Posts: 178
Default

I'm using a 3pk still on fm. What kind of runtime are you getting out of your lipo
__________________
Michael Hill

view pics of the track and pics from races @
http://www.photoworks.com/members/squeakyzrc
Squeakyz r/c is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric 1/8th Scale conversion kits. DJ1978 Electric Off-Road 19923 06-12-2017 05:16 AM
picco .12 like new, 6 cell 1500 muchmore rx pack, crt.5 nitro stuff,200mm body, more comedyman809 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 08-19-2009 04:35 AM
VXR RX pack & VXR Lipo regulator YR4Dude R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 06-21-2009 01:39 AM
What RX battery fits the Impulse Pro...??? got_speed? Nitro On-Road 8 01-02-2002 09:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net