Community
Wiki Posts
Search

new to the game..

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2008, 12:14 PM
Tech Apprentice

Default new to the game..

hey everybody, im somewhat new to the whole racing part of r/c cars, im in texas right now but soon im going to be at camp pendleton in california. im trying to get my self set up with a decent truggy i cant run, not intesne racing till i kinda learn but at the same time a truggy that i can make competitive, i have been looking at the losi 8ight t rtr set up on amainhobbys. and i really just want some opinions and advice on if this is the right way to go.
thanks
Old 12-18-2008, 12:17 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

how new are you to the rc scene? Any experience with nitro?
Old 12-18-2008, 12:25 PM
Tech Apprentice

ya i have a t-maxx that i have run on and off, mainly just messin around though, but i have been in/ around racing go karts, formula mazda and spec miata as long as i can remeber. so i know how to tune basicly, i know off road will be a little diffrent.
Old 12-18-2008, 12:26 PM
Tech Apprentice

and a couple electirc rc 10's i havent played with those in a while thoguh
Old 12-18-2008, 12:36 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

I am new to the racing scene as well in the past couple months. But have been into rc and nitro for 6 years. I think with your experience you are better off finding a used truggy roller on the forums. With winter and the racing scene off season it would be the perfect time to build your truck the way you want with the parts you want. I spent nearly 500 total on my buggy roller and all the equipment, its a Mugen MBX-5. So I basically built my buggy for the price of what a new kit would cost. I took apart the diffs and made sure it was all good. I changed my fluids and it is practically new. I love it and had a great time with it all. Check out the for sale section. Much of my equipment came from here.
Old 12-18-2008, 12:42 PM
Tech Apprentice